Back to the Future

2 30
Avatar for Fabes
Written by
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Parents raise their kids according to their own life experiences, different approaches equals to different results.

The minute they go to school they act according to how you raise them. How they behave is a reflection of your ability rearing a child.

There was a family with an internet business who has a baby at that time. Once he learned how to play cartoons on the internet later on games, he would play as long as he wanted, his parents thoughts were probably he's there not needing attention that gave them more time doing work hence, both parties in a win-win situation. They would ask him what he wants and would gladly answered "milk or rice" or something on the time he wants to have them. Time flies.

Then started schooling, Kindie 1. Problems came in like a huge boulder coming down their way.

His homeroom teachers complained that their boy doesn't listen to any commands they have him do, the basics like falling in line or red color when coloring an apple. He does what he wants when he wants it and where he wants it.

I do online work and I'm always there morning time (super fast internet), reason I know about them.

One time they shared his sons behaviour at school to me and asked for an advice. I started by showing them how they raised their son. On how they let him do what he wants or never stopping him for playing or watching on the internet, its always him deciding what he wants. So obeying on things that he never like would be impossible to achieve.

Then he became my student in primary one, he's always last to finish.....at anything at all.

I always have happy kids in my class, but I'm also a disciplinarian. It's my secret in effective teaching, grab their attentions first then they'll follow you all throughout the entire lesson. Lessons are short so I repeat the process of teaching several times until everyone learns the lesson.

There's a lot of kids like him in my class every year. Parents would ask me how do I do it? How do I make kids respond to my commands? My answer was I'm the adult in the room and I need to teach them to learn. I tell them what to do because I know what is best for them. Not let them decide on what they want in a class.

When we were young, me and my cousins would always make statements to them hanging belts when we did something wrong as kids. Waiting. Which one grandmother picks. The brown belt hanging was like "pick me, pick me!" We never repeated them mistakes EVER again. The pain reminds us not to do it again.

Times changed.

Others opted for a newer approach, the time out approach.

Some remained the old ways just like how their parents raised them.

7
$ 3.59
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Fabes
Written by
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

I talk for freedom. Everyone must be free to live , decide themselves. But when I say this doesn't mean that there should not be boundaries there must be. I always means freedom within the boundaries , with in the limitations of capacities.

I support your points that whatever we impact them they are reflected in their behaviour. Nowadays since we are in phase of capitalism, we must run after profit. If we don't them we are left back. So money and family won't come in win to win. Therefore, we can only stick to one either money or children.

This is happening everywhere. Thank you for the post of your experience. May someday it will help to overcome when I too get in same situation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can conclude kids with different attitude and different specter of interesting range, have to have different approach in order to motivate them. If they don't follow other fellows pupils and have bad grades and don't remember tasks from classes, online or traditional, teachers need to have methods and with parents motivate them to be more discipline.

$ 0.00
3 years ago