Fate (Final Chapter)

0 26

"Miss Lisa, we'll be starting in 5 minutes."

I simply nodded. This was my very first time to be in this kind of event so my heart was thumping like crazy and butterflies continued to flutter inside my stomach. I looked around—the staffs were walking here and there in preparation for the big event and the tension was somehow pressuring me.

My nerves were on edge, in any moment, I might faint out of nervousness. But I hope that doesn't happen or it'll be a huge mess.

"Here's your pen." My editor handed me a personalized box and inside it was a fountain pen with my name carved on it. It was of the same look as that magical pen before. My nervousness was slowly washed away with just the look of it.

As I got out from the backstage and sat on the chair in front of thousands of people queuing, I couldn't help but mix my excitement with nervousness yet again. It was a different feeling that I wasn't used to yet.

The first person stepped forward and laid a white book on the table. It resembled my white notebook and even though it wasn't the real thing, the bittersweet memories came rushing back. From the moment I got ahold of the magical notebook and pen to the time I met Leo, from the moment I got chained and trapped in my own delusions up to the moment where I finally got to let Leo free from my grasp.

I opened the book and scribbled my signature, as well as leaving the lesson I learned from my past—'Your happy ending is my happy ending.'

It took years of torment and pain before I came to realize that. And now that I had experienced such pain, I wouldn't want others to repeat that same mistake.

After that confrontation with Leo, after seeing him break down with my own two eyes, I was devastated. I never realized how evil I had become just because I was able to manipulate my fate with just a scribble on a notebook. It was unfair for him.

I couldn't turn back time to undo all the things I did so all I can do after that event was to free him and myself. I was dwelling in the past, even up until this moment, but unlike before, I was compensating today. At least, I hope that was what I was doing.

"I really love your book, Miss Lisa," said one of the attendee, "because it helped me move on."

Hearing such words directly from them and not just by reading their letters, softened my heart. This was what I wanted—to make other people realize that accepting their mistake and doing the right thing would free yourself from the maze of pain.

"Thank you." That was all I could say. I was afraid that if I say another word, I would break into tears, which would be quite unsightly in front of the crowd.

Signature after signature, I could feel my hand ache but with just a few shaking, it felt better. How can it not feel good when a lot of people spared their time to come in this book signing?

I was a bit preoccupied that I didn't get to look at the next person. I simply flipped the book and started to sign.

"Your story has become popular."

Hearing that familiar voice, I immediately looked up. I met his gaze, but this time, his eyes weren't filled with pain or sorrow or hatred unlike before. Instead, I saw relief. I flashed a smile and he did the same. Next time, next time, I want to see happiness in his hazelnut-colored eyes.

"But I rather call it our story," I chuckled. I looked away because my tears started to well up. I just feel so happy.

"That does sound better."

I handed him the book and with a smile plastered on his face, he accepted it.

"See you next time, Lisa."

"See you next time, Leo."

I watched his back as he walked away. Even though he forgave me all the things I did, it seems that it was I who couldn't come to completely forgive myself. I think that I didn't deserve his kindness.

After my confession years ago, he simply told me the pain and confusion he was going through all throughout the time he was with me. He didn't raised his voice, he didn't raise his hand on me. He simply spoke and after everything, he still told me that he forgave me.

Not only that, when I consulted him about making this book, he didn't hesitate to give his permission and even helped me write it.

For me, Leo was more than a blessing. And I wish and pray that he'd find happiness. Though the bitter truth of us still married cannot be erased because of my last entry. He was still tied to me even though we now live in different houses. That tie was a permanent scar to him that, no matter what, I cannot remove. It will forever remind me that that mistake I made was beyond repair—a lesson that I will bring to my grave.

After the book signing, I got home all by myself. Opening the door of this new home gave me new hope as well. It was quiet and almost empty but seeing the white notebook and pen on top of the table reminded me that it was filled with a lot of emotions and memories.

As I shut the door behind me, I felt the faint coldness in between my fingers. It was the ring that Leo gave me. I clutched it close to my chest. He may not be the man for me but my heart will always be his. That fact will not change.

Drops of tears ran down my cheeks, racing against each other.

"Your happy ending is my happy ending."

I continued to repeat those words to soothe myself.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @BCH_LOVER

Comments