My cow print bucket hat

0 21
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago

I made this as a requirement for a C.A.L or Crochet Along Program on one of the Crochet groups I joined on facebook. I started this 3 days before the raffle started. We were allowed to use any bucket hat pattern we have so I decided to be a bit creative and try my luck at freehanding. I used indophil yarn which were leftovers from my previously commissioned projects, and a 3.5 mm hook. I started with a magic ring and made açsingke crochets inside it. How many? I forgot. I didn't really take notes, I just did it trial and error style. At first try, I didn't really switch colors for the cow print until I'm done with the base cause I thought it would be complicated if I try to switch colors on the base since I would have to constantly increasing still so I just waited till I'm at the "retain row", that's how I remind myself that I won't be increasing nor decreasing on that row, which was the body of the bucket hat. And then came the switching of colors and the cow print pattern. I tried my best to try and make a form of cow print but it wasn't easy and it's not cute. It was my first time to try it though and I gave up after a couple more tries and decided to consult my trusty Pinterest app. I search a cow print chart for cross stitch, a bit of scrolling and I found a good one. The chart was pretty small and hard to see but I managed to do it. I also did the color switching and cow print pattern even on the base. It was definitely very tricky to do the color switching as I'm not really good at it and definitely need a lot more practice. The fact that the pink one is lighter than the navy blue yarn, makes it almost impossible for me to hide the yarns underneath. I don't like cutting it when switching colors. I just wanna do it continuously. Nevertheless, I managed to finish it and the people who saw it really likes it saying it's pretty and I'm really glad about that. I wasn't able to make a pattern as the cow print chart isn't mine either and I don't think it's fair to make a pattern out of someone elses work, right? I was planning to sell it though but my husband said he really likes it so I let him keep it. I'm not planning to make any more of it anytime soon as it was time-consuming and tiring. I want something that ai would really enjoy, cause while crocheting it, my hands gets really tired because of the tight tension.

2
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @BreadChamp
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago

Comments