Little Tree for Dinner

18 25
Avatar for EvilWillow
3 years ago
Topics: Food, Experiences

What is your favorite vegetable? For me, it's Broccoli πŸ₯¦:)) They say that hunger makes you appreciate food, and only those deprived of water knows the sweetness of water. I definitely agree to that.

My family is not that well off so we eat limited foods that are within our budget. As a child, I can vaguely remember eating food circling around these handful ingredients - egg, instant noodles (payless bruh), pechay, potato, carrot, ground meet, noodles in different type (pansit canton) and we even eat rice with refreshments (milk, tea, milo, coffee) or plain condiments (salt and soy sauce), and milkfish (sinigang) if we are lucky to have extra budget. Fortunately, our economical status somehow elevated with the diligence of my mother and brother. So now, I can say that we can somehow get by daily.

Then where's the broccoli in my story? Here goes, during childhood, I was often hungry so I am thankful when my friends brought me to their houses after school. We where so famished that we ate anything because as a child, we kinda hate vegetables that time. But after I took a bite of that juicy and crunchy little tree, my perspective broadened :)) Woah, this is not so bad. With that, broccoli holds a special room in my heart. Hunger taught me the value and savory taste of vegetables.

I was the one who cooked dinner awhile ago so I took photos while I'm on it. Home cooking is fun but I don't like cooking daily. It's quite the hassle. Our lovely mother mostly cooked our meals but I occasionally cook for them.

I don't have the particular name for this dish so let's call it

'Little tree ala belly'.

Here are the ingredients that I used.

  • Pork belly

  • Broccoli

  • Onions

  • Oyster Sauce

  • Salt and pepper

  • Cornstarch

  • Chili powder

I started by frying the pork belly using its own fats, I like my meat close to being roasted so I took my time and cooked it in low fire.

Nevermind the worn out pan HAHAHAHA

That's how I like it :)) But I like it a little more browner. Then add some onion. But in my case, I was not able to add one because we run out of stock haha.

Then mix the broccoli, add some water, cover it, then wait for about 5 minutes for it to be cooked. I enjoy my vegetables half cooked so that it's crunchiness will still remain.

I added 2 cups of water

Start by adding condiments, I don't have exact measurements because I just pour the condiments until my instincts tell me to stop :))

I added 2 scoops of soy sauce πŸ˜‰

Poured sachet of oyster sauce.

Our food is nearly cooked so I added salt of pepper to taste.

I am also guilty of being fond of spicy food so I never forget to add chili powder whenever I cook. My siblings oftentimes complain about the spiciness of my cooking but I don't bother with them because they can cook if they want, but they are to lazy to help.

I also add cornstarch to make the sauce thicker but I added it too late. I already put too much water so I didn't dilute it in H2O before adding it to the pot.

Don't forget to taste test and your ready to serve :))

My arrangement is kinda messy but this is home cooking so I didn't bother much ✌️ Call the family, and your ready to eat πŸ’› YuuuuumπŸ˜‹

We asians love rice and it was always a part of our mealπŸ˜‰

Serving size for 8 person. This Broccoli ala belly is our dinner and breakfast or until lunch. Depends on when it can be finished πŸ˜‚

In truth, our family don't eat as one so I ate by myself 😒 Kinda sad but I guess I'm used to it. Sorry for the gloom, that complicated story is for next time.

Writing with full stomach, EvilWillow πŸ₯΄πŸ₯΄

5
$ 0.37
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Crizaah
Avatar for EvilWillow
3 years ago
Topics: Food, Experiences

Comments

Sub done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Look yummy πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True yuuum :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As what to @crizaah said, di talaga sya mahilig sa gulay, not just brocolli. Why do i know that? Coz she is my daughter, Lol!

Anyway, thanks for this, i'll try this sometimes, though i haven't prepared food with brocolli before so this is a great start! ❀❀❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah, hello po titawap πŸ˜†πŸ’›πŸ’›

Opo, try po sometimes hihi. Oyster sauce oo ang nagdadalaπŸ’›

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you open your sponsor block?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hanla Tenchu pooo, wala po akong new notif though?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok na beh,, accept na lng..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wait,, ngayon pa lang,, nagluto kasi.. Heheheh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hihi, thank you po titawaaapπŸ˜πŸ’› ano pong ulam natin char hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this

You're welcome.. Ginisang monggo ulam namin today..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wieee favorite ko rin po yang monggo yuuuum

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di ko talaga magustuhan yung broccoli πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHAHAH gutom Kasi ako lagi kaya dun ko nagugustuhan mga gulay HAHAHAHA. Patatas sure ko gusto mo, french fries pa nga HAHAHAH. (Naalala ko nanaman si sasha)πŸ₯ΊπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oi si sasha kasiπŸ™πŸ™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yung gulay lang siguro na kinakain ko kalabasa HAHAHAHHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wieee, sarap rin non. Pampalinaw daw πŸ˜πŸ’›

$ 0.00
3 years ago

kaya nga, lalo na pag yung kalabasa nahalo sa gata, yumm!

$ 0.00
3 years ago