Grow a Thicker Skin

67 74
Avatar for Eybyoung
3 years ago

People who ball up in fetal position and give up are usually the happiest and successful one. That's the key attitude they have been using to overcome every obstacle they are facing.

At some point in our lives, it will going to kick our ass, someone crushes our heart, a hell kind of situation, or some minor problems that will manage to shatter our ego, that will happen. All of it is uncontrollable. But what we can control is how we react and process to come back from that hideous moment. We have some options, that is to let all of it rip us apart or build our resilience to fuel up on our next steps.

How to stay strong when you are?...

Getting criticized

So maybe after you graduate, many people are expecting you to have a bountiful career or even your family members, and then when you started from scratches they will criticize you for having a job that doesn't suit your degree. Always remember that it is normal to start from scratch to build a strong foundation for your career you must start at the bottom, accumulating experience is one of the best that can boost your career. Your family might criticize you maybe because they just want the best for you, don't take it negatively. Grow a deep understanding to accept criticism, it is part of the society if you let it tear you apart you won't succeed at all in whatever you are trying to achieve. Always remember people will give critics because they have seen something on you that catches their interests, you are an interesting subject otherwise they won't bother about you at all. On my part whenever I get criticism, I don't let it sink into my brain instead I will do my best to prove their critics wrong.

Being denied

This feeling of being denied is common when we are applying for a job. Being denied after so many applications will make us frustrated. It will disappoint us but always remember a little rejection won't kill you, many aspiring applicants are why you are rejected because there might be something better that awaits you. “The more we survive rejection, the more fearless we become,” says Deborah H. Gruenfeld, Ph.D., co-director of the Executive Program for Women Leaders at Stanford Graduate School of Business. Don't be afraid of rejection, it will make us fearless in the long run the more we are immune to rejections then nothing can hold us in fear. I've been through this feeling when I was looking for a job before, I had countless resume printed and wasted for so many applications but I never give up until I was hired. Finding a job for the first-timer is not easy, you will have to eat so many rejections before you get the job you desire. But grow your skin thicker because rejection is always there what matters most is how you react to it. This does not only apply in job hunting but in all aspects that we might face rejections, whether by our loved ones or certain situations.

Dealing with haters

Nobody enjoys being disliked. But as they say, haters gonna hate. People always have something to say and something to hate about you. But never allow their opinions to affect you, you don't have to seek approval from other people as long as you are not harming anyone, you should go on your way. “Show someone that she's getting under your skin and you add fuel to her fire--you just make it harder for yourself,” says psychiatrist Catherine Birndorf, M.D., self's contributing mental health expert. Never let them get a hold of you. “But the moment you decide and show you don't care, you take away her power.Not just that, you could come off as way more likable”. -Amanda Woerner


In my existence I always have to deal with so much hate from the people who don't have any contributions in my life, I was devastated before but when I learned not to care, all those hates and haters do not affect me much anymore. Although sometimes I get hurt, if ever I have a heavy heart I just let it out through crying. Crying has been my therapy in every pain and suffering I am dealing with, but after that, I picked up myself. I have to grow a thicker skin to endure whatever situations I have right now.

P.S This article was inspired by my struggles recently, I posted a short post about it and receive many consoling words from all my virtual friends here. Read Cash is not just a typical blogging site for me, now it becomes a village where I can find virtual friends and receive comfort when I needed. Thank you so much! The support and comfort you gave to me help me a lot although it doesn't change my situation it helps me let out my heavy feelings. Thank you for all your care, you all made me feel I was never alone ❤❤❤

@Tired_momma @Fexonice1 @Telesfor @Ozzyy @Jabs @Salma24 @Yen @Jane @Valryan14 @bheng620 @Xzeon @Nadim20 @Nii-Chan @Mark012207 @esciics @eommazel @lxmaeel8 @Teji @Hanzell @BCH.Serg @Ruffa @PASTOR001

All images from Unsplash.com

25
$ 7.42
$ 7.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @esciisc
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 5
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
3 years ago

Comments

Very nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If i were you and it was actually constructive criticism then I'd gladly accept but if it was baseless and don't make sense then i would never even bother with those side comments or whatever

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, but recently I am struggling with hate, not a criticism 😅 I don't mind anymore, starting to build walls again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe i don't know you out of here but why would people hate you? :"" you've been good here at least but maybe it's different outside

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What I showed here is the real me, and it's also the same on the outside. Some people hate me because I have guts and I speak frankly, I also don't mingle so much especially if people talk about other people, it's not my thing. Whenever I don't like people, I don't talk to them and maybe because of that, they hated me because I never bow to anyone even if I am not on my territory. They don't like my attitude 😅😆 you know people will hate the frank and love the fake ones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh yes, i can relate to that. Blunt honesty is a pretty hated trait, specially with women 😂😂😂😂 and specially if you have that air of pride around you yet if it's a man who has that trait, it's normal. Orz the haters should stop minding other people's businesses, not like they can do anything about personality just because they might lack one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, exactly you know people are complicated so we should be thicker not to mind them to avoid stressing ourselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But i hope you meant thicker for the best, might be thick as in fat 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, fat is not my style too 😅😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good thing I disn't experience getting criticize buy anyone. No one is pressuring me to get a job. And haters, they really exist even if just what you said "they dont have any contribution to our life," they have a say of everything you do. I hope you are okay now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I am feeling better now 😊 Thank you for your comments and for dropping by 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Glad to know that. Having a virtual friend is great, tou can talk to tjem anytime if you have problems.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, having virtual friends are really good, welcome to the platform I see you are new here.. I hope you do well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope to find my virtual friend here too. Oh, thank You so much, I just register here, just an hour ago i think.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are one of the strongest personalities I know here on the platform but that doesn't exclude you from being hurt because we all have feelings, it's just that you have built a stronger foundation than others.

Sometimes, people mistake your strong personality as if you're no longer vulnerable, then take advantage of you. That's how abusive people are and that's reality. 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Yeah, not because I am strong doesn't mean I don't have any weakness. We all have our weakest point, what matters most is how we get up after being crushed, life must go on we have to grow a thicker skin to survive this cruel world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. There's no one to help you out but yourself. ❤ balik ta sa toothpaste bi 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha nadaot sa toothpaste 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lingaw bitaw kau iya article oy 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha dugay naku kabalo anang toothpaste, katawa lang ko naay nagpost about ato 😂 foreign pa gyud. Unya wla pa nag online human publish sa iya article 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Matingala gyud to sya inig balik niya online. Bibo kaau ang comment section. Gibaha og mga baye 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha tingala sya dghan na kaayo comments lingaw kaayo, kaso di to kasabot sa mga tagalog hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaayo gyud. Karon pa nako nabasa ang replies ninyo ni ruffa didto. Kalingaw 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha gani sipat kaayo 😂😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you feel better now... I laughed every time I hear the word thick-skinned but it makes sense. To survive in this cruel world we need to be thick-skinned. Matira ang matibay 'ika nga.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yes, matira ang matibay talaga haha thicker skin is needed. Yeah I felt better now thank you..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad to hear that but i'm curious though.. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Girl power.. That's the spirit of yours that I like the most.. So i guess i need to follow your steps to have thicker skin 🤣 and i will learn how to ignore negative things from now on.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, ignore the toxic people and toxic opinions.. I am always like this after crying I come out stronger and bolder that is why I am never ashamed when I cried when I am so frustrated. I do crying because it will shut the devil in me, if I don't cry I lose my temper and let that devil out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To be honest, I am just confident at words but I am not like this in person.. I don't even want to talk as much as possible.. That is why I prefer communicating with virtual friends than talking in person.... Because I can only show the other side of me through virtual communication... Others may not like it. Am just being real. It is better to express your thoughts and feelings than to let it consume your mind..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I don't talk so much in person too but I speak frankly. I don't like talking too much especially if the topic is all about other people, it's not really my style. Same here, because of that I received so much hate because you know people hate frank while they love the fake ones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly... I only have few friends in real life coz i really don't like the fake ones....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're a fighter! You just have to cry and let it go! Let it go, let it, can't hold it back anymore! 😂 Ayan bhe kinantahan kita huh. Wala yan sa tono. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, thanks bhe. Thanks for the tips too 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aaaaw. Inspired by ypur recent struggles but why do I feel like it was written for me? 🤧🤧 I could totally relate to what is mentioned here. What you said about criticism is 100% accurate, I don't know why people would expect newly grads to be successful like the others who are way ahead of them. That's why I don't want to meet my relatives because everytime I do, the firs thing they would ask me is about my career and then go on blabbering about how successful some people are. It's like I always awe them an explanation why I'm like this and like that. Anyways this isn't about me so I just write an article about it haha.

I really hope that you can totally get through the hard situation you currently face. I know that you're a strong and empowered woman so you can do it. Fighting! 👍💕

P.S. Kakatouch naman, kasama yung name ko 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, relatives are toxic when it comes to career matters because they love to compare. I don't know what benefits they get from doing that 😂 That's good, just avoid toxic people.

I know it will get better soon, I just have to endure right now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They just love meddling with the life of others. I guess that's how relatives are and it won't change. Even in dramas they always portray the 'pakealameras' 😂

Good to know that. I'm rooting for you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome sis. Kayang kaya yan. Always be positive😍😍

$ 0.02
3 years ago

You're welcome Eyb. Kaya mo yan, ikaw pa ba?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Kaya ra bisan unsa pana. Bisaya ray gahi! 💪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

gahig nawong bisaya 😆😆😆

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Nawng oy 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@ Eyb young, you have been an amazing ecorager, so you must receive ecoragement too, every good turn deserve another, thank you for mentioning me, you are bless

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have done well to let it go in full brow, now you can stand tall and look at those low points and tell yourself "AM A WINNER"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes we faced some critical situation. But we need to handle it instead give up. Don’t think about haters, let them think about you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

U r welcome po, just pray n give all your worries to God po n u did calm n advice me po when i'm not feeling good n was down before po so just want u to feel okay n good po like what u did sa akin po before, kya nyo po yan, tiwala n kApit lng po kau sa nsa Itaas po

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Oh, did I comfort you before? hihi nakalimutan ko na. Salamat, yes I know God will never leave my side..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes u did po before n thanking u po for that n u r welcome po, God bless n be strong n positive lng po kau n gwin u pong inspirasyon n lakas ng loob ung daughter u po n opo, God is always there po n salamat po sa upvote :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes po, welcome. Yes my daughter is the reason why I have to keep going.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, that's good to know po, isa lng po sa pagsubok po un n ndi nman po ibibigay sa inyo un kng ndi nyo po kya

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome. Why I subscribed to you was because your articles were always from personal experiences and they were very motivating. You know a lot about being human and accepting all these setbacks and still fighting them to become a great person.

We've all faced these struggles, me especially with haters and rejection. Your article was very informative, and I'm glad you've found friends in this online family, just like me. Stay Strong 💖💪

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes, most of my articles are real-life experiences. I had the urge to write so I can inspire some readers and I am glad it was the reason for you to follow my works 😊

Yes, I will stay strong as the article says to grow a thicker skin. I was very happy too I found all of you, my beloved virtual friends ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with what you have said in this heartfelt article sis. Though as human beings, we can't really deny fact that we are hurt even in just fora little most especially when someone criticize us or belittle us as a person. And it's very crucial not to let them and their opinions to affect us (though only few people can do this), and to see you rising up again, I can say that you're indeed a strong woman. I know and I believe that you can do it, though you said that your situation doesn't change, I know it will, on the right time. I hope soon you'll feel much better and face no worries anymore. And thank you for including me as your virtual friend too. Always remember, we're here for you, always ready and willing to listen. ❤️ If only I can spend longer hours here, I wanted to give more comforts and listen and help in the most every way that I can. I wish you always all the best in life and praying that you'll be okay again. 🙏❤️

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Wow, your reply was so touching 😊 I understand that you are a busy mom too, the comforting words you have sent was enough. Yes, I hope so too that my situation will get better eventually sooner, thank you for the prayers.. God bless you and your family too ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Eybyoung your all article is very informative. Thank you so much for your valuable article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How can you say it is informative?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for mentioned me . You have written too good. Carry on

$ 0.02
3 years ago

You're welcome because you spare time a minute to console me. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you to dear,🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel you, grabe ang hugot. Sometimes its never bad to build walls around people who never appreciates your worth, who keeps pushing you down, etc. in short toxic people. You got to learn this art too. Keep the faith, everything will come to pass and you'll be amaze how you surpass it.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yeah, thank you. This is hugot because I've been having a hard time recently, thanks for your kind and encouraging words. I have to build walls again because toxic people are coming in lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't help notice your short post, this platform really helps us vent out everything boiling inside us. I hope you feel better now. Thanks sa tip :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe it was yesterday evening, yeah this site is better than any social media, we cant get comfort from there but critics only and fake console.. Welcome 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Stay strong dear. 💋

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thank you dear ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago