I'm Teaching My Child Chess #4

10 45
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Chess, Game, Play, Children, Rook, ...

Welcome to another part of the series where I explain what methods we can apply while teaching our child chess. We've actually come a long way in this series of articles. We did the part of arousing interest in children about the game and introducing the chess board and pieces. Now it's time to teach the child the arrangement of the chess pieces on the board.

Chapter 4: Placing chess pieces on the board

The first piece we will place on the chessboard will be the rook at the far end of the board. In our previous articles, when we were explaining the game of chess to the child, we said that the chessboard is the country with black and white squares in fairy tales. We can again refer to this fairy tale land while teaching the child how to place the stones on the board. We will ask the child to place the rooks on the right and leftmost squares of the board, saying that a rook should be placed on the borders of the country to protect this country. Likewise, we will place our own rooks in their places on the board.

The 2nd piece we will place on the chessboard will be the knight that should stand next to the rook. We will ask the boy to pick up the knights and ask where to place, we can ask him to find out where the knights' favorite place might be. The child will probably say that rooks are the best place for knights. If the child does not give this answer, we can direct him to place the knights close to the rook. So the knights took their place on the chessboard.

Our next stone will be the bishop. When we put the bishop on the chessboard, we can tell the child that the knights may get bored of being alone and need a friend. The child might consider putting an bishop next to the knights. If the child does not prefer bishops, we can convince him by saying that the best friends of the knights in this game are the bishops. We can encourage the child to place the bishops next to the knights.

There is only room for two pieces on the chessboard as there are rooks, knights and bishops respectively. One of these places belongs to the king and the other to the queen. Now it's time to take the king's place on the chessboard. We will ask the child to take the king in his hand and indicate the color of the stone. When the child says the color of the stone, we will give a brief explanation of this by saying that the king does not like his own colour. For example, we can tell the child that the king stood in his own color, but on a day when the sky was covered with dark clouds, the passersby did not greet him because they could not notice him, and the king was very upset at this stop and decided not to stand in his own color anymore.

After placing the king on the correct square, only one piece and one empty square will remain. We can place our last piece on the chessboard by stating that the queen's place is always next to the king.

Yes, placing the chess pieces on the board is almost finished. Only pawns of the same type remain. We can ask the child to take 8 pawns and place them in front of each piece on the board. Thus, our pieces were properly placed in their places on the chessboard.

In order for the child to learn the arrangement of the chess pieces well, they may be asked to rearrange the order of the pieces. At this point we can have a small prize competition with him, for example. We can encourage him by saying that the person who gets the chess pieces right 3 times will win a chocolate bar.

Once the child has fully learned how to place the pieces on the chessboard, the next step is to explain the rules of the game and how the pieces will move on the board. I find it more appropriate to describe this stage in another article so that my article is not too long.

I hope I have provided practical information on placing chess pieces on the board. Thank you for reading.

I greet you all with love...

7
$ 2.88
$ 2.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
$ 0.03 from @Infinity
+ 3
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Chess, Game, Play, Children, Rook, ...

Comments

I know a little about chess, thats why I can relate it to real life situations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really nice and I hope to follow your class even though I know a little about chess already but this would help me know better

Chess is actually so cool and underrated to me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am happy to have gained a new follower in chess. Welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't remember how my father teach me in playing chess, but I can still remember the pressure on me everytime I play it hahha he is so strict

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ancient peoples' teaching methods were harsher

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article as always and perfect game to teach your child, your friend, heck we can even teach our grandparents if they still alive how to play chess, if they never tried it before. Strategical games are always welcomed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I can teach this game to my mom. My mom will probably chase me with a broom if I try to do this :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You made me laugh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Greetings @ErdoV, how interesting to be able to teach from a game and recreation environment, in this way our children learn without tension taking love from the game, have an extraordinary day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, our goal is to teach kids chess in a fun way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago