Slowly Growing As a Content Writer (Freelancing Journey)

10 80
Avatar for Eybyoung
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Life, Blog, Blog, Writing, ...

It's been a year that I've ventured most of my time in Freelancing industry as a Content Writer. For the past months I've been sharing how happy I was when I got shortlisted in some of my applications, got interviews and so on. It wasn't an easy journey especially for a hands on mom busy juggling here and there. But I keep going no matter how many rejections and failure I've encountered.

First Traumatic Client

It was August 2022 when I got my first client in Upwork. But it was a traumatic experience as the client accused me for copy pasting. He even said, I don't know how to write and my output is terrible. He demanded for a refund for the $55, I got sleepless nights thinking what should I do since it's my first time. Good thing I joined some Freelancing groups in Facebook and ask for advise. There's a concerned citizen who taught me to look at the edit history. Then I found out, one of my written article was edited. He copy paste some from the source and replace what I wrote.

I've recorded it as my evidence and I sent it to Upwork customer service. The CS agent advise me not to refund since the client did not request for the refund. I also sent the evidence to the client and he just said “can you stop.” After that he never messaged me anymore until now. I can't forget the experience because it brought me trauma, confusion and fears. I doubted my capability because of the incident. Only to find out, the client is just a bully type and threatens newbies to give negative feedback just to get free works. I've written 10 articles for the amount of $55 just to get an experience, yet it was traumatic.

Despite the experience, I never stopped. I was eager to pursue this journey as I can feel, it's where I belong.

Slowly Progressing As Content Writer

Just last September I I've got a Top Rated badge with 100% Job Score. After that I've received more invites from clients. Before that, I already have part time client in Upwork that assigns me work per milestones and this November I'll be 1 year writing for him. It is one of the reasons why I got this top rated badge as I have 50% long term client. Actually I only earn 5-7K Php per month, but it's already a huge help to me financially and my Upwork account standing.

Last September I got two wins 1 from Upwork and the other are from my other part time client. It's an $8 per hour with 40hrs limit per week but I can't commit 8hrs a day since I also have other client that I worked on during afternoon till evening. It was the one from my part time client who I reached out if I can be a writer to his other website which is gaming niche “Starfield.” It's a newly game developed by Bethesda, and my client never hesitate giving me a role that pays £300 per month, around 20,000PhP per month.

Compared to my Upwork it is lesser but I don't want to let this go as I've been working with this client for 9 months. I'm still growing my network so I accept client as much as possible without focusing on the rate since Freelancing is not stable.

I got overjoyed seeing my Upwork grows, this is what I've earned in just 3 weeks. From $81-135 monthly for almost a year, I am now earning 6x folds. Upwork has 10% fee deduction so, the total amount within 3 weeks of working is around $690.. which is very huge already. If I can work 8hrs for this client I'll earn roughly $1100 per month, however I still have other client to attend to so I only work 5hrs a day. It's already a win-win since, my workload will also depends on what the client assigned to me. I'm so happy and thankful all my hard works are slowly paying off.

Another thing that I'm so thankful for is the client is easy to work with. He doesn't micromanage, just publish what I wrote as long as there's no problem with the content. Then pays me every Friday without any questions at all.

You might wonder, why don't you prioritize this client than the others? I'm still growing my network, so I have different opinions than relying in one client. In freelancing, there's no assurance that a job will last ..I have to look at the other side than just the earnings. Plus the other client of mine didn't even interview me, just gave me a role.. it's no brainer application on my part.

I just want to share this not to brag but to inspire everyone who are starting out, whatever they are trying to pursue in life to never give up. Despite of many rejections and failures, just take a rest but never stop. Because everything will paid off later on, believe me!

Before I was hired by these clients I felt hopeless, I even message MJ that I'm hopeless that I can find other client. But I still keep going, submit proposal when there are invites. Actually, I don't apply on Upwork, I just wait for invites LOL. Since applying there cost connects so much!

But, see ..the less you expect on something, that's where miracles happen!

8
$ 0.26
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.02 from @Unity
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Life, Blog, Blog, Writing, ...

Comments

I would love to try this!! Ok lang ba if I'd message from time to time para magpaturo? planning to do this next year 🥹🥹

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Happy for you Eyb. Sana all talaga huhu

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
6 months ago

Would you like to take me as a partner? I can help you to write some more content. If you want i'll do you extra 3 hours

$ 0.00
6 months ago

This is hourly basis, and I can't let you log in using my account.. while the other one, it's harder to outsource as the flow of writing changes from time to time since I was assigned in database with different infos etc..

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Okay, I got it

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Wow, congrats sa Upwork milestones mo. <3

$ 0.00
6 months ago

You are gifted, expect a handful of clients with mouth watering prices. You have done your part. Continue to inspire others dear Eybyoung.

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Congrats on your growth as a freelancer on Upwork (UW). Yours is a positive story at UW.

But, during the past year, I have heard plenty of scams, i.e., fake/dummy clients, and UW takes no action against these fake/dummy job posting accounts!

As a freelance IT developer and technical writer, I got only four jobs at UW; two were decent-paid ($700 and $316), and a new one was a video creator ($30 per 5-8 minute video). And these three jobs were invited and came via my LinkedIn connections.

Try building rapport with your clients directly and connect with them outside UW.

In the US, UW stock price is going down.

$ 0.00
6 months ago

The scam problems are still there, freelancers should be vigilant before applying to any job post especially those non verified payments.

This client are pro Upwork, he doesn't communicate outside the platform.. he didn't even interview me, just give me offer after seeing my authorship in my part time client.. so bringing this outside may cause permanent ban to UW if detected. This is also the reason why I don't let go of my client outside UW even if it pays lesser as I want to grow my network and experience.

Thank you for sharing your experience, actually LinkedIn is a good platform for freelancers as well. I'll work on my account there soon, I mean optimize it.

$ 0.00
6 months ago