"Down the childhood road"

6 20
Avatar for Ellen1
Written by
1 year ago

If I am ever given a superpower I would like that to travel back in time. Do you know why?

Because I miss my childhood so much!!!

When I was a child, my mother used to tell me her childhood stories and she wished only if she could go back to those days, and I remember I used to get irritated and said:

"Why you say so? There is nothing special in childhood. You can't go anywhere or can't do anything on your own".

Then she would say:

"I am leaving this question to your adulthood. One day when you will grow up, I will ask you the same question and I would want to hear its answer from you".

Today I am all grown up with many responsibilities upon my shoulders and just missing how golden my childhood was. Free of worries and tensions. It's actually human nature that we never value good times, and once that time slips away we wish for it to come back.

I remember that from my childhood days I was very fond of collecting stationary e.g pencils, erasers, scales, colored pencils, diaries, etc. There was this place which I hated to go to and my mother would always convince me by saying that:

"If you come with me there, then I will buy you lots of stationary things".

 As a child, I was always that kind of kid who loves to watch cartoons and lives in fantasy. My favorite cartoon was "WINX CLUB". I used to think of myself as the fairy "BLOOM". Ah! Children are so innocent. When I think of those things I laugh at my foolishness but there is also beauty in this innocence that disappears as we grow up. I used to collect Cartoon Network magazines and posters which came to our house weekly along with newspapers.

Winx Club

In summers at noon, when no one would come out due to scorching heat, I was the one who would wander the streets. I still remember me and my friends used to play from morning till evening in our street. We used to take a break only at sunset, then after that, we would come out again and resume playing again. We used to play many games like "Hide & Seek", "Pithu Garam", "Kho Kho", "Ice Water" and many more.

Then on Eid, my mother used to doll me up and I would go out to my friends', we would exchange Eid cards and spend the entire day playing. This is how Eids used to be back then.

Now, Eid comes and goes and we don't even notice. We spend the entire Eid day now sleeping. And today I truly understand the meaning of that phrase that our elderly relatives used to say:

"Eid is merely for kids"

These are the memories of my childhood that I cherish. What about yours?

Thank you for your precious time! Stay Safe!

All photos are retrieved from google except last one which is self taken.

3
$ 0.33
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Ellen1
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

When I was a youngster, I didn't have any books; instead, I read fairytale anecdotes in school since we had a mini-library. I miss my childhood as well, remembering how happy we were.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also used to read fairytales hoping that one day I too will meet a fairy haha! Good old times

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome to read.cash Ellen and I wish you success here. However I would like to advise you to write one article per day so that you wouldn't have problem with your account

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much Bilqees and sure I will follow your advice and write daily. For a new user like myself your guidance means alot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Also do well to put the link of image source under every image

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure sure I will be careful next time..thanks a million

$ 0.00
1 year ago