My unicorn themed hand-dyed cotton yarn

0 30
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago

Unicorn hand dyed cotton yarn

It all started when I saw a post on one of the crochet groups on facebook where she died her yarns manually and the result was really good. I was immediately inspired to try and make one for myself too but at the time, I didn't have any materials. It has been almost a month or two since I saw the post and I almost forgot about it when I saw more and more posts of people doing the same thing, even selling the yarns they made. So I was more interested than ever. I just had my birthday last week and days before that, my sister asked me what I wanted for my birthday and I already know the answer. I asked her to buy me natural cotton yarns and a few dyes so I could start dyeing yarns. The yarns arrived before my birthday and since then, I was so eager to try and dye my own yarns. I was so excited but then I had no time

Yesterday, my husband went on a trip with his cousins on another town and I was kinda bored as I have nothing else to do other than take care of my little one so I decided to take the yarns out and prepare them for dyeing even if I wasn't sure if I could dye it the same day. I only prepared 100 grams of yarn. Since I don't have any special tools to do the job, I just used an unused box where I kept weights inside so it doesn't move around while I do my thing and my yarn basket. I measured the cone first, and it was actually 450 grams but because of the cone inside, it became 500. So I had my weighing scale and took yarns until it was only 400 grams. I then tied them together loosely using an elastic and tied the end of yarns on the elastic so I would know where it is. And kept it aside.

Whilst I was washing the dishes in the kitchen sink, I figured I would do it then. So I prepared my soda ash and dye and then boiled some water and prepared the container. I poured the boiling water on a container and a cup of soda ash and dissolve it then put the yarn in it. Let it soak for 15 minutes and then wring it a little just to get rid of the excess water then put boiling water on another container and then mix some dye and dissolve, put the yarn on it and let soak for 15 minutes. I repeated the process a couple of times with 3 different colors and then once done, I rinsed it on cold running water til the water runs clear. I then hang it dry, but I was too excited it roll it up so I put in infront of a fan so it dries uo quickly and it dried up last night maybe around 11 pm and I started winding it manually although it was pretty hard to do cause it was tangled. I really love the outcome and I am planning to make more when I have time. I wanna sell it. I wonder if people would buy .

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago

Comments