Greed

3 26
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

As we get ready for church tomorrow, let us reflect on greed this night. I joined the couple and their kids to attend children's church.

I sat beside their cute daughters; one is 13 years old and the other is 10 years old. Towards the end of the church activities, church attendants shared biscuits to all the kids in the church.

Don't ask me if I collected any.

The 10 years old daughter collected one biscuit while her elder sister collected 3 packets. Of course, they were free, so you could take as many as you wanted. The younger sister returned the one biscuit she collected and I quizzed her about it.

"Uncle Beck, my elder sister has 3, so I will share with her."

The elder sister told her clearly that she won't share the 3 biscuits, so she'd better collected her own. The 10 years old sister would have none of it.

"Uncle Beck, look, she has enough chocolates and biscuits at home. Why take more than she can finish? It's not as if she will eat this one." I was only smiling and nodding.

Their parents allowed them to argue, who was I to interfere? Sad thing I wasn't with my popcorn or 3D glasses.

After the argument, the elder sister packed her 3 biscuits and the younger one had none. Immediately we returned from church, while still at the gate, the elder sister ran out of the car, pushed open the gate and ran upstairs. The younger sister turned to look at me while smiling.

"Uncle Beck, I told you. See, she has left these biscuits here. Do you know how many kids who would've been grateful getting two extra."

I told her not to mind her sister. I volunteered to make sure the biscuits had a comfortable stomach to rest and she readily handed them over to me.

I thanked the couple for the ride.

"Thanks bros. We already know the right lessons to teach our daughter who ran in."

Their house was within trekking distance from our own.

I kept thinking.

So many thoughts and lessons to learn from this.

Greed sometimes doesn't start with billions. And many times, we don't need those things.

Till we get to the Promised Land, I shall be waiting for when you will pass me a glass of water and thank God for the gift of grace for the race.

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Greed to get it all could be a means to loose it all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We must learn to sacrifice for others

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago