I got burned out, what shall I do now?

14 72
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

If you’ve been blogging for a few years, you’ve probably seen this question a lot. With so much going on in the digital space, you need a sustainability plan—and a plan to have a life outside blogging. To get by without burning out, you need to find a way to save the things that matter most to you. If you managed to move a point along a line, you know it's not easy to have a lot of success.

I'm only halfway through this journey and now I'm burnt out. What can I do now?

What exactly is burnout?

Burnout is when you become completely exhausted through overwork, it is when you've put so much of your time and energy into something, and when it finally gets to the point where you need to tap out or step away from it, you don't know how to do that. Then what happens next is that instead of tapping out, we become emotional and we begin to lash out.

There are two simple truths to blogging: You can never do enough, and it’s impossible to do it all.

Talking with my wife earlier today, I realized that even when I was able to schedule out my content in a rigid schedule, I was still missing out on a lot of opportunities to save my sanity as a husband and a father, and also to meet with friends. And when my schedule got even more rigid, I started burning out a lot faster.

What happens when you get burned out on your blog? Does it mean one of two things - you stop blogging or you switch to something new?

For me, it was the first. I was spending almost all my time working online that most times I had days without sleep, and eventually, I got burned out. It hit me so suddenly. Hell, I had just written a post called major excuses you must deal with if you want to be successful and now I was feeling it happening to me. The most important thing to consider here is why I am getting burned out in the first place - and whether what I am doing is something that truly brings me happiness and joy. If not, then maybe it's time to figure out what that is and then make a change around that goal. If yes, then maybe it's just time to step back and take a break for a little bit, recharge my batteries and then come back with fresh eyes to see if I can make some improvements (because this kind of burnout can set up for another one if left unchecked).

I enjoy the process of creating and adding value to the world. However, I learned that you must do things for money and stop doing anything that does not pay well enough. That's why I quit my job and took u to the blockchain and crypto space and I was hoping that it will improve my financial situation and that I can continue doing what I love.

I feel blessed to be following my passion in life and for this, if there's one thing I can be grateful for in all of this, is that I'm thankful for the opportunity I have to blog in this space.

Exactly in this month, last year I started blogging full time. Left other things I was doing to make a living before that time to focus on my blog. Since that time I have been writing and publishing content daily nonstop- it was pleasurable doing it, and I have received quite a good amount of reward for my time and effort.

In a way, I'm thankful I get burned out once a while because that's what usually motivates me to do something new. In September 2020, I felt I had lost all of my energy and every new post was a pain in the ass to write, edit and plan. I thought of stopping blogging at the time and even wrote an article to that effect. I stopped blogging for a month and came back again. The time I went away from blogging and everything online was a time of refreshment and reposition for a major come back.

But the time is different now, haven't had my hands on so many things in the crypto space, it will be difficult to stop checking on this space. However, I will need to look into all my involvements and decide which of them I will let go of for the time being.

So, to begin, I am going to cut down my involvement in telegram groups. I guess this is where the burnout was triggered in the first place. Since the launch of the SmartBCH network, I have been spending almost every night on one telegram channel to the other hurting for some SmartBCH tokens airdrops. In most cases, I had had to stay all night long just to get a chance to get some airdrops, and most often failed. Those sleepless nights are taking a toll on my health seriously.

I have also been keeping vigilant about my EBEN tokens since I missed the chance to sell when their price went higher last time. I have been waiting for an exit point to get back my investment and at least a little profit as well. For now, it seems that may not happen soon since EBEN is paired with BCH. In that case, I will only keep eye on the price chart and ignore the telegram channel announcements.

Noise.cash is also one of the things that keep me up late at night most times. Although I don't earn more than a dollar or two from the site, I found it an addiction to interact with people on this site and share relevant information as well.

I know that staying away from noise.cash for too long can affect a person's account. In that case, I will have to reschedule my time on the site. I will keep it to one hour a day for now, and that time will be divided into four sections of 30 minutes each. Usually, I don't make more than four posts a day on the site, but the time spent engaging with others is what usually keeps me up on there.

Conclusion

How you feel about your job has a direct effect on your level of burnout. If you are so burnt out that it feels like you have to go to bed at a ridiculous hour and wake up a few hours later feeling you haven't done enough despite the pains and exhaustion, this could be a sign that your burn has reached a point that is beyond the control of you and that's when your attention span goes to zero. You have reached your limit and are just trying so to stay afloat in the waters of life.

The trick is to know when to turn back. A lot of people get caught up in their passion and don't want it to end. They forget that their love for blogging comes with a lot more than just the blog itself. So, if you are in the same condition as me, I guess it's time to cut down your activities online and compensate yourself for the time by giving yourself adequate care and treatment.

As for me, am going to give myself a great treat today, start watching some good movies with my kids from now on, and always go to bed early.

16
$ 7.86
$ 7.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.07 from @Ellehcim
+ 12
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

I can totally relate to this. I used to be totally addicted to my phone.. I still am. But the difference is that I've learned how to balance it with my offline life. It's very important to rest and sleep adequately

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am new to blogging and I guess that's the reason I haven't burnt out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Health matters more than everything, that's what I learned when I got sick. So from that time on, I learned to just guve myself a rest whenever it asks for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really need to rest, I like the fact that you are hardworking and you are not the lazy type but we all know how valuable our lives are, please take a break and rest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take out time to rest sir...it's lot of work you're doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please take a rest when you need to, you already mapped a schedule make sure you follow it and I think that will go a long way. It's never easy to blog and mix that with personal care..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just take it slowly. Take a deep breathe to release your stress. Be happy and contented

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Break is quite helpful to take a fresh start...Continuously working on the same lines can lower your energies...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't be getting stressed out when we are doing certain things, this life is meant to be enjoyed... We should enjoy life too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I burn out writing about crypto... I write about something else. When burned-out if writing I just cook!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once in a while, it is medically advised that we take a break, spread our tentacles and try out new ideals. While on break you get to see what you can write about and inspirations to write will certainly erupt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While actively pursuing our passion, it is necessary to take a break from time to time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Burnout can be frustrating, especially when you don't know the cause. But I am glad you know what to do, and how to solve the problem. That will help you out a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago