The advantages of being an athlete

1 46
Avatar for Eurydice
2 years ago
02-23-22 | Eurydice

Hello 23! Today, I and my man celebrate our 4 years and 2 months of being together. I'm just so happy because we reach this far. Anyways, this article is not about us Haha I just really want to express how grateful I am to be with my man.

Enough with that chezzyy thing. I woke up early today because I'm excited to open my read.cash to check if Rusty visited me already. Aside from that, I'm also excited to see the articles of the other writers in this platform. Well, I really like to give comments and to welcome those newbies like me. I'm just grateful to meet other people from different countries.

For today's article, I wanted to share with you guys the advantages of being an athlete.

For the awareness of everyone, I was once an athlete during my elementary and secondary years. I was a softball player. Many can't believed that I was able to overcome the hardships of the training since it was more on agility, flexibility and tolerance. Given that the game softball was played outdoors, during training, I got a lot of bruises scratches and such. Aside from that, I was also exposed under the heat of the sun which made my skin so dark.

The game "softball" is kind of similar to "baseball" the only differences are the game rules and the players. I was influenced to play this sport because I was amazed how my seniors catch and throw the ball. It was mesmerizing to see the ball as the players throw it with force like it was as fast as a lightning.

Source: Google.com

Aside from the enjoyment that I experienced as an athlete since I was able to live with my team mates, I also got a lot of benefits upon joining it. Most especially if we win a specific competition.

MINOR ADVANTAGES

I was able to live with my teammates under one roof

As an athlete, we always consider our teammates as our own family. We got to wake up together, pray and eat together. Take a bath together and sleep together. We are indeed always together (haha). With these, I was able to experience how it feels like to be with other types of people. I learned the essence of sisterhood.

I got a big advantage in my extracurricular activities points during class' ranking.

Even if I'm an athlete, my studies was always been my first priority. Given that we almost practice for a whole day especially if we have a big competition. I still made sure that I still do good in my classes. I remembered how my classmate got angry with me because she can't beat me in the class' ranking. She was surprised because I was still the second honors even if I was bombarded with a lot of things to do as an athlete and a student. Little did she know that I only got higher grades than her because of the points I got in my extracurricular activities. Without the points I got in my ECA, I think I will fall to 3rd to 5th place hahaha.

MAJOR ADVANTAGES

I was able to earn money out of being an athlete

We started competing first to smaller competitions like Quadrangular Meet, Unit meet and DCAA meet. We won in all of that tournaments. The biggest tournaments that we got to experienced were the DAVRAA MEET held in New Bataan and PALARONG PAMBANSA held in Zamboanga Zanorte. We were the Champion in DAVRAA MEET and we were given a lot of Incentives and a money approximately $60. In palarong pambansa, we won as 4th placers. Again, we got a lot of incentives and money approximately $140 because we are 4th out of more than 8 teams competing under the game softball.

I got to travel in different places and tourist spots

I was able to get into places that I never expected to reach. First was in New Bataan, Compostella Valley, Philippines. I can say that the good thing of being an athlete was being able to stroll in different tourist spots of the said places. In New Bataan, we were given the time to unwind in one of the best resort in that place. The bamboo cold spring resort.

Source: Google.com

On the other hand, in Palarong Pambansa, we were given a chance to experience the beauty of Gloria's Fantasy Land. We were given the privilege to enjoy all the rides for free. I can say that it was one of the best memorable moments in my life.

Source: Google.comSource: Google.com

I was able to ride in the Galleon. Sadly, I was not able to scream my heart out because I was with my coaches that time.

Source: Google.com

Experienced one of the largest and tallest rollest coaster ride. Haha the funny thing in this ride was there were a lot of cameras hidden in the trees and all your emotions will be captured and showed in a big screen beside it. That was funny haha.

Source: Google.com

I cannot include all the rides here because it was so many to mention. Unfortunately I was not able to experience the horror house because it was not included in our tickets and we have to pay for $4. I'm not that interested to experience but if it was included in our tickets, I think I don't have any excuses to refuse. HAHA

Source: Google.com

We were also given the privilege to visit the Rizal Shrine where I got to see the old house of the Philippine National Hero, Dr. Jose Rizal. I was able also to see his worn old Barong Tagalog, the original book of Noli Me Tangere and El Felibusterismo. It was indeed a memorable moment.

Source: Google.com

A/N: It was an honor to be one of the athletes who represented the whole school/District and City in an interschool competition, District Competition, Local and National competition. Our victories were not just for ourselves but it is also for the people who are behind our back, supporting and loving us.


Thank you for reading and Take care.

Love,

Lead image was from google.com

6
$ 3.13
$ 3.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Athaliah
$ 0.01 from @MoonTrader
+ 1
Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eurydice
2 years ago

Comments

Tanan nmung nabanggit sakto gyud kaayo ja haha makamiss ang buhay Student athlete❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago