Reading some works of Rizal

20 50

May 26, 2022. Thursday.

Are you one of those people who loves the subject of History? Do you want to study the past of our country and enjoy as you know the various information of ancient times and are you glad that somehow there is a way for you to recall the important events in our country through the subject of History? Actually when I was in High School I had no interest in the subject of History. Becuase for me there are times when the subject of history is really boring, do you agree with that? Hahahha. Especially when your History teacher is drowsy to teach, the type that you will be really drowsy and will suddenly fall asleep while he/she is discussing. But now I have realized that History is not boring and all you really need is being interested in knowing the past, because then I was thinking why do we go back to the past, that is over and it happened already so why are we still trying to study it over and over again, then from Elementary to High School we have the subject History. But I regret that I didn't listen to my teachers when I was younger. Actually, it's fun and enjoyable to study our History and you will really learn a lot.

Image source: Novels of Rizal

This week in one of my subjects we have a task to read Rizal's novel which is Noli Me Tangere and El Filibusterismo. In High School, I really didn't understand what that story was about because I didn't really listen to the discussion then and I didn't really pay attention to the subject of History. But now I regret that I didn't listen to what was taught before, because I have no idea that even when you are in College it has a History subject and that is my subject now "Life and Works of Rizal". Our professor in that subject of ours only required us to read the synopsis of the Novel and he read it to us, we didn't read it in class because he said that each individual really needs to read it so that they can understand it better. Synopsis means brief summary or the main story or a shortened version of the Novel. And even though it was just a synopsis I understood these two Novels very well. I regret not reading those before because they're really good, I regret because I didn't study the whole story before, I just didn't really listen to it properly then but I am happy that now I read even only the synopsis of that Novels. If I read the whole story, it might take me a few days, so it's okay with me that even though I read the synopsis only, at least I still really understand what this Novel by Rizal is about.

And of course when you read a story then after you read you will learn something. So I will just state a few things I noticed in his Novels. And it is the Social and Political issues portrayed specially in the Noli Me Tangere that are still evident in present Philippine society. Actually I have seen or noticed many issues in Noli Me Tangere that are still happening in our country today but these are just a few that I will share.

1. Corruption

We all know that until now we are still really dealing with the problem of corruption and that cannot be denied. If there was corruption that took place during Rizal's time, it is still not gone as of now. The problem of corruption in our country just continues and it hasn’t been resolved. There are people up to this day that are still greedy for money and use their position to get the wealth that they want.

2. Injustice

If there were characters in Noli Me Tangere back then who did not get justice, that is also still be reflected in today's reality. Many people today are still not getting the justice that should really be theirs. There are still people who unfairly and unequally judge every person. There are still people who have not achieved justice in life because there are still people who are being oppressed nowadays. There are still people who look at the state in life and if you are aligned in the poor range of people there is a chance that you will not get justice just like what happened to the other characters in Noli Me Tangere who, due to their poverty, can do nothing to get the justice that should belong to them.

3. Poverty

This is really one of the problems that will never end in our country. Since then and until now this is the first issue in the country that has not been resolved. Back in Rizal's time, in the story of Noli Me Tangere, this was also a problem or issue, even today, it is still undeniable that people in this country of ours are experiencing poverty. The number of poor people in this country is not even decreasing.

4. Abuse

Many Filipinos are still experiencing abuse today as happened in the story of Noli Me Tangere. There are still people who are abused today, not just women and children’s because anyone in this day and whatever age you are, you can still experience abuse. Back then, Filipino women were abused by the colonizers and children were oppressed by them and that is still happening today in our time. There are still people from other countries who abuse us or there are Filipinos working in other countries who are also abused there.

5. Education

As before in the story Noli Me Tangere, education is really a problem and until now it is one of the unending problems of our country. If then the children could not study because of poverty, now that is still the reason why many children are not given the chance to study even though education is now free. There are still many children who are not able to study today despite the fact that education is free. There are parents who still do not know the importance of education in a person's life so it is fine with them even if their children cannot study.

And those are just some of the issues I noticed in the Novel Noli Me Tangere that until now we are still experiencing and still the problems that our country facing. And of course I also learned a lot from reading Rizal's works. But I can't share that anymore because this one is already long, so the lessons I learned is I'll just keep it in my mind.

And that’s all for today. I thought I'd just share here the novels I read this week, because this topic is also good. Up to here first. Happy Thursday everyone.


Thank you very much for reading, I hope you do not get tired of reading my works. Thank you for your support and trust in me and my articles. Thank you again.

I would like to thank my Sponsors who are so kind and generous. Please visit and read their articles when you have free time. Their articles are also very beautiful and great so you will definitely enjoy reading. And I also want to thank the people who always read, comment and upvote my articles. Thank you very much too. And may you all be blessed for your kindness and goodness.

Sponsors of Expelliarmus30
empty
empty
empty

Thanks for reading this.

Keep Safe and God Bless us always.

Don't Forget to Be Nice and Be Good to Everyone.

Bye.

I made it in Canva.

Lead image source: Works of Rizal

7
$ 5.12
$ 5.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @mommykim
$ 0.02 from @BlueFlipper
Sponsors of Expelliarmus30
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I didn't have any interest in History because it is dry and boring subject for me. Although I have got 73 marks/75 in History when I was in 10th Grade. But sister I can't remember one word that I have read there. In under developed countries, there are same issues like Corruption, education and injustice. This novel is quite interesting because it relates History of many underdeveloped countries.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I didn't have an idea that there is a History subject in college if I know this earlier I will even listen very well to my History teacher before. But yeah I found those novel very interesting too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here our education system gave knowledge of basic subjects till intermediate class in college where I studied about history.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you don't mind, where are you from again?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have you visited Anatolia, Turkey??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah not yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like History and I try to read as much as I can. They say that those who do not know their past cannot direct their future. 1 Corruption: We also have this situation. Unfortunately this is bad 2 Injustice: injustice, which unfortunately exists everywhere. Our court writes on its walls: Justice is the foundation of property. Justice is for everyone. And one day, the person who did injustice will be needed.

  1. Poverty: it cannot be prevented in our country either 4 abuse: this also stems from bance injustice. Education: the beginning of everything is education. Unless the training is corrected, the problems we listed above will not be fixed.
$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sad to hear that those issue is also happening in your country but where country are you from again?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Türkiye

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I see.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ang tagal na nung huling basa ko nang NMT at EF pero superganda talga..ilang characters nalang din alam ko kasi kinalawang na utak ko hahaha...2011 pa last kong rinig about jan kasi sa college hahah

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ako po ngayon lang narefresh utak ko tungkol dyan. Dati po kasi hindi ko talaga pinapakinggan discussion about dyan eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Last ko nabasa yang noli metanggire high skol pa ako,tama nga naman hanggang ngaun marami talagang kurap sa bansa natin walang unity.....kaya mas maiging magsikap para sa sariling ikakaangat natin,,hindi pwede iasa natin lahat sa gobyerno,,

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Opo noong high school din po yung last na narinig ko yang nga yan pero hindi ko po alam na pag aaralan din po pala yan kapag college na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't love history but I am not saying that I don't like it. Upon reading this article, I learned a lot especially the different problems and issues during Rizal's time that are continuously happening until now. I believed corruption is happening from there me to time.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I didn't like History too before but reading those novels make me feel that studying History is significant.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad that you learned something from that subject sis. Nung high school ako, di ko malilimutan ang isang kabanata ng Noli Me Tangere. Pag-uulayaw sa Asotea ang pamagat non.hihi We made an enactment about that chapter eh.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Happy din po ako na ang dami kong natutunan sa pagbabasa po ng mga novels na yan. Memorable nga po yun, pero kami nagganun din po ata pero hindi ko lang po ata matandaan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Education ,poverty ay laging problema ng bansa natin.May nabasa akong post ng isang guro after election na instead mag rally pagsikapang uunlad ang mga sarili natin kasi parang malayo sa chances na tayong lahat ay kayang maingat ng gobyerno.Simulan sa ating mga sarili ng makatulong sa bansa.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Tama huwag po natin iasa ang lahat sa gobyerno simulan po natin ang change sa ating nga sarili. Tsaka sabi nga po ni Rizal yung mga kabataan talaga ang pag asa ng bayan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago