The Art of Transfiguration (Crochet Version)

7 35
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago

It's been exactly a year since I learned how to transfigure yarns and turn them into crochet projects and so far, I've finished quite a lot of crochet projects. From a magical tiny chicken keychain which I had bewitched to cling on your keys, to a chunky bolster pillow that sends hugs from miles away. I've been enjoying my crochet journey so far. It was definitely hard at first and you start with making one project that will keep you occupied for days, even weeks whilst still practicing and learning.

So far, out of all the projects I made with my trusty wand (hook) (made with a single ply of wool from an acromantula's hair at it's core and mahogany wood), from commissioned orders to handmade presents fpr my beloved witches, wizards and house elves, I've managed to transfigure myself atleast two. One, a not so pretty scrunchy that I only made cause I lost all my scrunchies, and had only lasted 2 days until I lost it this morning, and a sunflower granny square tote bag that I made out of my scrap yarns, and when I say scrap, I meant scrap, like scrap scrap. 'Cause they're really the scrap types, they're not even the same ply or thickness and not even the same type of yarn. Milk cotton making up most of it which I also had in different plies. I used both 8 ply and 3 ply which I know is so different when it comes to thickness but I had to use a tiny bit of black magic with my wand (hook) to make it thick enough to not make it look too different and weird when I'm done with it. I also used some 4 ply indophil yarns, and fine cotton yarns. Really, they have varying thickness, milk cotton being the chunkiest and the fine cotton, as the name suggests, very fine, so it's kinda hard to manage them all but I did. I had to use some techniques and spells that I learned during my days at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. When you have limited resources you really have to find ways to make it work, somehow I managed to summon the inner wizard in me and transfigure these stubborn yarns. This sunflower granny square tote bag is a very popular among wizards (crocheters) and the fact that I didn't have bag fo use whenever, and the fact that I actually have scrap yarns that has almost the same shade as the ones I saw, made me wanna try and have a go at it. So I went to the library and consulted my Pinterest spellbook to look up the spells on how to make these sunflower granny squares. Luckily, I managed to find the one and was quite happy when I finally got the hang of it and make it. I was so excited when I finished it that I immediately took photos of it and perform an enchantment to make the photos look nice. I had it published on the Daily Mail so people could see what I made and as if I drank Liquid Luck, almost immediately, I received mails from unfamiliar owls, and read them to see a lot of inquiries whether I sell it or accept commissions. Luckily, I had one who had placed an order but she must have thought it a bit expensive so she ordered a different one instead, a dufferent design and cheaper price. I'm glad and grateful.

3
$ 0.68
$ 0.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago

Comments

I follow you since this day because I love what you knit. I like the color, the neatness of your work. I would have liked to see more pictures of your work and follow the step by step through the images, I hope to see more things like this on your blog.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I'll try to do that. Thanks for upvotingšŸ„°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is super cool. Loved that craft. So you are new here... Well, Lucifer welcomes you to the family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for upvoting me too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked it. You deserve that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Lucifer! Glad you appreciate

$ 0.00
2 years ago