The Secret of making pap (Akamu)

0 4
Avatar for Excelord
2 years ago

Is making Akamu,or Pap still dealing with you? Your village people have sworn that you can never get this Akamu right so they will continue to laugh at you? Don't worry, I've got your back because I have a secret to share with you that will give you a permanent solution on making pap the right way so as to avoid it from becoming watery.

Akamu/pap is simple yet very difficult to prepare. It is a big challenge for a lot of people.

In Nigeria, we usually add evaporated milk to Akamu meals so the main requirement is that the akamu/pap is thick after preparation so that when the milk is added, a perfect consistency will be achieved.

Before I share the secret of making akamu or pap, let me first tell you guys the reason why many people often make bad pap or akamu (I.e watery)

1) It was watery when you mixed it with cool water.

2)you did not wait for the water to boil.

3)You did not pour enough hot water. Lots of people due to fear, often do not add enough hot water. When you start adding hot water, the mix will get watery before it thickens, that's the great science of akamu. So let go of fear and make sure you add enough hot water.

4) Your akamu is not at room temperature when you are trying to make it. You brought the akamu out of the fridge or freezer, mixed immediately and tried to make akamu with it. If the akamu mix is too cold, the hot water, no mater how hot will not be enough to set the akamu. Best practice is bring your akamu out of the fridge the night before and keep it in the kitchen then make in the morning. If you store your akamu in the freezer, bring it out at least 24 hours before you make the akamu. By doing this, the akamu will be at room tenperature at the time you want to make it.

Now let me share my secret with you on how to make pap/Akamu, before I became pro in making pap, I have wasted a lot of money and time and also loss appetite for the pap, anytime I make pap to eat with beans or Akara, I often ended up using Garri to eat it, because I always make watery pap, but just recently I got the secret and now I am enjoying my pap.

1)To make a good pap, you put your pap into a bowl, and mix it with little cold water.

2)Then put water in fire, allow it to boil not hot, to make good pap, the water must be boil, not hot

3) Add the hot water into the boil, allow it to be plenty, then you stir the bowl and mixed everything together.

4) if u discover that it becoming watery, then put ur bowl on the fire, and be turning it, then it will come back to normal, in other for you to prevent your bowl to stain you can put an empty pot on fire, then put water in it, and put your bowl in it, do not cover it, and you start turning, until it becomes tick to you taste. The heat from the fire will make the pap to become tick.

No matter how watery it is, as soon as you follow my last step,definitely it will become tick back. And you can enjoy your pap or Akamu

1
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Excelord
2 years ago

Comments