I have a love-hate relationship with questionable endings, may it be in books, shows, or movies...

...those open-ended scenes that leave me thinking for at least a whole week. What did become of the characters? What happened next? What about this extra character?

I hate how I think of the worst possible endings because making up and expecting a fairy tale like one seems like a far-fetched, unrealistic idea. It's like a wake up call about the reality of life—things does not always happen the way we want them to be.

At the same time, I love open-ended stories, because, aside from giving room for my own creativity as to how I've wanted events to go, it also gives me this new found freedom of stitching my own scenes to make my desired ending happen. Somehow, like life, it makes me realize that I am in charge of how I'd write my own story. That, as long as I am still here, my life is still that unfinished book noted with "To be Continued" on it. That, I am in control from now on.

Is it a happy ending? A bittersweet one? A tragic one? It depends on me.

1
$ 0.02
User's avatar
@Ellehcim posted 5 months ago

Comments