The Health I Once Despised

2 21
Avatar for EmmaEducates6
3 years ago

My prostate health journey

My name is Kendolf Anid and this is my story. I come from a family where living sedentary lifestyles meant good living. In our quest to feel accepted in the society, my family lived in ways that was proof of a wealthy living. Growing up, I can recount the numerous parties held at home with my family and friends. Parties with the abundance of alcoholic beverages, fries, boxes of pizza and spicy barbecues. As a young man at the time, I thought it was cool having a father who allowed my friends and I smoke during parties. We lived life to the fullest and I regret ever not taking critical care of my health while growing up. My elder brother and I continued the tradition in our marriages and little did we know we were in for surprises.

Three years ago, my father was diagnosed of advanced prostate cancer. This meant that the cancer had spread to other parts of the body including his bones. I didn't mind so much because I knew old age played a major role in the turn out of his condition. However, I became so alarmed when my older brother passed on a year and six months after our father's demise due to advanced prostate cancer. I was terrified. Could it be that prostate cancer was in my family? Could it be that I would soon die with the same condition as my brother and father? I needed answers to my questions so badly.

I looked at my first born son running in the garden with his football and tears filled my eyes. I wanted to see my child grow. I wanted to see my grandchildren. I certainly wasn't ready to die from prostate cancer. With that being said, I decided to visit my doctor the following day for a routine check of my prostate. Series of tests were rendered and I learnt about my high risk of developing prostate cancer. I remember cold chills broke down my spine after reading my doctors lips, "Ken, you are at high risk of developing prostate cancer. The same condition that killed your father and brother. You've got to be careful."

At that point, I was willing to let go of all my possessions for the sake of my health. I was willing to go all out to save my prostate from cancer. "I'm glad you're ready to make some adjustments to your health. These ways can help you reduce your risk of prostate cancer. Remember that based on your family history of prostate cancer and the sedentary lifestyle you've lived for years, you stand a high chance of dying from prostate cancer.", The doctor added. I felt a pinch of hope at last. There was a way to reduce my risk and I was willing to follow through and through. Looking back, I'm happy I made those commitments towards my health. It's been three years since my decision to stay healthy. I have a healthy weight and I no longer live a sedentary lifestyle. What healthy ways did the doctor recommend? Stay tuned!

#This is purely fiction but with the intention of creating awareness of prostate cancer. Kindly stay tuned for healthy ways of protecting your prostate from cancer.

With love,

AbbieEducates 🥰❤

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for EmmaEducates6
3 years ago

Comments

Good start, but "these ways can help you reduce your risk of prostate cancer...." and they are?...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. They will come in my next article

$ 0.00
3 years ago