Time for Something New!

25 42
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

There are some times we need to evaluate our daily routine, or even our lifestyle. We may see there are parts of it that can be improved. There are some that need to be abandoned and replaced with better, and more timely ones. Get what I mean?

This is what I will talk about today. Hopefully, today will be the last day I will retain my latest lifestyle. I decided to evaluate it, and change it for the better. This article, and whoever may read it, will be the witnesses of my desperate attempt of becoming a more organized person. This, for me, is a step to becoming mature. I know I would sacrifice many old habits I grew to love and blend into my life.

Let's talk about my Old Lifestyle

I am an overall, laid-back person. I don't really make checklists nor schedule regularly, unless needed. I would rather have a relaxed approach in my life, rather than being seriously focused on every bit of it. I mean, being so aware and cautious of the future, personal matters, or finances.

  • I prefer going with the flow.

Instead of making a schedule for the day, I prefer just sleeping the day before and let the succeeding day go as it wants.

This means, I get to wash my clothes whatever time of the day I like. I get to finish watching dramas whenever I want. Organize my cabinet whenever I am in the mood, or sometimes not do it at all. Such examples like that.

Though it appears kinda unproductive or without direction, I miraculously got through my life being like this. These habits did not affect my life that much. I mean I am still a responsible person, just not that strict enough when it comes to managing my time.

When I start late, I gotta finish it late.

  • Consistency is a weakness to me.

This does not only apply to my writing in this platform. Like, yes, I am even thankful I still get to maintain to write at least one article per day. It is an improvement, as I was not able to do this before. Imma give my shoulder a tap for that.

However, I know it ain't just writing I should be consistent about. Exercising at least twenty minutes a day, cleaning my toes and nails once a week, cleaning my face ever night before sleeping. Even praying or reading the Bible. I always miserably fail to keep the regularity of those I just mentioned.

My daily exercise sessions become weekly, delays even getting to months that I almost forget it. I was too lazy to regularly check my nails and toes. My night time skin care routine oftentimes miss one to two times a week. My spiritual habits are suffering, too, as I grow too sleepy or tired to even pray at night.

Social media, and other leisure activities take up most of my time than important stuff do.

  • I now do not enjoy some things that I used to like.

This may or may not be included to habits, but I can say it has become part of my lifestyle. I am not a fan of routinary activities, even I prefer it to constantly changing patterns. Sounds so hard to understand, right? Like how my brain works.

I really do not like a constant changing environment to an extent. I find it hard to adapt to new styles, strategies nor approaches. I will accept, but give me time to adapt to it. Otherwise, I will not function well.

There is a downside to a very repetitive routine, though. When I am now so accustomed to doing the same thing over and over again, I grow tired of it. Everything becomes so boring to do. I still do stuff, but my inner self is always conscious of the time. I just think of sleeping or going home, or both.

Things that used to give me thrills in the past have now become dull to me; everything is just black and white.

I now find it hard to make everything that I do more fun and exciting, no matter how repetitive they are. I used to be like that, back then. Maybe, I let adulthood turn me into this. A person who lacks interest in certain things oftentimes.

It's hard, because my motivation, and willpower are greatly impacted.

  • I am a Comfort-Zone Person.

This maybe related to what I have already stated above. I am a sucker for new, unfamiliar environments. Others see these as opportunities to grow, I see them as risks to fail.

I know I suck at this part. I am such an unconfident person. I guess that is one of the factors why my growth is really slow, or even gets stagnant at some point. I don't like trying out new things simultaneously, those never excite me.

At this rate, I might just compare myself to someone who is okay with his job that pays low, when he can try new job positions that he can really accomplish, and will even pay him better.

  • Maybe I don't discipline myself well.

This is the area I may have been so weak in. Self-discipline. I said I will really wash the dishes at one, and that one o' clock becomes two, until it becomes three, and so on. I tell myself I gotta do this, but I actually don't.

My words just don't match with action. I am enthusiastic to do something today, I will lose excitement the next day. I always got alibis, though. The show was to good to miss. Just one more hour. I can just continue this tomorrow. This is okay, I guess. The deadline is so far, anyway. At least I got to rest more.

Just to validate my inactivity, I have lots of invalid reasons. Too many excuses, Elle.

My Attempt to Change

You may have done a lot of breathing exercises just to not get mad at how I deal with my life. I am a person that likes to grow, but is afraid to take on the process to get there. I like to succeed, but I do not seem to make extra efforts to achieve it. I want to say I can, but I don't believe myself. I hate routines, but I am hesitant of change.

So, tonight, I am building up the courage to break down the walls I constructed around myself, those walls that hinders my growth.

  • Organize things, organize my life.

I have witnessed myself the benefits of making schedules. How it makes everything easier and more possible to accomplish.

Starting tomorrow, I gotta start scheduling things. I gotta make sure I accomplish all of them withing the set time frame. No extended time for leisure.

Very little to no grace period.

  • Be more strict in daily activities I set.

I have read and became inspired by articles of some certain writers in this platform. Each one has a fixed time to write and post. I want to try that, too.

Even I manage to publish one article per day, the times I post are all over the place. I would post either early in the morning, or late in the night.

Somehow, starting tomorrow, I will do my best to now set up an alarm and start writing at 4 a.m., and post at 6 a.m. If morning would not suffice, (since I am not fond of waking up early) I gotta change the fixed time to 10 p.m.

Since stuffs such as my daily exercises and night skin care routine will be added to my schedule, I guess I could achieve the consistency in terms of those things as well.

I have to do my best to check all those boxes of TO-DO's.

  • Make each day count, find joy in doing everything I do.

If I was able to do this in the past, I can probably revive this skill now, too. Hopefully.

Maybe I can have some new ways of doing things at work. Improve the qualities of my spreadsheets. Or just alter the styles and colors for a fun change.

Gotta delete some old, useless files that piled up my folders, renaming some unknown directories, or re-arrange the icons in my desktop. Just for something new.

I am also planning to save up a specific amount for the whole week to treat myself when Friday comes. Actually, this idea is novel and genius to me. This would make me look forward to everyday in work, don't you think so?

I guess my creativity is still alive amd kicking.

  • Expand my comfort zone.

I heard this from a work mate colleague when he was assigned to do a pep talk for us on a Monday assembly. He is not working at the company now, but his words were stuck to me. I just found it so interesting.

It is not the same to the common thing I used to hear: "Get out of your comfort zone." Expanding it is a better term to use, in my opinion.

I can really try out new things without having to get rid of my comfort zone. I just gotta try things I am not comfortable doing, and learn it, until the uncomfortable becomes comfortable. Are you now grasping the idea I want to emphasize?

The thing with expanding my comfort zone is, I get to expose myself to changes, adapt to these well, and eventually having these as those I appreciate.

  • No more excuses!

I was not able to finish my task because this show was really to good to abandon. I promise, when this finishes, I gotta—

STOP! Alibis no more.

If I want to lose weight, no more excuses as to why I don't work out. No more alibis on getting that laundry done before the sun sets!

Self-discipline is vital. I gotta be expert in this. I think it's a secret to success. The art of doing what should be done, and avoiding what should not be done. I think this applies to everything.

If I want it enough, I gotta work hard enough.

Wow. Could you believe that? My excitement levels are over the moon as I write this. I am so excited on this brave step I took towards maturity. I can't believe I was able to evaluate myself pretty well, and even being able to devise attainable solutions to them. I am as motivated as ever.

If you were like me who's somehow grown thirsty for a change, and found this one helpful, then you're welcome.

I honestly feel so accomplished doing it that I did not notice it may have been so long. I just hope I would be able to keep track of my progress and write it here when fate allows.

Change is not easy, indeed. But it's the only permanent thing in this world.


Thanks a lot for reading! :) And hey, my sponsor block is so excited to have your name on it.

Recommended read as we ARMYs celebrate BTS' 8th Anniversary. An amazingly-written article by a co-ARMY I was able to onboard in this amazing platform. I hope you'll show her support as she is a newbie here. :)

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image Edited by me. Sources of base pictures:

  1. Road Sign

  2. Thinking girl

  • Please click other pictures for sources. :)

5
$ 10.78
$ 10.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 1
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

OMG! I think this is the sign I've been waiting for! A sign to make a change and make a better version of myself.

I am always a weekend warrior. A weekend warrior is someone who does all the chores on weekends. I will make use of my time doing simple chores so, on weekends, I will not be exhausted, and I could have a lot of time with family and feiends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks! Yes, you saw the sign!!! Thanks for being inspired and for your reading this article. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will try to apply all the things you mentioned in your article 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so nice to know! Thanks a lot for letting me know. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really takes time and effort.. Let's just don't forget to have some time for ourselves also.. At the end of the day, we are still the master of our own, as what my prof. said.😊☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, indeed. Time for ourselves is important, too. Thanks for reading, Renren! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. I appreciate this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do appreciate your work too..:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would get some time to check out yours. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you☺️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg. :) You made me happy for this. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmm.☺️ The pleasure is mine..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there, those realizations are realistic, but it takes time to make the change you would like, so don't be hard with yourself, just do things little by little. There are really things that are better said than done. I am hoping for the best as you go for that maturity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, ma'am slash ate! I am thankful for you cheering me on. I am starting little by little. As I have said, I am not fond of big changes, so I would rather progress slowly, and learn in the process. I will so my best to accomplish these new habits. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I read and felt lots of honesty in your article. It is good to be honest and not deny things. It also helps you to get things over and done with. I learned something from a YouTuber, who published one video and one blog post per day. That is a lot of work every day to record, edit a video and write a blog post. Here is his secret. Pick a day and create your content on that one day for the week. If you write 5-7 post in one day, than you just have to publish them every day. Just a tip.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hello there. Sorry if I have to reply in this comment. I like that tip. Let me try this, because sometimes, I have a hard time catching up with making articles everyday. Maybe start with 3 articles and would see how would things worked for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be sorry. Let's interacting with each other. :) Try that even if you do 3 articles that'a help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for that. Yes yes, let's interact, one goal of this platform. I will start sometime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fighting, ate! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same po. This strategy may work well for me. Since there are times I am so full of ideas, there are days I can't write properly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a nice idea, too. Others have been doing it. Maybe, I will try this. Thanks a lot for your feedback plus pieces of advice. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Worth to try. You will be busy for a day, but you will have free morning hours meaning you can sleep longer or free evening hours. It usually takes 3-4 hours for me to write an article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. I ppreciate it. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago