A Godmother for the first time

0 24
Avatar for Eurydice
2 years ago
03-06-22 | Eurydice

"It takes a village to raise a child" -Anonymous

Aside from grandparents, relatives and teachers, many families also choose godparents. This is someone who is not a family member who assists you in spiritually guiding your child throughout their life. It's usually a person who shares your religious beliefs. This usually entails being present at their baptism as well as other events. This could include attending birthday parties, graduations, and other memorable occasions, as well as being available if the child requires guidance or someone to advocate on their behalf.

To be honest, I have a lot of Godparents. Infact, I have 5 Godfathers and 5 Godmothers. This was the reason why I'm excited to celebrate some important occasions when I was a child because I know that they will give me some gifts and stuffs. One of my godparents which happens to be my uncle and aunt always give me gadgets. From cellphones to laptops and even pocket moneys. My other godparents also do the same but mostly, they give me pocket money instead of stuffs. Aside from these, they also give me some advices when it comes to proper decision making as well as incalculating good moral and right conduct.

This made me inspired to become one. Last Friday, I was informed by my Boyfriend that his brother chose me to become one of the Godmothers of his child. I immediately accepted it without hesitations. I was just happy because my boyfriend's family trusted me that much in helping them in guiding one of their family member.

By the way, my godchild is not a baby anymore. She's already 12 years old. She was baptized first in an Alliance Church but later on her family decided to change her religion to Roman Catholic. This child is really close to me because she became my confidant everytime I went to my boyfriend's house. She always entertain me, give me food, make me feel at home and etc.

Captured by: BF

I can't imagine her calling me "Ninang" haha. My boyfriend's mother once tease me that my Godchild is bigger than me. Well, it doesn't matter to me anymore. It's okay if she will not call me "ninang" because I was used to her calling me "Ate".

After the baptismal ceremony, we went straight to their house to eat our lunch. When we arrived, my boyfriend's family welcomed me with a warm smile and give me some food. I just stayed there for almost 4 hours. All I did was to eat and eat. After 4 hours, my boyfriend and I decided to go home because the sky is kind of cloudy and seems like the heavy rain will pour any minute.

I informed my boyfriend's family that I'll be leaving. After a minute, my boyfriend's mother (soon to be mother in law, char ahah) give me a buko salad for my family. I accepted it with joy because they always do this gesture everytime I went to their house. They will not allow me to leave without bringing something to my family (Bring home). They're so sweet and thoughtful. I waved goodbye to them and to my godchild.


To be chosen as a godmother is truly an honor because this only proves that there are other people who trusted you that much. Morever, this gave me an opportunity to share the good upbringing that my family used in raising me to my godchild.


Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty
Thank you dear sponsors.

©Lead image was from google.com

7
$ 1.01
$ 1.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @MoonTrader
Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eurydice
2 years ago

Comments