Novelstar/Nova: An Online Writing Platform

0 26

So this platform just changed its brand name from Novelstar to Nova and it is just effective this day, 1st of April. It is also the third platform I am currently writing for and so far, I did not encounter any problems... yet. I started with non-exclusive contract with them and now, I am writing a story under an exclusive contract for my second novel.

What I love in this one other than their benefits is they provide free book covers for authors. And I must say, they are great book covers and I am loving them.

They also offer exclusive contracts but unlike the other two I have talked about, this one has two types of exclusive contracts; the Class A and S-class. S-class has a base fee but Class A does not. They just recently changed their benefits this year and compared to the previous benefits, exclusive contracts have higher bonuses now while non-exclusive contracts somehow decreased but still, it is a generous amount.

Other than having two types of exclusive contracts, what makes Novelstar/Nova different from Novelcat and Goodnovel is that it only offers 20% royalty share for non-exclusive contracts. But I think it is not something to really worry about for quite long since non-exclusive contracts has a duration of only 5 years. Plus, you still have the copyright of your story.

Their mode of payment as well is Paypal, bank, and Payoneer. Though there are selected countries where they encourage writers from there to use only bank or only Paypal. But I think they are also working on that one so writers would have more options in getting their income.

They also offer a buyout program wherein if you have a completed novel, they can buy it and give you a one-time payment plus the corresponding royalty share. I don't know much about this because I think it depends on the quality of the story so the details are discussed by the writer and editor privately.

Consistent updating would give your book more chances of being promoted in their homepage and featured page. And for my exclusive story, it got featured for a week so it garnered readers rather fast.

Though the one that is quite draining on this one is the updating days since you have to update continuously without breaks in-between for 20 days. That is what my assistant editor told me so in order to get the bonus I am aiming for, I have to write almost 2.5k words per day or even more than that which really pushes me to my limits. But then again, being challenged like this also drives me to be productive every day.

As usual, books that excel in this platform are werewolf, mafia, and CEO/billionare romance. In my current novel, it is a mafia romance even though it is not the genre I am really into but since it is already my second mafia book, I might as well finish it like my first mafia novel. So if you also wish to get a higher chance of getting an exclusive contract, you should write romance with the characters having those aforementioned characters.

When it comes to free coins used in unlocking chapters, this platform gives more tasks for readers to accomplish to earn these free coins. Just by logging in 7 straight days, you can actually collect quite a lot.

1
$ 0.00

Comments