Journey of a foreign mom

6 30
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

The first time I landed foot in Nigeria was at age 18, from the warm pleasantries I received at the airport, to the beautiful people and atmosphere generally, i was already in love with the country.. the last eighteen years of my life was spent in Birmingham United Kingdom.. my Mom, a British but my dad a Nigerian which makes me a proud Nigerian too.. For years I have been eager to travel to Nigeria.. honestly i found it quite fascinating that while some Nigerians over at the UK were very pleased to be there, I was hopelessly dreaming of what it felt like back there..

My mom was a University Professor while my Dad was a social worker.. I had no siblings so it made my crave to travel down to Nigeria even more intense.. we lived a pretty comfortable and happy life back in the UK but you could tell that something was missing.. I grew up not knowing or meeting any of my dads folks or even siblings so this bothered me a little bit.. anytime I asked dad about Nigeria or his people, he shoved it aside.. this only made me more curious and anxious.. I had many questions and I was searching for answers but couldn’t find them.. i was looking forward to my eighteenth birthday because I knew only then would I be free to move out and get my own apartment.. I had secret plans of traveling to Nigeria once I clock eighteen.. infact, that’s was top on my bucket list..

Christmas celebrations was mostly boring for me.. asides the usual Christmas tree setup, church and thanksgiving there was pretty much nothing else to do.. I spent hours on moms computer surfing the internet and watching fascinating videos of how Christmas celebrations is carried out back in Nigeria.. I remember commenting on a Facebook post of a Nigerian festival night and Sofia, a Nigerian girl about my age replied my comment.. we started off from there and had a pretty good friendship since then.. Sofia would email me cool pictures of events and happenings in Nigeria and I longed to be there even more. Just before my 17th birthday however, Daddy passed on from brain tumor. It was devastating loosing a parent.. dad and I had a unique relationship and he loved me with his whole heart. He was always there for me because mommy was mostly absent or too busy with work. I guess that was why I was so drawn to him and everything he entails. moving on after his passing was tough but thanks to Sofia.. she was there for me even from a thousand mile away.. on my eighteenth birthday however: I was licensed to access my trust fund after successfully completing my high school..

I approach mom after she returned from work and told her I was moving out.. I had more than enough money to fund my college life and thereafter so I felt independent and free.

“Rosie!! Is this about going to Nigeria again?” She asks me sounding frustrated!

“Mom! I’m going to travel there some day. So please can you start warming up to the idea already?” I respond..

“I forbid you from going out there Rosie! You will not step foot in that country you hear me?”

I scoff loud enough for her to hear me.. and roll my eyes.

“Come on mom!! I’m an adult now.. and you cannot hold me down against my will. I’m old enough to make my own decisions and besides! What exactly are you afraid of anyway? I ask her crossing my arms over my chest.

“Your father and I have tried to protect you all these years from some bad people.. why do you think he never traveled down there since you were born?” “Mom! We are not in the 80s okay.. there’s no evil person or monster lurking around the corner waiting to sneak up on me.. relax! I’ll only take a trip for a week and I’m back before you know it..”

“You will not disobey me Rosie!!”

“Mom! There are bad people everywhere.. here, in Nigeria, hell! Even in Rome so please stop treating me like I’m some idiot who is purposely going to walk into danger without thinking.. you are hardly ever home with me anyway so why do you care so much?

There’s silence between us and I can tell that I hurt her with my words but I’m determined to do what I want this time around.. I want to travel to my father land and find my roots..

I storm into my room and grab all my belongings.. walking out quickly before I chicken out and leaving her standing behind watching me leave.

I have longed for this day for years I cannot turn my back now.. I get into the taxi I already hired and zoom off without looking back at her.

To be continued....

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Haaa this is a story then I would be having a long ride enjoying the read.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Build a home in Nigeria is quite different from that abroad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice one, there is alot to learn here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a heart warming story, touching and inspiring at that.. pls I look forward to the completion of the story, cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What an interesting story,Now that you are in Nigeria,don't you feel like going back to where you formally used to stay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago