Is love enough? What you need to know about sickle cell disease.

6 27
Avatar for Faithie
2 years ago

Hi everyone! How are you all doing? Hope you are all swimming in the ocean of good health🤗. Today's weather was clear,no cloud, no rain.The temperature was neither hot nor cold,a cheerful mood fills me with joy and happiness.

I hurried and dressed up to the market around 2:00pm to get food stuff, toiletries and drugs. After getting foodstuffs I hopped into a taxi to a nearby pharmacy to get drugs for my Grandmother.On reaching there I met a large crowd purchasing drug including those that buys in wholesales and sells in retails.

I couldn't wait any longer cause I have other things I needed to get,I reached out to my phone and called one of their staff who happens to be my classmates in high school. He came out and attended to me immediately,after payment I went to the reception to check the drugs I bought and the debit alert cause I paid with my debit card. On reaching there I sat down busy with my phone checking how much I still have and things left. While I was still on it,a lady came to me and said" please sister help me to get my drugs,I'm sick and I don't have money" Huh!!! What did I just hear?? I said to myself !! Where is this one coming from? I lifted my face immediately with a stone face only to see a slim, underweight lady with sagging skin, protruding bones and yellowish eyes,skin and lips with empty packets of drugs. I calmed down immediately like someone that was poured a chilled water. I asked her "what is wrong with you,what drugs are you buying and who prescribed it"? She told me that she has Sickle cell disease and is her doctor that prescribed the drugs.

I collected the packets of drugs from her, checked it and it was true. I was perplexed,I didn't know what to do next. Meanwhile I still have things I needed to buy and my balance was already shining red. I took the packets of the drugs to one of the pharmacist to know the cost,lo and behold it was worth $15 about #7500 in my country. Ahhh!!! God tempt me no more I murmured to myself🤦🏽‍♀️, For the past 3months all I kept receiving was debit alert,I have spent so much not even on myself but on health related issues and I know deep down if I don't get those drugs for her I will never forgive myself. I went to the pharmacist again handed him over my debit card,I paid and was debited $15 ,not upto 5seconds debit alert landed🤣. I went to her and handed the drugs over to her,she wasn't expecting it at all with that joy she hugged me,I smiled and tap her back.

Tears filled my eyes as I walked away,on my way going I kept wondering why some parents will be making life difficult for their children, could it be as a result of ignorance or love?? Is love really enough? This questions kept running through my mind. Two intending couples with the AS Genotype have no business getting married, there's nothing about love in this case! Sickle cell disease is a challenge faced by many families,it's a genetic blood disorder characterized by sickle shaped red blood cell,the affected sickle blood cells die much earlier than normal blood cells causing a constant blood shortage in the carrier. The sickle shaped of the cells also result in them getting struck and obstructing blood flow causing intense pains sometimes stroke and acute chest syndrome.

There's need for increased awareness on the importance of genotype test before marriage, Genotype talk should be one of the earliest discussions for young people in relationship. No one should wait until their relationship well underway before revealing each other's Genotypes or taking the blood test to confirm their Genotype, managing sickle cell disease is a time consuming and expensive venture. Unfortunately most people living with the disease cannot afford to pay for medications, treatments and blood transfusion when necessary just like the lady I met today.

You and ur partner should get yourselves tested today,A stitch in time saves nine.

Thanks for Stopping by🥰

Lead image from Unsplash

23rd April 2022

1
$ 0.19
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
Sponsors of Faithie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Faithie
2 years ago

Comments

Bless your wonderful heart! You have made someone's day today. Praying for that lady to always find the help that she needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen!!!! Thank you so much @ ARTicLEE I pray she will always get help too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhh thank you for having a big heart, you save the problems of others. I know God will make a way for more blessings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And you too dear,God has been making ways honestly. Despite the spendings I haven't lacked anything for one day, I pray all the blessings I have received from people will come into manifestation. I can't wait to grap them🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh praying for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you dear🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago