My First Flight.

2 40
Avatar for Eyys
Written by
2 years ago

My Mama called me last week of February 2020. I was in Antipolo Rizal at that time. She told me she bought a plane ticket for us to go to her hometown in Negros Occidental, she needs to take care of the documents to complete. (I'm sorry, won't tell you about the details). She wants me to be with her. I said Okay. I had no choice before I said No because she bought the plane ticket. The next day, I went home to not hurry for our flight schedule later.

*I am aware of those days about Corona Virus Disease 19 in China was on the news, December 2019. I never thought my country would be affected by it or ever crossed in my mind pandemic/lockdown would happen in our entire life.

March 02,2020. Mama and I woke up at 3:30 am to prepare breakfast and take a bath, our flight at 11:45am. We ride in FX at 5 am because my mama does not want to be late for our flight due to traffic. By 8 am we arrived at the SM Megamall then went to Jollibee to use comfort room. We looked for a taxi after found, mama talked to the driver, and he drove us to Terminal 3, Ninoy Aquino International Airport, paid the fare.

Inside the Airport

We got to fall in line at the entrance, showed our plane tickets (not official) and valid ID's. Its my first time! I felt excited. I do not feel nervous. Lol! When we were inside the terminal, I was like a clueless lady not knowing what to do even though with my mama! Hahaha. When we are inside the airport it's so huge, clean and many passengers either arrived in manila or going to provinces. I do not know if there is an International flight because we are in domestic flights. I think they have.

I looked around for our Airplane lines then saw a kiosk machine of Cebu Pacific. We fall in line some staffs will assist you. I asked the lady staff what we had to do, told me the instructions. In front of us, I proceed to the screen of the kiosk. I clicked and put our details. Viola! The plane tickets (official tickets) came out in the machine. We don't need to pay for plane tickets because of done payment. We got to our designated areaNo. I remembered we got down 2 to 3 escalators. We looked for our number and sat down waited to board at 11:50am.

*Forgot to mention that we fall in line to to the area you should get off your shoes, coins, etc., something metal in your body. You have to pass through to the scanner machine and not detect any prohibited things in luggage before our flight. So we got past (Back and forth) We did not use big luggage or suitcase.

As time pass we felt hungry. We forgot to buy some food before we arrived at the airport. We had bought two waffles chocolate flavor and two bottled water. Many people sat in our area waiting to board to Davao, Bacolod, Zamboanga. (I forgot other locations). I took some photos and saved a battery because I do not have a cellphone charger. We also back to back in the Comfort room while waiting. I told mama I like to be near the window to see clouds and everything. Hahaha. I checked our tickets, Oh my gosh!!, we are not together in plane seats. Makes me sad. But you know I had no choice, at least she would not leave me after! Lol!..

Domestic Flight Terminal.

Aboard in Airplane

Going to Bacolod Airport

The fall in line started, we showed our plane tickets and valid IDs to the staff. We went outside to line up and ride on minibus. The driver drove us to the exact location of the airplane. When I saw it, so huge I couldn't believe I would see this with my beautiful eyes and get in there. Yeah, I did! Do I look ignorant? Hahaha. I have seen the airplane in the sky or in movies but in person is a different feeling!

Mama and I were in a different plane seat. She was on the other side of the airplane. I felt happy and excited. Steps my feet on a ladder then showed my plane ticket to the stewardess. She looked at it and smiled. I smiled back too. When I finally found my seat, I saw not so old lady sitting next to the window, and I was seated in the second seater. (I sat in the left row with three-seaters, the other side had two seats) The lady asked me if I'd like to change plane seat with her. I said Okay po. She probably changed seats to me because of the aircon facing above, getting cold later or maybe hot in the window. Many passengers and some foreigners were inside the airplane though not filled. I was thinking of my mama if she is okay don't want to overthink and divert myself to take some selfies while the plane not yet up in the sky!

I am happy because my wish came true to be near in the window. I looked outside the window saw on the front side other airplanes went up in the sky! Other airplanes ahead of us waited to fly one by one, running slow while our plane was ready for taking off.

Inside the plane

While airplane got ready to take off, the stewardess reminded all passengers must turn off the cellphone and/or turn on airplane mode to not interrupt the frequency. After she said the other details as I forgot what it is, the other stewardess demo us the instructions to what to do when the emergencies happen. (Forgot if it was before or after take-off). When the airplane take-off it's smooth and no turbulence happens. In a couple of minutes, my ear started to feel pain a little because of the air pocket. I saw the two stewardesses carrying a tray of food. I thought that was free. Hahaha. But when I heard someone ask for a coffee and how much it is! Okay, I do not have the extra money in my pocket. I back off! If I have a chance again to aboard an airliner, I'll buy some food and feel what it's like when eating up above. Hahaha. It's cold anyway because of Aircon. I looked out the window and saw that the cloud was below us. It was also a cloud that same level us, and there is a cloud, and there are no clouds in other areas. That's how it is. I do not feel nervous because of the heights but happy and excited.

*I forgot how many hours we spent in the air and what time we arrived at Bacolod Airport.

Going to Himamaylan

Ceres Bus Terminal

When the plane arrived at Bacolod Airport, all passengers got off. I remembered I didn't go outside, walked to the hallway straight. I thought of waiting for mama at the exit so she could see me right away and would be ahead of her. When I was in the middle of the hallway, I saw her waiting for me. I said, "I thought you left me." as a joke. She smiled. Why would I leave you?. "Mama don't leave me." I replied while holding her arm, laughing. Tee-hee! We went to the restroom then we went outside. Looking a ride, mama asked the man where is Ceres (bus terminal), he instructed us to ride in the FX terminal. We saw the FX right away, and then mama asked the driver if Ceres were passing, said "Yes", and paid the fare.

We got off at the Ceres bus terminal. We saw the signboard Kabankalan and took the bus. While waiting for passengers, vendors took a bus to sell their goods for a living like peanuts, mineral water, chicharron, et cetera and got off the bus. While we were on our journey, other vendors sold buko pies, peanuts, mineral water and got off the bus. I think vendors are free to ride or also they paid. I don't know. Mama bought buko pies, and we ate. We fall asleep but woke up from time to time. We traveled for more than an hour. I think vendors are free to ride. I do not know.

*I asked mama for other info that I forgot, and she forgot some also. Only memories I remembered and Mama in this article.

At Ceres Bus

Grandparents House

We got off at Himamaylan Highway. We rode to a tricycle, and the driver dropped us off at the gate of my grandparents' house. Then we paid a fare. On the outside, there are new things changed. I saw a guy entering the gate carrying a sack of rice on his shoulder. Then I saw Uncle RD, mama, and they greeted each other. Mama asked where is Auntie MG, told us she was in the house (Grandparents house). I blessed to uncle. Then go to the house, the guy entered the sack of rice. Mama and Auntie MG hug each other. Greet and hugged her, also. We sat down and rested. We talked about how well each other is and everything. I was sleepy and tired. I want to sleep, but I am too shy to go upstairs. Haha. After they talked, mama and I got up to the upstairs changed our clothes, and mama got down first while I rested for a while. When I got down, mama was not around. She was in Uncle RD's house. She gave them buko pies. When mama gets back, she is with my cousin CD, and her older sister (Ate CP) with her son. We hugged each other. CD just got home from work. So, I know she must be tired. Ate CP told me something in sign language. I looked at CD, she says Are says that I am pretty, and I said thank you. We had a little talk, and they got home. Ate CP and I are not cousins. My only cousins are CD and her younger sister. But for me, I considered her as my cousin.

Mama and I slept at a folding bed. There are two beds, which is my cousin KG slept. Auntie MG offered the other bed to mama but chose the folding bed instead. We are not picky. We slept well. Auntie MG, her husband Uncle NG, and my two other teenage boys cousins slept near the living area. (Ground floor). It was my first time to see the third and youngest boys because we went home back then to Grandma's funeral, I only saw is KDG (oldest), and KG.

At my grandparents house, mama and her siblings had a full childhood memories. As of now, Auntie MG and her family live there. The other part of the house is changed, and the other is still the same.

*I didn't inform Auntie MG we were got home, what a surprise visit.

March 3, 2020

Mama and I woke up early in the morning. I greeted her Happy Birthday, then had a bath. While eating breakfast, it was oatmeal and Bear brand milk that was I only ate in the morning. I felt something uncomfortable in my stomach. I hurried to the comport room and vomited. Not feeling well, I did not go with her to do errands. After I are lunch and rested, I slept. Mama went home after she finished her doing.

In the afternoon, Mama and Auntie MG cooked Ginataan for our merienda. It was mama's simple celebration. We ate. So, yummy though I had a stomach ache, my taste bud was not gone and not vomit as I remember.

March 4-5, 2021

My condition was still the same. I ate only some banana, rice and sky flakes plain biscuits. I rested the whole day while mama got busy and away. I felt sorry because I did not come with her or help her. I prepared a plastic bag just in case I vomited. I heard my stomach growling inside. I sometimes vomit, sometimes not. All I want to do is rest.

I condition myself. I want to be a fast recovery. Drink a lot of fluids. Auntie MG bought dehydrate tablet. I put in the glass of water and drank it. My Auntie DS from Bago City visited us. The three sisters talked about topics they wanted.

Auntie DS slept in the other bed beside us upstairs. Her daughter DS wants to come but has no budget.

I did not roam even outside the house with mama and cousins. I regret that. Hope soon we go there again!

Going back home

March 7, 2020

At 4 am, we went to the waiting area and got on the Ceres bus. I felt good and did not vomit while on the journey. At the Ceres terminal, we got on a tricycle going to the Bacolod Airport. At the entrance gate, we paid the fare. The tricycle was not allowed to enter, so we walked inside the vicinity. It's not too far anyway.

When they are scanning our bag in the machine, the lotion that Auntie MG gave mama we left on the counter because the portion is excess. I think it's 500 ml, no more extra enough money to pay for it.

Finally, we are together inside the airplane. But you know it was an epic because we forgot mama's bag with dried fish, calamansi, and banana. I do not have an extra battery to take selfies for the second time around. I felt pain a little in my ear again because of the air pocket, though bearable. I did not look much at the window because I slept.

We arrived at Ninoy Aquino International Airport in the afternoon, looked for a taxi, and dropped off at SM Megamall. Ride FX, two tricycles, and dropped off at our place. Finally home!


Writers notes:

Have you traveled somewhere? But instead of enjoying, you got sick? Oh my! I feel you. Thanks for stopping by, and thank you for reading! :))

*All Photos mine

Date Published: December 24, 2021

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for Eyys
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It's okay at least I enjoyed seeing the clouds, landscapes too. It's pretty right? Thank you! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my that's quite unfortunate when you get sick instead of enjoying the place. I do like sitting by the window too whenever I travel. I like seeing the landscapes go by like movie scenes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago