Side effects of oversleeping and its solutions

8 28
Avatar for FACTICAL
2 years ago

Hi there! I am FACTICAL. Welcome to my article. As I told you guys in my second article, I am a medical student. My previous article didn't get enough attention, so I decided to write about health. I hope you find it interesting and acknowledged.

This is my personal experience based article and some studies & surveys results are interconnected with this article to make it easy to read and some important tips to avoid oversleeping. Are you facing this problem? If yes, then you are on the right track to tackle your drowsiness and oversleeping.

Well, the topic is oversleeping. It was my main problems, now I succeed to overcome on it. Few tips and instructions were given by my doctor, I just followed them. I want to share with you. A look at its causes and some strategies to overcome them.

Edited by me, image source Canwa photo editor

Most people can't sleep better at night. They try hard for better sleep but can't. Some are like me. They sleep more than normal.

Now the question is, how much sleep should we sleep? How many hours should we sleep?

Well, the questions are complicated. Based on different factors such as, weather, age and what kind of job you do.

Normal sleep is based on 7 to 9 hours a day. If you are taking more than 9 hours then you are oversleeping.

I hope you got what is oversleeping. Let's discuss its causes.

Stress and depression

This is my personal experience, whenever I get loss or serious problems regarding university fees and the pressure of continuous lectures I am stressed. Then oversleeping overwhelmed me. I slept 10 to 13 hours. Normally I get up at 6 am. But that day I couldn't wake up early and if I woke up to the alarm sounds, I turned off the alarm and then went to bed for more sleep. That's I can leave the bed. This is a kind of depression, when you have nothing to do and no goals then you feel more sleepy because of depression.

Hypersomnia

It is a health disorder. It Causes extreme sleeping. An average of 2% of people is affected by it. They needed 12 to 14 hours to sleep.

Overuse of Alcohol

Alcohol has negative effects on health as well as causing oversleeping.

People mostly drink it in stressed and sad conditions. They drink it again and again. That makes us lazy with no energy. We sleep more than normal if we overuse it. A simple solution is to reduce alcohol and it can improve your sleep quality.

Seasonal affective disorders

Again based on personal experience. Ever you noticed that during shorter days you feel more sleepy than on long days. Autumn winter months reduce daylight and days are shorter. Nights are longer.

This effect is based on daylight. Shorter daylight makes you exhausted and lazy. It causes oversleeping. You can compensate for it by increasing artificial lights.

Oversleeping effects on health.

Weight gain

The big problem and effect of oversleeping is obesity. Oversleeping makes you overweight. During sleeping, we use fewer calories than during the day's work. So sufficient calories make you obsess. Oversleeping causes overeating too.

If sleep is more than 10 hours 21% of people get obese. Morning walk is the best solution to reduce weight as well as get rid of oversleeping.

Headache

Oversleeping causes headaches. It irregulates brain neurotransmitters. Reduce serotonin levels in the body. Which causes headaches. Improve your sleeping routine if you have a headache all the time. Sleep early and be consistent.

Premature ageing

Especially found in older adults. Chronic oversleeping can weaken or hold your brain early. It causes poor concentration, poor thinking and a lack of problem-solving ability.

If you keep your brain healthy and active. I suggest you eat dry fruits and nuts.

Backbone pain

When we oversleep for 10 Hours in one position or less Ideal posture can cause backbone pain. Old pillow and low-level mattresses can cause back pain.

To reduce back pain we should sleep fewer hours and exercise regularly.

Low blood pressure and heart problems are also caused by oversleeping.

Tips to avoid yourself from oversleeping

  • Go to bed early.

  • Make a proper sleep timetable.

  • Turn the light on during the shorter day.

  • Do exercise regularly.

  • Don't sleep much during the day.

  • Take high energy meals to boost your energy level.

  • Be consistent and regular

  • Avoid from night bars and alcohol

  • Keep in touch with your doctor.

Shout-out of this article gose to @Ling01 for becoming my first sponsor. Sister! I am so glad that you like my content 💖. Thanks for appreciation and always dropping beautiful words in comments on my each article. It motivated me to write more and more. You are my motivation sister:)

Thanks for your kind visits.

5
$ 3.40
$ 3.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 2
Sponsors of FACTICAL
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FACTICAL
2 years ago

Comments

What an informative article you have @Factical! Thanks for sharing this information to us. Through this, you get to share the things that we need to be mindful about. ❣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi, thank you dear. You made my day by appreciating my writing. Yes i am medical student i want to write more about health. Just need you guys motivation. Thanks for coming up on my article. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article will definitely help me, coz sometimes I suffers from insomnia and sometimes from hypersomnia. I think I should reduce over thinking and over stressing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yed sister! You need to Stay happy and visit to your doctor!
Do you excersize regularly ? If not do it and be consistent and regular about all your actions. Stay healthy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually I'm really busy with my studies that's why I can't cut off sometime for excersize. I already visited a doctor , she just told me to take some rest and not to worry too much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh okay what are you studying? Okay no worry maintain and keep balance in your sleeping. Divert your attention so that you can Stay away for oversleeping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome :) About sleep, I'm very strict about myself in that matter, I make sure to have 8 hours of sleep. Until.. just these two weeks, it change a lot, I need to get back on track. Like now, I'm awake again -_-

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah you are strong, i think so. That is good habbit and should be. Those are successful who mold their habbit and control over it. I am proud of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago