003 – Cryptos or precious metals?

2 16
Avatar for Farinha
3 years ago

As you could read in post 002 I first started by changing my FIAT to silver. Then in 2017 I added cryptos. So how do I manage these two different assets?
Again, I am not an expert in any of the fields, but one thing I know for sure… Euros are something I don't want my wealth in.


But how do I choose how much should I own from the two (precious metals and cryptos)?
Actually, there is no special strategy for me, I just buy when I can and when I feel I should from any of the sides. What I try to do is not to get FOMO in any of the sides.

How much do I buy from each?
Today when I went to check my file to make this post I realized that 69,38% of my investments are in metals and only 30,62% are in cryptos. (I thought I had more in cryptos!!!)

Although the returns today from what I put in each part are totally different. The 69,38% of my investment in precious metals represents 61,36%€ of my total wealth and the 30,62% of cryptos are 38,10%.

But in terms of gains for each side, precious metals have a 125,68% gains and the cryptos have 176,86%.

The conclusion is… I should have bought more cryptos.


What do I buy from each?

From the precious metals I choose silver. I choose it as a reserve value, I don't see it as a true investment. I know it is very undervalued and that means it will go up for sure (at least it's what I believe but this is not financial advice). Also, because it has been used as a monetary metal for thousands of years and has a huge industrial demand I believe that with the electronic age growing the demand for this particular material will grow even more. And finally, because the ratio of silver to gold is normally 70x up (or like some months ago that had been 110x up meaning 110 ounces of silver for just the price of 1 ounce of gold). I am not good in math, but because of all this, for me, it just makes total sense to buy silver instead of gold, at least for now.

From the crypto world, I choose several. I have to admit that in the beginning I was running like a crazy chasing hot tips on what to buy because I did not know anything about it but didn't want to let the bull run alone and stay behind. So, yes, I got FOMO. Anyway, I am now full in THETA, THETA FUEL, DIGIBITE, ADA and XLM.

Half full in BTC, ETH and LTC (but these are the ones I will invest from now on).

Low in VERI, BAT and LRC (not adding unless I receive them on websites like these)
and sold everything of RDD, PPT and DENT.

I know I explained why I invest in silver but didn't explain why these cryptos. But I don´t want to make this post too long and for sure I will explain it in a near future.

What I can tell you for sure is that with the returns the cryptos have in my portfolio (even by starting in the late 2017 when cryptos were much higher) I will make an effort to buy more of this investment.

And here you have my choices.
Maybe in a near future, I will adapt or change my decisions. I'm still learning and for sure will change my mind regarding the cryptos, but for now this is what I have to share with you.

Let me know if you have a crypto that I didn't mention here that you are totally invested in (50% or more ) so I can have a look and learn about it.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @Heruvim78
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Farinha
3 years ago

Comments

So how do you invest in metals? Why do you have more in silver than gold?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think silver will increase in price to reach a gold to silver ratio of 15 more or less instead of the nowadays 70 times. Also because of the industrial demand.

$ 0.00
3 years ago