Do it now or never

12 37
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

What I will discuss here is Procrastination, the act of postponing or intentionally, unnecessarily delaying, or setting aside things we want to do.

My son returned home from school on the weekend of June 18, 2021, and before he left school for the weekend holiday, the teachers gave them assignments to do on the weekend. While eating breakfast the next day on Saturday, I told my son "Hello boy, remember, you will have to start your homework on the weekend just after finishing your breakfast ..."

Now, an 11-plus boy who had just been promoted to second grade in high school made a face and said, "Wow, dad, that bit a too early ... come on ... don't stay in my head now, only the first day and I have a whole weekend to finish it. . "

Now, guess what!

On Monday morning the assignments could not be made. He was rushing very early in the morning to finish assignments so he could go back to school but that would not happen, he would have to sit back to finish his assignments before returning to school the next day, Tuesday.

Yes, that's what procrastination can do. We’ve all been through this episode of mental experience at different stages of our lives, haven’t we? Procrastination comes naturally to most people, and it begins at the early stage of life. We even postpone things when we know for sure that it is a 'no no' thing.

After that, there was a knock on the inside of my head and I remember how I missed my chance to buy my dream car a few years ago. My wife and I started a dollar-a-day savings program on purpose. My wife was doing her part honestly, but to me, saving a dollar a day doesn't seem like something I should be worrying about. I did not follow the procedure, I have in mind that by the end of the year I could easily get $365 from my business and put it in my wife's savings to buy our dream car at the end of the year. I delayed doing my homework because it was easy to do, and I am still dreaming today.

My habit continued until the day I realized how busy I was in life dealing with a lot of things I had been shifting to the next day. The end of the months was always a particularly painful day.

Shortly thereafter, I realized that I was living under the unrelenting pressure and stress of dealing with my daily routine and that this was holding me back. Then I decided to give up my habit of procrastinating.

That one decision in life had a profound effect on my life after that. I was more enthusiastic, more energetic, more responsive, and more successful in my life.

But why was I procrastinating? Why do people procrastinate? My studies have shown that several factors have led to my procrastination and others.

Let me first examine all the psychology that works in the background as we procrastinate. People often judge this as a lack of power. But there is more to it than that. The main psychological reasons for procrastinating are as follows:

  • Lack of self-control to get our jobs done.

  • Lack of motivation

  • Feeling self-sufficient

  • The presence of mitigating factors such as anxiety or fear of failure

  • The dampening factors go beyond self-control and motivation.

  • Opposition to work.

  • Work is not fun by nature

  • People are at risk of procrastinating when their motives are unclear or ambiguous rather than concrete and well-defined, or the rewards seem impossible.

  • Hopefully, there will be enough time in the future to do the job.

Although these reasons are not all there are, they mainly refer to our procrastination behavior.

Now? How can we change?

So my experience tells us that to deal with it successfully we must first know our reasons, that is, find out why we are procrastinating. We need to be honest with ourselves while doing this. This is essential to the success of the victory over negative habits or traits. 

Now, here are steps you can take to begin the process of preparation for overcoming procrastination.

  • Have clear goals.

  • Create a plan.

  • Launch the plan.

By following these three steps we can easily get rid of procrastination. First, we need to learn how to prioritize tasks or what we should do with their priorities. Large and stressful tasks should be broken into smaller pieces to make them easier to manage. This is one thing I missed that cost me a chance in achieving my car dream.

It is easy to get sidetracked if you force yourself to do everything at once. Learn to deal with distractions by identifying your most productive times of the day and organizing your activities accordingly. Setting a deadline for achieving your goals is important, however, each goal must be divided into smaller pieces of goals that you can successfully achieve each day.

Now, we see that there are many reasons for procrastination; understanding why people procrastinate and working honestly with the anti-procrastination strategies is very helpful in helping people overcome procrastination.

If I have succeeded in overcoming my problem by religiously adhering to anti-procrastination strategies, you too can.

13
$ 7.16
$ 6.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 3
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

I remember changing from a really proactive kid to a grown up who found himself procrastinating most of the times especially tasks which had no defined deadlines. I would say it has a lot to do with the mindset. There are other associated factors too which can all be overcome by a disciplined approach. To see that change, you will have to discipline your mind first and then the rest will fall in place. A well written piece. Cheers buddy

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for visiting, I really appreciate your constructive comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Say NO to procrastination. There are many reasons for procrastination but it could be avoided being disciplined and by having self control.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have always been a victim of this all my life. Many times, I would leave work done thinking I would have the chance to do it later but no. But ever since I knew the damage it's causing me, I have stopped. In fact, it wanted to show up today, I had to get up to do it fast as I already told myself to do it tomorrow morning but after giving it different thoughts, I saw that it will really disrupt my morning routine for tomorrow, now I am done with it.

Most times, laziness too also causes procrastination and the earlier we adjust now, the better for us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Procrastination is a killer of dreams, because your tomorrow will never come.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I procrastinate a lot, and I have suffered from it....even failed an exam because of it....I will say Laziness causes it. Thank you for the break down

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You are welcome and thanks for the comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procrastination is sometimes really hard to beat. Sometimes, you should just start something even if you're not ready yet in order to accomplish a task.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Feeling self-sufficient

this one is a serious thing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel attacked! Hahaha! Anyway, I feel so happy I have been doing great it becoming more responsible of managing my priorities and time. It is important to determine the reason of procrastination. That is what I did. And it's effective.

$ 0.02
2 years ago