How I got scam with my ATM Card

1 14
Avatar for Excelord
1 year ago

Greeting everyone. My name is irabor Moses, I normally post tip about security conscious and how fraudster has developed new method on this platform but not often, If you might have gone through my previous post you might have seen how I wrote ways to avoid been scam and others, but just recently I was scammed and all my money in my bank account was wipe out without any traced.

Indeed greed is the main root of been scam. A friend of mine, my neighbors to be precise, inform me about a sport betting site and he want to use my Atm card to do registration and fund his wallet on the website, but I refuse and told him that I am afraid of this online transactions, so I refuse to do it, then I went out when I return in the evening, he told me that the betting paid him.

So he convince me that it was legit, so I had a second taught about it, (greed came in) so I decided to give it a try, so because I was afraid that it might be a scam I decided to has to betting site I decided to use little money to fund my account, but unknowing to me that will be the end of the road for me. My guy had just a #1,000 which is not up to $2, because of my country economy, so nothing happen to his money, I had #30,000 on my account equivalent to $44.

So my guy send me the link, I didn't even bother to do my findings or better still ask him how he come he knows about the website make he already confirm it that it was paying. So I did my registration and I was ask to fund my account and it was done online using my Atm card details but the back and front code of my ATM card was required, so an otp (one time payment) code was sent to my by my bank. Which I filled on the website and I was deducted the money I transfer. So I just relax. 2 days after I did the transaction I didn't even bother checking my account balance because I was having cash with me in my wallet and beside I was thinking if probably they want to scam me, probably they might need my sim or better still my bank will send me an otp. So I put my mind at ease. So after two day which I did the online transactions, a friend of mine ask me to run transfer for him. So I login my bank app lo and behold my balance was #100 less na a dollar, at first I was confusing thinking maybe it network issue, so I log out and login again it was the same thing, then it done on me that the online transactions I carried out with my atm card two days ago might have cause it.

So I quickly rush to my bank the nearest branch to be precise, I laid a complain that my money in my account has been wipe out. So they check the system and the Banker told me that my atm card has been compromised two days ago, so I told him to check if the money can be traced to any account, which he did and the money was showing pending, meaning the money was on traceable, and he said until the money show approved only then can then trace it and he said it will take up to a month before it will show approved or it might still be showing pending. And he told me directly that the money is gone, they is no way about. It might be that those fraudster did not transfer the money to an account or probably use it online to buy something and beside it is very hard for bank to trace money when it involves betting website. Then it was done on me that I fuck up big time. So I had to block my atm card to avoid fraudulent activity on my bank.

How I wish I follow my spirit I wont have even tried the online betting transactions. So when I got home I told my neighbors about the issue so I ask him how he got to know abt the website, so the person message him that directly saying he has a sure betting website and he will give him odd to play and it will be shared 60/40 and I told him that why didn't he tell me like that rather than him convincing me that it pays well and it has paid him.

I just told myself it has happen, no matter what I do I know for sure that the money won't come back and I fuck up big time.

Anyways it not the end of the world. My luck is that the money is mine and not someone money, If not I would have had many explanation to do. I have learn my lesson the hard way, anything online business I redraw myself from it. People often complain that fraudster do collect their money, now I know how it feels.

I was told my the banker I met that pos agent is not exclude that most pos agent are not trustworthy, so guy let me very careful when it come to any transactions be it online and offline and also let learn to always wipe out our bank transactions via phone or email it very risk, likewise keeping you atm card well and also the sim You use in received alert. Any online transactions that will make you use you atm card pin or the number written on the front or make of your ATM pin, please avoid that transactions to avoid story that touches.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Danika
Avatar for Excelord
1 year ago

Comments

Sorry you have to go though that bro. Those scammers are just plain heartless. I hope you recover it all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago