Exposing my College Professors

3 30
Avatar for Eurydice
2 years ago
04-07-22 | Eurydice

Last night, I became so bored in one of our classes which made me decided to cut class. Yes, you read it right. I just finished my turn in answering the oral questions and left in the google meet afterwards. I just don't like the atmosphere as well as the situation that I'm into right now. Supposedly, as a fourth year college student, we should have our Practicum this sem. But our school decided to set aside the practicum and have a review classes for LET exam instead. Can you imagine? A teacher in the making without having a practicum or On the Job Training? What do I supposed to do? We're just like a puppet in our school. We don't have a choice since we are all scholars. We already made a complaint letter but the school didn't took it seriously. What else do I expect?

Aside from that, I also experienced college instructors who are retiree from other schools. I mean, I have no problem with them, in fact, I love them. But I cannot deny that there were also times where I became disappointed with them. We are in the 21st century having a new curriculum. A new curriculum that needs highly competent teachers in all 21st century literacy skills. But how can we acquire those if our teachers themselves didn't even exert their best in dealing with technology. Mind you, I am not belittling my Professors. I do understand the fact that they are Traditional teachers from old curriculum, they also need to adjust but the thing is, is it always us to get the less minimum? I mean, we are a soon to be teacher and we should be handled and trained well. As a matter of fact, my confidence dropped to its lowest point believing that I am not yet a competent future educator. I say this because as I assessed myself, I still have a lot of lessons to review which were not clearly taught by our teachers.

Exposing my college professors

  • I have a college professor in First Year college who prefered to use calculator in calculating our grades. By the way, I think she's 75+ years old. I don't have a problem with calculators. But what I wanted to pursue is that, what if my teacher will mistakenly click the wrong number given that she's already old? It surely will affect our grades. The thing is, every time she shows our grades every term, our grades ranges from 72-85. Like? What? I am confident enough that my grades is way more high than that. I have proofs which were my exam and quiz papers, projects and such. But again, our concerns were still neglected by the school. The grades that I got from her really affected my scholarship.

  • I also have a teacher in First year also who always mock us. She's also a retiree from other school and I think she's between 75-80 years old. Everytime we have a reporting, she will mock us over small things. For example, if her questions were not answered the way she wanted, she will call us "BOBO"/" Idiot". Like? Is that the teacher you wanted us to become? A teacher who will mock her students infront of their classmates?

  • I also have a teacher who just give us so much activities in our google classroom without discussing it. As far as I remembered, he only used google.meet once and that was the first day of classes. After that, he was nowhere to be found and he will just leave something for us to do. I don't really like this kind of set-up. We should not be treated this way.


I'm sorry for these rants early in the morning, I just can't get over it. Again, I am not belittling my professors, I just wanted to emphasized that our school must choose those teachers who can educate us to become a globally competitive learners around the world. Well, learning is an active process naman. I will just do self-learning instead. No choice.


Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty
Thank you dear sponsors!
Check them out!!

©Lead image is mine

3
$ 0.37
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @marg05.-
Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eurydice
2 years ago

Comments

I am in college now and I also have those teachers near me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experience this kind of teachers too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always the old teachers. They are sometimes too entitled and demands respect because they have experienced a lot. But the thing is those experienced they have throughout the years are already obsolete and they should keep up with the fast changing phase of educational technology of they want to impart timely lessons. I also work on the educational sector and older teachers can really be toxic thinking they are always right because they've been through a lot. I hope you'll experience practice teaching though it's really important and one of the most crucial point since you get to experience the field first-hand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago