Camiguin Island

28 50
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

April 4, 2022

Hello friends!

Sorry been so busy last week that I haven't had a chance to visit here, no read no writing as I've comforting a friend from a loss. How are you guys? Hope you are all doing great. I know some of us are not that fond of Monday but we all have to get through with it. Anyway, let me share with you my travel to Camiguin that happened way way back.


Camiguin Island is one of my favorite places here in my country. The first time I've been there is just to accompany my mom on her trip with her friends. Since then, I've fallen in love with this beautiful island born of fire and been there a few times already.

It is called "Island Born of fire" due to the remnants of the volcanic eruptions and land movement that created this island which is full of natural wonders. It has seven volcanoes including Mount Hibok-Hibok, an active one with last recorded eruption in 1953, several volcanic domes, several waterfalls, hot and cold spring waters, a green luscious jungle that you can explore, and white sand beaches that you will definitely love. And the best thing is that there aren't too many tourists that will give you enough time to enjoy the island all by yourselves.

Let me tour you to the island virtually.

Sunken Cemetery

One of the attractions off the shores of Camiguin Island is its legendary sunken cemetery. A local cemetery slipped into the sea after a 19th-century earthquake. But now it is a popular diving and snorkel site which I have experienced. At first, I'm having second thoughts about it but when my friends said that they are game for it we all go. There are so many giant clams that you will see under the water but I didn't snorkel where the cemetery part is. I find it too spooky to look down knowing that there is a cemetery under the water.

Stations of the cross and the walkway to the old volcano

If you are a devout Christian who wants to complete the 14 stations of the cross while trekking up the mountain that leads to the peak of Mt. Vulcan Daan then this walkway going up is for you. Did I climb it up? Nope, the oldies that I'm with didn't want to climb it up so what can I do? hahaha, reasons. But we did climb for about 20 or 30 minutes but since most of my mom friends are already seniors they decided not continue with the climb and just go to the next stop. The guide says that it was approximately 1-hour trek up to the top of the hill where the last station could be found.

The Old Guiob Church Ruins (Old Catarman)

Located in Barangay Bonbon, 16 kilometers from the center of Catarman. The Old Guiob Church Ruins was one of the structures that remained standing after the disastrous eruption. The ruins of adobe walls, belfry, and convent are what are left as beautiful physical reminders of the devastating 1871 earthquake which wiped out the town of Catarman which was established during the Spanish settlement. You can imagine how beautiful it is just by looking at the area with the remaining structures.

It is also here that you will find a century-old tree that is so huge. An enormous, towering tree that survived the tremors and shaking of the 18th-century eruption. I have seen a century-old Balete tree in Baler but this one is different. It is so wide and tall as if it is so proud to be still standing despite the tragic eruptions that it experienced. If you will visit it you will see that it is standing victoriously on a cliff where you can also see a majestic view of the sea.


Katibawasan Falls

This falls is too long that I had a hard time taking a whole shot of it. The water is too cold that you cannot stay longer in the water unless its summer time that the sun is shining so bright. You'll find Katibawasan Falls five kilomerters southeast of Mambajao. The waterfalls measures about 250 feet high with water that cascade to a rock pool surrounded by wild ferns, trees and boulders.

The surrounding area where you'll find the falls is also good for a picnic while relaxing and listening to the soft splash sounds of water from the falls.


White Island

A crescent shape, uninhabited white sandbar with Mt. Hibok-Hibok and Old Volcan in the backdraft is what I like the most in Camiguin. You can rent a banca from anywhere in Yumbing, Mambajao area and in just 10 minutes you are already there. They said that his famed white island is overrated but for me it is so beautiful that I'll never get tired of visiting it. A crescent shape sandbar, white powdery sand that is surrounded by clear turquoise water is just perfect for an early morning sun.

They are also selling sea urchins that you can eat raw while on the island and mind you they are sweet when they are fresh.

And that is one of their delicacy aside from pastel. That one is called Kiping. It is made of ground cassava and then cooked it like a crepe. It may look boring but it taste so good and it is so big that one serving will be enough. And yes a good one with coffee too.

Camiguin is also the home of the sweetest Lansones that you can find here in the Philippines and they have a festival every month of October to give thanks for abundance harvest.

There are still so many places that I haven't include here so maybe I still have to make another article for it but all the places that I include here are my favorite to visit on that island. And if you want to know how to get there just let me know and I'll gladly share with you on how to get there.


And if you have come this far... Thank you for sharing your time with me.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

You can also find me here

Hive 🌱 Noise 🌱 Twitter 🌱 Appics

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

060/365/2022

14
$ 5.98
$ 5.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
+ 7
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

beautiful island

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhhh, kaya pala tagal mo mia 🥺. How's your friend na?

Anyways, naririnig ko pang tong Camiguin sa iba pero never ko pa naratimf. I mean, may narating naba akong ibang lugar bukod sa Batangas Lipa 🤧. Wala pa pala aguy. Ang ganda jan sana marating ko yan kahit 1 time lang. And who's that pretty woman na may pretty dangling earrings sa tenga 😍😍🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yep.. kaya ako MIA for about a week.. she's recovering but still not ok.

hahaa go out na kasi and go to different places, I'm sure you'll enjoy it :) that pretty woman? I think that is Eylz when she went to Camiguin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww, sana maging okay na sya 🥰🤗.

Hahaha ang problema ko gusto ko mapasyalan lahat kaso tamad iz me hahahaha.

Ehhhh, prettyyyyyy I also love your earrings 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha kailangan natin magamot yang tamaditiz mo hahaha para makapasyal ka na

fave ko yang earrings na yan eh haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful island, I would love to visit that place, but like you I would not visit the cemetery, haha, I do not want to see floating corpses, although they must be part of the reef

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha no more floating corpse as it was century ago when it slipped into the waters.. the cemetery is in front of the cross and we did snorkel at the back of the cross hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang ganda nung white island ...so refreshing at ang sobrang linaw nang tubig...ang creepy siguro nung sa cemetery noh huhhuh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

actually hindi masyado hahaha kung hindi mo iisipin lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This place is really wonderful po. Someday if I have a budget I will visit that place. I am happy to read that you really had fun po.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thanks Expe! yep go and save to visit it... hindi masyado mahal ang gastos dun kasi mura ang pagkain at may mga murang accommodations din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someday po kapag may work na ako isasama ko din po ang family ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to visit this place! It looks so magical! One day I will, hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahahaha list keeps on getting longer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Camiguin Island is true, one of the bests. I am from Mindanao but ironically, never been to Camiguin. Perhaps one day. Glad you had fun and that kiping looked so delicious :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

be sure to visit it one day and I'm sure you will enjoy it, for me.. it was so worth the trip even if i have to take the plane, the bus and the ferry to get there :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po for the recommendation :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a cool journey. The mother nature is looking awesome.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hey Luci! yep.. mother nature is always awesome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa white sand talaga ako napa WOW uy! Grabe ang ganda! 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ay oo tsaka hindi masyado matao so ma eenjoy mo talaga hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very impressed with the beauty of white island, the beach waves are very calm, very good for swimming there

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yep though there are times that wave get bigger and higher too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woaaahh yung station of the cross talaga nakakuha ng attention ko sis. Ganda naman jan. Sarap talaga mag lakwatsa sana maging ok na lahat para makalabas labas na at makapunta na sa mga magagandang lugar.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

pwede na sana ulit makalabas labas kaya lang sobrang taas naman ng gas at ng mga bilihin ngayon... pero ganda talaga sa camiguin hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa pa yang gas. Subrang taas ng presyo. Lahat na nag taas grabe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

meron pang nde ntaas sis.. yung height ko hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaua same same 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago