Lessons life taught me in my time of suffering

13 71
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

After publishing the article "She died for me so I will live for her" in which I talked about my wife's sacrifice for standing by me through all the years of illness, I began to recount all the experiences and life lessons I learned during those years of pain and suffering illness. Life is full of problems, but many of them are designed to teach us important lessons that we would not have learned if things had gone our way. However, no one wants to see a long trial but problems will come from time to time, such is life, but the most important thing is how well we got out of them and what lessons we have learned from them.

The fact is, neither of us wants to face suffering. Not just illness, but suffering in our finances, our jobs, and our families. If only the days of the sun were bright and the sky clear. Those are the kinds of days we pray for. And often the types of days we think we are entitled to.

But who can tell the future and how the day will end. However, it turns out, that there are lessons we can only understand during a time of trial.

Lessons I learned in my time suffering

Suffering showed me who my real friends are

A faithful friend and friend indeed is hard to find, this is the foremost lesson I have learned during my time of trial. Before I got sick I had a lot of people I could call my friends because I was a people person. People are drawn to me naturally because I always make myself available to everyone. I was always ready to help anyone whether they were asking for help or not. I will always be the first to ask "can I help you". This habit drew so many people to me that I always have people around me that I called my friends in my first two years in college.

But when an unwanted illness came to me, none of these people I called friends care about me except one. This was a lesson that opened my eyes to the realities of this life. When things go well for you friends become many, but when trouble comes, many turn their backs on you.

More than 15 years have passed, but the memory of this dear friend who cared for me in the time of my illness is still fresh in my heart. This friend of mine, named Noah, was the only one of the more than 50 people I called friends who came to my village to find out why I didn't come back to school after the holidays. He was the one who encouraged me to go back to school, he took my case to the head of the department so that he could seek extra time for me to make up for lost space in my study. He paid for my rent for two years and gave me a lot of food until I was able to put things together. This friend of mine never left my side until we finished together. Fifteen years after leaving school, we are still friends even though we live far from each other because of work.

Only in times of trouble do you know who truly loves you

It is common in our generation to see or hear of lovers breaking their engagement because one of the parties was disabled as a result of an accident or illness. For me, my suffering showed me the best love from a woman who became my wife.

I wrote a lot about this in my previous article. There is no greater love I can have in my life from someone than the love I was shown by my woman during my trial. We were united together like bolt and nut, spirit, body, and soul.

Most of my family members did nothing meaningful to help me recover. My wife took care of me, left her family, and moved in with me. At that time I need someone to stay with me who will help me with things. I wasn't leaving in my family house but a rented apartment. I have to pay for the apartment, I need food and water. All of this was provided by my wife. Before we got married, she used to do all of this for me. It was in my illness when we got married, something her family almost canceled.

I wouldn’t lie to you, I was a rockstar before I got sick, and as a result, you can guess what my relationship life should be like at the time.

My suffering drew me closer to God

Before the time of my illness, I had been told many times that I had been called to the ministry but never agreed. At the time I was a Gospel singer, and any preacher I associated with had a message from God calling on my life. But for me, there is no desire to do anything like that.

When I was sick, my only hope of survival was faith in God. If you have a contagious disease only God can help you. I started to study the Bible as nothing else matters, and my prayers and faith deepened every day. Also, at that moment I remembered how I had ignored the truth of God's love for his chosen. I knew then, that the only thing I had to do in this life was to live my life and serve God.

Suffering taught me real strength

Usually, we can handle a little annoyance and problems from simple days. But trials bring us to the end.

At that moment, I realized how much I needed to rely on God. I need Him to give me wisdom, faith over fear and give me strength to fight the storm. That was the right place to be. God created us with the ability to trust in him completely. And this scripture was always in my heart "But he said to me," My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. "

It was the above texts and the like, which strengthened my inner mind which produced energy to move my body and return to my feet again. You could call it a miracle, and I think so too.

17
$ 13.15
$ 12.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 8
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

Indeed true friends are hard to find in times of trouble..praise God you got one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is normal for us to face challenges in life and there are lessons to be picked out during those moments.

The things you discovered are great and I think we shouldn't always wait till trouble comes before we get very close to God. I am happy you looking back and saying the stories to educate us, thank God for life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You faced a deep challenge and won because you had a good friend close, they are hard to find these days. God tried to eradicate unfriendly friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your friend is an angel sir. He never left you during your pain.. I know God has a purpose and you need to trust, to be faithful to him. He always there to make you a brave one...

God is good all the time.🙏

God bless you sir.. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When God allows us to go through trials, it is not because He does not care or love us rather it is for us to learn life lessons just like you have learned. I am happy that you realized the ace of God in your life. True love endures through every season and may God bless your wife for standing by you through it all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything happens for a reason. With all the struggles you faced, God is actually making you strong. Godbless

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We celebrate our achievement with our friends but we face our downfall with our real friends. That's what life have me a lesson to remember

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is full of such experiences. Some have it better while others have suffered being victims of circumstances. Most times, you get to choose you real friends when you are faced with such challenges of life. The friend who stands by you us adjudged to be the real. Many a time, your wife will be the only one to stand by you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God has strange ways to get our attention.

Based on your account, I think that through suffering you were greatly blessed.

Look where you are, my friend! Many stayed on the road.

God has a sublime purpose for every human being. Too bad that many seduced by the world ignore it, unconscious or not. In the end, one must exercise free will.

I am pleased to hear part of your story and how God has worked in your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In Yoruba, they will say "Owo Epo laye ba ni la" that means it is when you have money, you will be surrounded by people but when it is gone, you will not see anyone to be around you. Such is life.

It is only God we can depend and trust on that He will not disappoint us. Thank God for those lessons and we must also learn from them and ready for whatever life brings to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved reading this article of yours. Lucky you got someone, a friend who never left your side. Friends aren't counted by numbers. One is enough if he is real friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yours is a classic case of a disappointment being a blessing in disguise. Your illness made you see those whom you could count on and it also drew you closer to God. Kudos to you!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Important and valuable lessons sir and I am happy because it shows God always take us through certain things so we can shed off some weights - people that are not supposed to be on our life's journey while also drawing us closer to Him and building strength as a result of it.

We see more when situations happen and it helps us to re-prioritize. There is an adage that says it is only when the wood has been stoke with the fire that we see the snakes coming out. No one can tell if there is a snake amongst the woods because they perfectly blend in but when fire is introduced, they start coming out. That's life. I learnt about this when I lost my dad and then mum afterwards too. You see people for who they truly are and you tend to choose the ones who truly care for you.

Keep staying strong, sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago