Order Gone Wrong

0 19
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago
Topics: Freewrite

I have been crocheting for almost 8 months, and during that I span, I've only received quite a few orders from different people.

One in particular is this minnie mouse inspired costume. The client asked me how much it was. Inexperienced with pricing, specially this was my first time having an order for this set which consists of a tube top, skirt, headband, and shoes, I made a quick guess and just told her it'll probably cost atleast 1,000 pesos, which I realized was too cheap of a price considering the time and materials I consumed doing this. By the way, I used atleast 6 balls of red Monaco mercerized cotton yarn, single pull, 2 balls of the black one, with a 1.75 mm hook, half pearls and rubber soles which I cut into shape myself. It took me almost a month or two to finish this doing it on and off because I was also busy preparing invitation cards, birthday costumes and souvenirs for my daughter's birthday last June, and also I was making orders for standee letterings, not to mention, I also have household chores to finish everyday and take care of my then 11-month old daughter. All these made it really difficult and there was soooooo much sleepless nights because of the very hectic schedule but I still tried to beat the deadline. The deadline was 10 days before my daughter's 1st birthday. I was soooo stressed. She also ordered some birthday souvenirs, a tarpaulin, cake and cupcake toppers.

We did ask her to pay atleast half of the price just to avoid cancellations and everything and also because we're gonna use the downpayment for her orders. But she didn't gave any because she said, she doesn't know how to send money online and no one's available to come over our place and pay the downpayment. Since we know her, we just agreed and we started doing her orders.

I started taking note of her orders and asking her if she could come over so I can take measurements on her daughter. Unfortunately, she cannot come over so she told me that she's just gonna take the measurements herself. I taught her how to do it and she took the measurements and sent it to me. We also talked about the design she wanted. She show me the design that she wanted and told her I could do it. I asked her to confirm everything including the colors and told her about my conditions. Told her that the design and colors can't be changed once I started it. She agreed. She told me not to rush.

So I started doing the project and while I was doing it, she suddenly had soooo many requests. I know it can be overwhelming and frustrating but I tried to do my best. She even went as far as telling me to change the design in a specific way and I didn't wanna argue so I just did what she said since I haven't started the skirt yet and I still can modify it but I didn't realize that the design she wanted me to make will eat up sooo much yarn and took soooo much of my time because of the ruffles. I still did anyway although it stressed me out, really. She even told me to make her a freebie! Oh my gosh! At the time, I just told her that I'm gonna try to do so if time allows me and if there would be some leftover yarn. Good thing I had some materials to make earrings so I just did it.

After almost a month, I was finally done with it and soooo over it. She asked if she could get it and I said she could even if she hadn't paid for it. After trying it on her daughter she told me that it didn't fit her. I already told her before that I can't modify the size after I'm done because I would have to rip it and work all over again and told her that she has to make sure the measurements were right. Oh! I was sooo stressed! I seriously had a headache and almost a breakdown after she told me that she wants me to readjust it. After a few days, she returned it to me. I gave myself no choice and I did it for her. I fixed it and after I'm done, gave it back to her. This time it's okay, she said, not nice, but okay. Well, it's fine, I told myself, I can't please everyone, maybe I just wasn't good enough. By the way at the time she paid her orders. But only half. She said she can't pay the other half yet. Well, what can I do right?

I'm a little stressed out considering everything that just happened. The night came and I saw her myday on messenger, with the picture of the inspo photo that she wanted me to do and a caption saying, "Too bad, you're the one I wanted". 😢 Oh, how my heart broke. I just cried. I didn't know what to feel. I thought I did good until she made me feel it wasn't. I was kinda mad, frustrated, sad and disappointed. It was all negative emotions. I told my husband about it and he was so mad also. The next day I sent her a message telling her that it's okay if she just told me straight up wht she really wanted, that she hurt my feelings. I was just venting out and trying to point out what we talked about before regarding her orders. I wasnt rude or anything I just tried to tell her those in a nice way. She then replied and told me I can take it back if I want to and that she's not gonna use it anymore. I told her she can't do that cause I won't be able to sell it since it is a customized order. I said wesorry and didn't reply anymore. I didn't talk to her. I didn't care if she was gonna pay the remaining balance or not. I juet wanted my peace of mind. After some time, she paid the balance. We didn't talk or anything. I no longer care. I was just hurt. I can't let anyone do that to me. I just moved on and carried on with my projects. I told myself that that would be the last time it would happen to me. It was a lesson learned. It must be my fault, I don't know. I'll just keep doing what Im doing.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago
Topics: Freewrite

Comments