Old Sayings - Don't read it!

17 37
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Where will I start? Hmmm After reading the article of @Just1dood about age-old sayings I disagree with!, I feel like I want to play with what he wrote about the English proverbs. Not that I agree or disagree with it but I just want to play with it. So there is the hint I just want to play with it so don't take it seriously ok? That is why I write don't read it in the title.

Though I admit, I agree with him when it comes to English language being fun and at the same time hard to learn especially if its not your mother tongue. But as they say there is no such thing as hard to learn if you really want to learn it, and remember practice makes it perfect. So let's keep on practicing and maybe someday we can nail it down.

Let's start to tackle now the proverbs that he disagree with.

1. Necessity is the mother of inventions

This proverb has some truth in it but it doesn't mean I agree with it. I think the reason why they said necessity is the mother of inventions is because it all started with the need of people why those inventors experiment and invent something. The inventors thought that the people need those things that's why they invent it but I also think it is their curiosity that made them invent something. They just got curious with the outcome of what they are doing. So, I think its not necessity but curiosity is the mother of inventions.

2. All Roads Lead to Rome

Nope this is not true. If all roads lead to Rome then why I haven't been there yet. Why a lot of people haven't been there yet. And why there are no signages on the road that says going to Rome? See so this is not true. What do you think? Have you been to Rome? Is that road that you take really leads to Rome?

3. When in Rome, do as the Romans do

I think I agree with this one. Well definitely not everything but doing what they are doing just to blend in won't hurt. But since I haven't been to Rome yet and only been to Australia and Indonesia, I think I can do what Aussie and Indonesians do, see, it won't hurt if your going to do what the locals do but not to the extent that you really have to follow them. I think doing what you feel like doing is still important than thinking of blending with those people. So, let me rephrase it to When in Rome, do what you want to do.

4. Those who live in glass houses should not throw stones

Yep, I believe that this one is borderline silly. Why would you throw stones if you live in a glass house? But is there anyone out there who is living in a glass house? Seriously? Glass house? I don't want to live in a glass house even if they will give it to me for free, I don't want to see lightning crushing the sky in the middle of the night because I'm afraid of lightning. Anyway, If you are living in glass house just don't throw stones unless you want that house of yours to crumble. LOL

5. Too many cooks spoil the broth

Know why they spoil the broth? Because all of them have different taste and all of them have different style in their cooking. So having many cooks is not advisable unless they have their own specialty. But why would you allow too many cooks cook just one broth? And why would you allow them to spoil it?

6. Marriage is a lottery

If marriage is a lottery now I understand why I am still single, because I don't buy lottery tickets. LOL. Do you think it is not too late for me to buy lottery tickets? Or is its too late for me to get married, well whatever it is I still wish to get married and I still wish to win a lottery even if I'm not buying tickets. Think I have to start buying lottery tickets if I still want to get married. what do you think? Any tip there on which number should I bet on?

7. No News is Good News

No news is good news but still you will not feel comfortable not hearing anything. And you still can't assume that not receiving any news is good news already. What if they only forgot to tell you about it? And not assuming anything is better than thinking that everything is alright. Remember expectation leads to disappointment. So if you want to know the news, go and ask them directly and don't wait there might have some communication problem that's why you are not hearing the news.

8. There is no smoke without fire

If there is smoke there's fire period. And if there's smoke with the smell of pork definitely there is someone grilling pork on it. And if you can smell burning wood with lots of smoke you definitely have to call the fire station. That's what I can say in this LOL and because I hate fire and therefore I hate smoke too. I had trauma with fire when I was young and up to now there's still a part in me that is panicking whenever I here siren from the firetruck. So no smoke is better be means there is no fire.

9. A heavy purse makes a light heart

Hmmm why would your heart feel light if you are carrying a heavy purse? I think carrying a heavy purse means there's a lot of coins in there, it's not easy to count coins and not all coins have value. And what if the purse is fill with these stuffs do you think it will make your heart light?

I think what will make your heart light is seeing your online wallet with lots of digits. I prefer that one over a heavy purse.

10. Dead man tell no tales

Dead man tell no tales, I think this one is not appropriate nowadays. Because now dead man tells a lot of tales when it is submitted for autopsy. And people nowadays are wise because they leave traces and tips (not Rusty tip of course) about what happened to them.

11. Don't put all your eggs in one basket

I think you can use at least 2 baskets, for me that is still reasonable. Even if the basket is expensive I'm sure you can still afford it just to be sure that your eggs are safe. And having more baskets for me is not advisable. I easily forget things especially if I hide it.

12. Don't put your cart before the horse

Is there anyone out there who is putting the cart before the horse? Or even putting the cart before his car? Seriously?

13. The early bird catches the worm

The early bird catches the worm if the worm is early too. But if the worm is late the bird will not catch anything. LOL But I also prefer to be the early bird why? So I can finish early. Or if I'm going to the market, you can buy the fresher one so yes, I agree with this. Just don't focus on the worm and your being early will be worth it.

14. If at first you don't succeed, try, try, try again

I only give two chances, so it means I only try something twice if I don't succeed I find other ways to do it. And if I still don't succeed the hell with it. I'll stop and will never aim it again. There is also this saying that "if its not meant to be, it's not meant to be!" So why keep on trying it only means that's its not for you.

So, what do you think? Did I make sense with what I wrote here or I just did play with it ? I think what I did is the latter. Sorry guys but I did give you a warning not to read it though. This is what happens when you're laptop suddenly doesn't want to cooperate with you and you need to do the article on your phone. Sorry again guys I what I wrote today is nonsense.

Lead image source

Image 1

Image 2

Image 3

Thanks for reading and don't forget to hit that like and subscribe button. You can also leave a comment if you have any questions or suggestions.

9
$ 10.77
$ 10.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Just1dood
$ 0.05 from @Yen
+ 5
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

Ang dami naman idioms madam. Pro sa last ako. .. If hndi mag succeed sa una, eh di try ulit.. Lage naman ay second chance.. Just try and try. Kitam si Pia, ilang beses nagtry sa Miss U Phil.. Ayun nanalo pa sa Miss Universe 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha maikli pasensya ko eh kaya hanggang 3rd try lang ako pag nde pa din abay tama na 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Out of curiousity, I also read Just1dood's article. Both of you are hilarious. Although I might really comment on No news is good news. When I learned that I was pregnant, that was the best news ever. That old saying is not future proof hahaha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha yep actually most of the sayings are not future proof 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, it doesnt apply in this generation anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep d nag isip ng advance yung mga sumulat nyan 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing stood out. It's your determination and persistence. Though your laptop gave up it's ghost, you were determined to put out an article, even if it meant typing on your phone. That's a whole new level of commitment to your goals. Kudos and hats off to you!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Looks like I'll be using my phone for the next few days.... 😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can do it. Would be a good experience to write an article about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol...natawa ako sa glass house ,, alangan naman pag binato mo nang bato glass house wala ka nang bubong na uuwian for sure,hahahah the early bird catches the worm if the worm is early too...i mean seriously,,,hahahaha...this is pretty crazy hahahah

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha imagine mo naman early nga yung bird late naman yung worm so paano sya mahuhuli 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lols. My head is stuck with number one. I was thinking laziness also may have brought about inventions hahahaha...

Cheers to number 6! Kampay Yes to spreading eggs, too

As for #14.... Hmm di ko matandaan if meron na akong tinry ng tinry ng tinry.. alam ko madami na akong hindi man lang sinubukan kahit once. Fear of failure is real

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ahahaha yep cheers to number 6!

Sa 14? Madali ako magsawa kung ayaw d wag 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung iba dito narinig ko na , Yung iba Naman Hindi pa. Tapos Parang Hindi ko feel Yung meaning Kasi English hahaha. Di tulad kapag tagalog

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

hahahaa oo iba ang dating pag english di ba? kaya nga siguro nilaro ko lang din LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang walang dating e haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hahaha ganun nga lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago