Some Dark Stuff Here.

17 47
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

There is always a darkness that resides in all of us. And it's not something that we should be scared of.

It could be our unforgettable pasts that we don't want to look back to, or hidden secrets we never want to reveal to others. It could also be portions of our characters we don't sometimes appreciate.

It my also be the hardest times we have undergone, those dark, trying times that sometimes make us feel hurt or traumatized looking back at them. Guess what, it's normal, because we are all humans. Like everything around us, nothing is perfect.

The sun is always meant to rise and set.

I am writing this with all lights off. It is almost five in the morning and the sun has not yet risen.

  • I used to be scared of the night.

As a child, I've been accustomed that it is the time the evilest of creatures start lurking the surface of the Earth. My imaginations are as scary as those I watched as a kid, like werewolves, vampires, slenderman, even ghosts. It is always at night time that these horrible beings appear, and it made me so scared to sleep alone.

Now that I am adult, I grew to appreciate the night. This is the time I could look over the window and appreciate the serene beauty of the moon, along with the winking thousands of stars surrounding it. Vampires or monsters maybe real, yes, but I can see them nowhere? Where are they? Probably sleeping, what do you think? Or maybe they have all died down along with my imaginations that used to haunt me.

I realized I was so scared of nothing when I was a child. I did not get to appreciate that comforting feeling of the night that came and went, the darkness purposely put in there not to throw me midnight monsters, but to ensure I could sleep well.

Yes, night is supposed to be the time we are sleeping, enjoying our own dreams, while letting the cold breeze of the night make us more comfortable.

  • The dawn right before the sun rises is the darkest.

There are times we see that nothing seems to go right. These problems keep on coming, and becoming too tough to handle making us feel like giving up. This is specially harder when we realize that the people we expect to help are nowhere to be found.

It could be the situation for those people who have experienced abuse or torment, that never received any help from people they trust. I feel for them who may have overcome those traumatic pasts, but not entirely. For they remain scarred for life. Those moments where they have been succumbed to the painful reality always haunt them day and night, but how could we even notice? They can perfectly hide it, as of they are so good at it.

Can we blame them though? They have been into the darkest alley of experiences. The time they needed the light, it was not given to them, and when they are finally out of the tunnel, surrounded by light, they still leave a part of them into the dark, somewhere there that they have been used to staying in.

This dark is called past. I know that a time will come that everyone who had some tragic pasts be freed from the darkness that keeps on eating them alive. It is true that the dawn right before the sunrise is the darkest. The times when we seem to not find any hope is actually the moment where all the stars of the night starts to vanish, even that faint light of the moon becoming less bright, because we know the sun is coming to outshine them.

The sun that sends rays of hope to everyone. It is with sunrise that we prove, nothing is permanent in this world. Even the dark times, even those happy times, they come and go. We have really no choice but to enjoy the good things as they last, and be strong until the bad days grew tired of us.

The dark makes the colors shine more.

Darkness is not the opposite of light. It us just the lack of it. Therefore, no one can really see nor appreciate the light without darkness. I've seen this wonderful analogy by a writer here. What service could our bulbs or flashlights give when the sun is out? Truly darkness has a purpose, too. It outlines the vibrant and pale colors to give it more life and distinction.

  • Black, even, regarded as "not a color" by Physics, is a color, too.

Well, maybe at least to me.It may not be those blue, red or yellow hues we see, but I see it on arts, on the most beautiful paintings I've ever seen. Other artists may not use it, but when others do, they don't disappoint. Black sets the mood of art, depending on how it is to be used.

Starry Night by Vincent Van Gogh

According to an article entitled Color Black: What It Means In Art, it is said that:

"Some artists have embraced the black color like an old friend, dancing with it across all their artworks, and others stoutly avoided it, feeling it had no place on the canvas."

There are really people that escape and avoid black as much as possible, but there are those that embrace its endless possibilities, and appreciated its ability to make art more beautiful and unique, depending on how much darkness is to be applied.

  • Shadow is a beautiful concept.

It is only with a bit of darkness that we see shadows. The outlines of the trees, or buildings we see are actually its shadows that make the majestic view possible. In photography, I like seeing shadows, too. It depicts the sense of being alive, being authentic.

Indeed, it is in black that we appreciate more the vibrance of the colors surrounding it, as if it gives them the chance to shine.

In Psychology, shadow is "..often described as the darker side of the psyche, representing wildness, chaos, and the unknown. These latent dispositions are present in all of us, Jung believed, although people sometimes deny this element of their own psyche and instead project it on to others." (Source: The 4 Major Jungian Archetypes)

We often deny its existence, but what makes the magic is when we learn to accept this "Dark" in us. Leaving it to the unconscious makes it hard to control it, thus involving possible dangers. If we learn to accept it, then we can get full control on it, and making us understand ourselves better in the process.

It is like accepting ourselves fully, not just those beautiful to the eyes. It also teaches us to not ne so hard on ourselves and to others.

Self-Acceptance: The Ultimate Goal

I wrote this with a humble attempt to give darkness a brighter meaning. Wait, this sounded weird, knowing the words dark and bright are used in the same sentence.

However, as much as we all just want to be seen in good light, we can never deny that there is some hidden darkness in us. Others are just more expressive of theirs, and others are so good at hiding it.

Not all dark is scary, evil, nor sinister. Darkness is like the air around us, it is everywhere, and no matter how much we try to cover it, it just appears before our eyes. Denying it is like denying a part of us, therefore, accepting it is the best thing we could do.

Applying on ourselves, it means accepting our inner darkness, understanding what's inside, and gaining an amazing control over it. Darkness is purposely put inside for us to rule over it, acknowledge its existence, and make us balance it with the good within.

Have you learned to appreciate darkness more? I hope you did.

Anyway, this is a prompt word by Miss @JonicaBradley about Darkness.

You can participate too! Just follow these rules:

  1. Write anything about darkness.

  2. Write 100% original content.

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag @JonicaBradley

Thanks for reading!

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image Source

  • Please click pictures for sources. :)

7
$ 2.76
$ 2.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 1
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I was afraid in the dark as a child. I think most of us were. About the vampires. I had a chance to visit the famous castle of the Dracula. About colors that is a difficult one. If you see something in red or in green or in any other color can you be sure of its color? I mean what its real color. The light determins its color. If you put them in a dark room it all turn black.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes. You're right. Everything becomes different according to the presence of light. Dracula was famous yes. I remember seeing posters of him on different books haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is deep, but so you mean to say that physics is wrong about black? LOL I am still waiting to read an article on this prompt with like a self confession of something truly dark that they themselves did...:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same! I want to be surprised a bit! Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha just a bit?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I mean, yes! I was not expecting too much revealing because they might get imprisoned for confessing on their own 🤷

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha well it could be called "fiction" and that's that. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah. Playing safe 😳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah yeah. Para huli pero hindi kulong. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm always looking forward to reading your articles. Because there's a way I can't really fathom in which you bring together words and make them align with ones reasoning. Keep it up sir!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello! I saw your name again, here, Queen. I am now looking forward to your comments on my future posts. 😍 However, I am a she. hahaha! Good morning! From here..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh!!! Pardon. Goodmorning ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! It's afternoon here already, so good aftie! LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay, I like how you make an article about this darkness, there are many sides of the story. my kids are really afraid of the dark and I agree that we have an inner darkness, brought about by sad realities and experiences. Messaging you now in Twitter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah yes. No matter how hard we deny, there is always darkness in everything. I have seen your twitter DMs and I am happy to hear from you! ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello dear. I have changed plans, I will post it on Sunday instead, I have posted it in my post now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay po. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago