Bitter sweet love

0 45
Avatar for Favyy
Written by
2 years ago

Written by Favour Ifeoluwa Olanrewaju ✍️✍️

Part 2

What does it feel like to fall in love with the crown prince?

A mere maid falling in love with the crown.

I don't know how much he loves me, but I was miserably in love with the prince.

I gave him my all without holding back. I satisfied him in everyway he wanted. I thought that is the only way I can proof to him that I love him.

Being his personal maid, it made it easy for him to have me anytime he wants. I was madly in love.

Mum came to visit me one time or the other in the palace and help relieve me of my work load once in a while. I thought of mentioning my affair with the prince to her, but knowing she would strongly kick against it, I decided not to tell her.

'how am I so stupid to think things will be easy?'

One faithful night, the princess caught us in his room... we were so lost in our romance we didn't see her walk in and stand for a minute watching us in shock.

And when we saw her... I sprang to my feet and immediately knelt in front of her in fear.

She shut her mouth she had left hanging in surprise and stared at me in disgust. I couldn't look up anymore I had to bury my head in shame. To make matters worst, the prince was silent.

My heart kept racing.

Suddenly, the prince turned and walking out. I wanted to run after her to plead with her but I know I really must not try that if I don't want my head on a platter of gold.

With shaky fingers, I slowly rose to my feet.

Both sad and disappointed... disappointed because the prince had still refused to say anything.

I never bargained for this.

The prince made me fall for him and now he can't take responsibility.

I turned to look at him, with tears in my eyes but I saw him already up and putting on his clothes. He came closer and held my hands.

"I never wanted us to get caught"

"My plan was to marry you after I become the King, but don't worry..." He held my hands and squeezed them "I'll handle this"

That softened me.

"I'll go stop my sister from telling the queen and king" he let go of my hands and left the room.

Unknown to me, that would be the last time I'll have him hold my hands.

It happened the princess met the queen at the corridor, I just noticed the prince paused when he stepped out.

And when the queen came, brushing past the prince and coming towards me in rage, at that moment I knew I was finished.

She got to me landed two hot slaps across my face, I fell on my knees immediately.

"The prince decided to help your wretched life and employed you as a maid, but you decided not to know you place, you came in to seduce the prince" she screamed in anger.

"Mum, I asked her out" the prince defended.

I couldn't look up, my heart was racing.

The queen laughed.

"This girl has bewitched you Arnold" she said.

I heard him come closer.

"Helina, get up and leave" he ordered.

Well... ordinarily, the prince' order comes before the queen's so I slowly did.

The queen raised her hand to slap me again but the prince caught her hand mid air. The princess scoffed looking at me like the piece of rag I am.

"Leave" he ordered sternly.

I bowed and did.

As I stepped out of his room, tears left my eyes.

I had to pass through some guards I'm sure heard what happened. It was so embarrassing but nothing to compare with the danger that awaits me if things go wrong.

Maybe we aren't meant to be afterall.

'wait what am I even saying?'

I'm such a fool.

I left the palace and went home, lieing to my mum that I'm on leave. I'm just so scared of telling her.

Sooner or later, I'll have to tell her, or she gets to hear by herself.

That night, my mum and I were summoned to the palace and I knew it really is the end of me.

On the way I had to narrate everything to my mum so she wouldn't be too shocked 😭.

She screamed when I mentioned ever dating the prince, she nearly slapped me on the road.

It was obvious, everyone was against it.

At the palace we were immediately summoned to the king's chamber, I don't know but at some point I was wondering why they were taking it this hard.

I can never forget the words the king said to me.

"I don't have a problem with my son cheating on his wife, but not with a nobody"

I was confused.

'he just called me a nobody, but then... what does he mean by the Prince's wife?'

I couldn't get my question answered, I didn't even see the prince. Right on that spot, we were banished.

My mum and I.

My mum cried, I couldn't. I was too down to cry.

We were sent far away, very far away.

It felt like the world had ended for us.

For three days I apologised and cried to my mum to forgive me. For three days, my mum was embittered against me.

I had brought calamity on us.

She cried I should have told her from the first day, but it's late now, we've got to move on with life.

We finally settled down at the outskirt of another village.

A month later, I discovered I was pregnant. I tried to hide it from mum but she found out. Surprisingly, she wasn't mad... she asked me if I'll keep the baby and with a smile on my face, I told her yes.

I still love him.

Months later, I gave birth to a baby boy and called him Arnold.

He grew up looking exactly like the prince.

And even though I might never get to see him again, the love of my life... I can always see him through my son.

He might have forgotten about me, but I will never forget him. At least, he made me taste what it feels like to fall in love.

I love you Arnold.

THE END

#fictionwriting

Thanks for reading 🙏

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @Jerrysavage00
$ 0.02 from @Tomi-Ajax
Sponsors of Favyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Favyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments