Don't let the promise kill your mental strength

10 79
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

When you're feeling like you've been backed into a corner, promises can be a lifeline. They provide a sense of security and a promise of better days ahead. But promises can also be insidious. They put a lot of pressure on you, and not always the kind of pressure you want to be feeling.

We all had promises made to us. someone promised to get you a new phone, or that they’re going to commit to helping you financially. And when we don’t follow through on these promises, we feel like failures. But the promises themselves aren’t the problem — it’s that we’re letting them keep us from being our best selves.

Many people are trapped in the promises that others keep making to them, but the promises themselves aren’t the problem. It’s that people let them keep them from doing their best. They keep you from believing in your ability to achieve your goals. After all, promises are just words. The promises that can kill your mental power are the ones that keep you from doing what you want, from taking action, from making progress, from achieving your goals, and from moving forward.

Promises are good. They give us hope for a better future. But when we allow our minds to keep dwelling on them, they keep us from being as productive as we could be. They make us lose our sense of direction and our motivation to keep going. They sap our energy and our will to keep going. They keep us from doing what we want to be doing, which oftentimes is the thing we need to be doing in order to move forward. And they keep us from taking the actions necessary to achieve our goals. Worst of all, they keep us from moving forward.

For instance, you have been doing part-time jobs to fund your school bills, you have been doing it and keep making progress in your academy. Then someone made a promise to fund your next section bills, this seems a good thing right? but this same promise can kill your mental strength to keep doing what you have been doing to fund your bills. and you will be forced to change your approach and your methods.

You might think that the promise is good because you will be able to complete your section bills effortlessly. But as time keep going you might find yourself stuck with no way to get out of the situation. This shows how promises can kill your mental strength.

No matter how good a promise may be, it's never enough to take your hands away from the spindle and the steering of your life. This is important because you don’t want to be trapped in a promise just because someone promises you. You have to have the self-awareness to know when you’re being kept in a promise and when to cut your losses and move on. This means that you have to be okay with realizing when a promise isn’t in your best interest. And it also means that you have to be okay with realizing when a promise isn’t working out. It's important to be able to identify when a promise is good for you and when it's bad for you.

You want to make sure that you’re making the right choice for you. You have to be comfortable in your own skin, and you have to know that you have the mental strength to keep going no matter what. You have to believe in yourself and trust your instincts. You can’t allow yourself to be trapped by someone’s promise or by the expectations that others have of you.

When I was in college, I was working hard to pay my way through school, but I was getting the grades that I needed to keep moving forward. I was close to being done, and then something unexpected happened: Someone promised to foot my bills in my fourth year, I so much rely on the promise, but the promise that had been made to me didn't come through, and I found myself in a bind. I needed to keep going to finish up my degree, but I didn’t have the money to do it. I found myself in a difficult situation, and the pressure began to buTo make matters worse, everyone around me kept telling me that I needed to stay in school, that I needed to keep making progress, that I needed to keep moving forward, that I needed to keep grinding, and to keep fighting. It was from these people around me that I was able to get the help of funds to offset some of the bills that enable me to take the semester exams for the section.

So promises can be a good thing, but you have to know when to cut your losses and move on. You can't let promises keep you from what you want to be doing. You have to be able to know when a promise is not in your best interest and when it's not working out. So make sure you have the guts to cut your losses and move on.

We are all human and we all make promises, so why should we be so worried about them? What is the use of worrying about that we can't even control? Just because we can't take control of the promises made to us, that doesn't mean we can't control how we react to them. The only thing that we can be sure of is that we can't control the outcome of the promises, so why let them control our lives?

We can control how we feel, and we can control how we act. We can control our reactions, and we can control our behavior. We can always choose how we respond to a promise that is being made to us. We can choose to let it kill our mental strength or we can choose to keep moving forward and make the most of the situation.

Let me conclude by telling you this short story that best illustrates what am trying to make you understand in this article.

A rich was walking home from work one winter evening and it was snowing and very cold. He saw an elderly man at the corner of the street shivery and being covered with snow. He went to him and said "I'm sorry to bother you, why are you sitting in the snow and you don't even have a jacket on", the elderly man replied "I'm used to it". Then he said to the man I am going to get you a jacket as soon as I get home, but when he gets home he got busy doing other things and forgot about the man on the street.

The next morning he remember the promise he made and quickly get the jacket and go down the street to meet the elderly man, but he found him dead with a note on his side.

The message on the note read thus: "I was holding on well before you met me, but your promise kill my mental strength".


14
$ 5.88
$ 5.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
+ 5
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

Promises are good only if we can meet up with our expectations for the person. If we know we can't meet up with our promise then we shouldn't make it. Coz most people are dependent on what we have people promise. Imagine someone who's promised to give his friend money for her the treatment of her sick daughter. and later the person fails to meet up with his promises, which later lead to the death of the girl. Surely they person we lose hope and feel broken.

So we should never try to make promises we can't keep. Even it is said in the Bible and Quran that it is a big sin to make promises we can't keep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really nice and useful article Don't make promises when you are happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still believed in this saying that "promises are really meant to be broken" and "don't make any promises when you are happy". These two, I will always take note of this to remind me and to take care myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a man, I know that the best promise is the one that is not made.

So if one is going to make a promise, take care of being able to fulfill it without forgetting the conditions that determine them.

From my own experience, I know how easy it is to promise and how difficult it is to deliver. How many reproaches would I have avoided if I had just kept my mouth shut?

In the same sense, it is not worth much trust in the promises of others, however, fulfilled they may be. Sometimes one does not comply because he wants to, but because one cannot.

Promise yourself that you will always try to keep what you promise. And take care to be firm and strong in the effort.

Perhaps in this way, you will become a trustworthy man. Don't waste time on the promises of others, just focus on being true to yourself.

Greetings, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is alot of lesson to learn here, promise is good but it's disadvantages kills our productive self when we rely on the promise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Promises are something can affect someone's behavior. Do not utter promises when you are not sincere just to brag or just to play someone. But promises can be used in some different ways, it depends upon the situations. You know what I mean.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This has been helping for a very long time, when someone promises me something I don't think on it much because the chances are rare. If you know that the person that have promised you something has his personal life to live, you'd calm down and don't ponder much on the expected promise. Anything can happen to the person anytime and he might change his mind at moment just to cater for an emergency case...as the case maybe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh the last story is very tough. Promises are good when the promises are make but it becomes promise when it’s done... if the rich man hasn’t promise the elder man he wouldn’t have die.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story about life 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My best friend once promised to give me money to start up a business. This made me so much excited and serious. I was hoping to get what he promised from him, but as time goes, he seemed to have forsaken me and the promise he made. I'm someone who cannot ask only if you give to me. So, after you promise, I will not ask of it from you because seeing me alone can make you remember what you have promised to give to me.

Promises can be sign of Hope and everyone has the spirit of hoping for something.

In another way, promises and fail is a big sin because when you promise someone, God will be watching if you will fulfill it. The fact remains that whenever you promise, always try ypur best to fulfill it or promise what you can do but not what you cannot do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago