Brace yourself.

0 13
Avatar for Eyesthewriter
1 year ago

It's past 7pm. Andre cuddles himself as they strolled into the uncompleted building. It's a seven storey in the stomach of a six acres though fenced and interlocked with ornamental plants here and there yet the building looks dumped and unkept judging from the broken glasses, roaming lizards and littered bottles, satchets and licking roofs.

Before they came here, Mussonda had told Andre that they were going to visit an old friend who just came back from Europe but immediately they entered the compound, Andre had felt nothing but heavy on his feet while his heart beat pounds causing his amygdala to rise in fear.

"What exactly are we doing here? Andre squeaks though hiding his fears from Mussonda's gaze. "Are you scared? Mussonda inquires, "Don't worry your big head because you're safe with me" he adds as they use the stairs.

Mussonda actually knows where exactly they're headed and it seems like today isn't his first time here. "This is where I get the money we spend everyday" Mussonda smirks as they approach a room with indistinct chatter.

When they walked in, Andre had no option but to put away any atom of fear and unease though his heartbeat pounded like he was about to be sentenced to death. "Here comes the man" the young man on red Barret wailed. Beside him are two other men with a blonde girl who seems to be lost in her thoughts.

The room is scattered with broken bottles of codeine, ISP and burnt sticks of cigarettes. "Who's this young lad? The other man on yellow T-shirt bellows. He's smoking something which he wrapped in a brown rizzla and his voice heightened Andre's uneasiness because it sounded like thunder though cracked in a strange accent.

Mussonda knew Andre wasn't comfortable but cared less except for the fact that he has enough to drink and smoke. Andre didn't want to feel left out so he accepted a pack of cigarette from the short and quiet man who barely spoke but busy smoking and nodding his head in alignment with the music blaring from his headset.

The next minute Andre tilted his face to the girl, he caught her stealing glances at him. Her eyes are pale and faded revealing a sickening light and the way she held herself together made it obvious that she was under the influence of something dangerous and addictive.

He noticed the way that quiet man puffed his cigarette then cocked his head to face Mussonda who was already snorting a white substance wrapped in a newspaper. "Now we're all here, I think it's high time we talk business" The light skinned man with a red Barret murmured. Andre noticed he's in charge, maybe that's why they call him 'Presido'.

Mussonda's gaze widened, his attitude somehow became dull like he was dizzy yet I knew he's under the influence of that whitish substance he was snorting. "We hit tonight" the gang leader groans then turns to face me. "Newbie! He smirks making the entire room burst into laughter. "Do you know how to use a gun? I didn't know what to say nor do although I was mad at Mussonda for not telling me about this.

Yet I didn't want to lose my cool and appear like the novice here so I remarked that I was ready and good to go knowing that kicking against them now am here might cause some fuss.

Believe me, I was under the influence of peer pressure and didn't know when I had finished a pack of cigarette. "Try this" the quiet man groan, passing me a wrap of sativa. Maybe he knew I didn't know how to roll it and I liked him for that. "My name's Andre" I replied when the team leader asked.

The other boys barely noticed me as they kept on smoking, snorting and slurping some codeine they had mixed with fanta. But wait a second, I only knew the substance was codeine because I read the label on the bottle and somewhere within me, I could feel the urge to try it.

We spent almost three hours there in silence waiting for darkness to cloud the Earth until the quiet man whispered to me, "You know you still have a choice" my mouth went sour when he continued, "This is what we were born to do but how about you, were you born to be a killer?

I could see disappointment and fear in his eyes. His lips had darkened from excess smoking while the tattoo on his bicep read, "Who cares". I inhaled the first puff from the burning sativa, its embers poured on my shirts as I wiped it off then whines, "I was born to do everything and most importantly, take risks". He let a baffled chuckle then resumed nodding his head to his music.

I took that moment of silence to stare around me then it hit me, "This might be my last night on Earth or wake tomorrow as a millionaire". I knew how much the money could transform my life including that of my starving family yet my conscience stayed awake, making me understand that this wasn't what I was born to do so I sluggishly found my feet, pretended like I had a call then strolled towards the hallway.

I knew jilting could put Mussonda at risk yet who cares since he already put my life at risk without deeming it fit to enlighten me. Story short, I ran for my life. I ran out of that compound knowing danger was behind me and since that day, I warned Mussonda in a text message never to come close to me.

For now, I and my family may starve but it's better than starving them with my presence for eternity. I just couldn't comprehend how my mom will feel when the news gets to her that her only son had become an armed robber and a murderer.

This is my story, a story I've shared to no one but my read.cash family. Thanks

This isn't fiction.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Eyesthewriter
1 year ago

Comments