Writing

0 25

Writing

For years, I have been writing for the sake of the fun of it. Reading the comments of my readers and seeing the number of reads increase day by day somehow became a stress reliever for me. Interacting with them was another great experience since readers have a lot to share as well.

When I came to know about paid writing platforms, I thought maybe I should give it a try to make a little bit of change in my boring life. Well, it did make a huge change that I did not even expect to happen.

I do love the perks of it since I was able to practice my socializing skills and improve on my writing skills. But maybe I have gone a bit too far that I see writing today as more of a responsibility rather than a stress reliever. It now comes to a point that it became the source of my stress lately because I have to write 2,500 words daily to keep up with the daily updates. I know I have the choice of not doing it every day but it would be a waste to just ditch the chance I have in earning money. Besides, I really need it to buy a new tablet I can use for school purposes since the laptop I currently have has a damaged charger.

The only thing that keeps me going to finish my current novel is the thought of finishing it this month, and then, I will be free. Though, I cannot deny the fact that it will be another hell since I also have to focus on reviewing for my final exams.

The word count is one but the genre is another. I love writing low fantasy, and royal romance but it is not the one readers are looking for in the platforms I have published my stories on. CEO/billionaire, werewolves, and mafia romance are the trending genre so to increase the marketability of my story, I had to write under those genre even though I knew I would not be able to fully enjoy writing it. But I guess this is one of the things that I should compromise in order to gain readers.

So for today's entry, my takeaway would be taking risks and sacrifices for the sake of getting the reward. What they said is true... not all things can be achieved that easily. You have to work for it.

4
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @BCH_LOVER

Comments