Lost and Found: Promises

16 139
Avatar for Ellehcim
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Long time, no write. Well, actually I just missed a day in posting an article. Unfortunately, I was too tired yesterday that I typed this one into sleep.

Today, I will share to you, my insights in a remarkable episode that I watched in one of my all-time favorite series, Girl from Nowhere.

If you haven't watched it yet, or have no idea what this series is, it's from Thailand, a mystery-based series where a girl named Nanno, appears into different schools as a "New Student" and eventually exposes all the hidden lies and hypocrisy surrounding schools.

Here is an introduction you may want to watch:

Nanno is like the 'temptation and karma personified' for me. She brings out the most hidden desire of the people to do bad things. She has the ability to bring out the worst in a person, and make that person suffer the consequences. Then episode will end with that. Next episode will be her introduced as a new student again, with the same hidden purpose to accomplish.

Now that I gave you the overview, I recommend you to watch that, because it made me realize its purpose: to reveal that schools ain't always the happy, peaceful place where kids learn, as how it has always been recognized as.

In this article, however, I will focus on my favorite episode: the 8th one - Lost and Found.

The episode started with a boy named TK who developed stealing as a habit. This guy have transferred to many schools due to this. He first met Nanno in an antiques store where he stole something, too.

In the school, both TK and Nanno are new students. Nanno shows interest to TK on their first day.

"Who is that guy?" "He's TK, a problem student. We heard he steals from other students here." "He doesn't look scary to me."

After the classes ended, TK went to a rooftop in a school building where Nanno follows and hands him a treat. The conversation went on about them both being thieves and starting a, ladies and gentlemen, "Stealing Competition."

Just a reminder, Nanno's character is meant to reveal the misdeeds, and reality that schools hide within their images. And just like Nanno planned, TK agrees.

For some reason, I feel like Nanno already has sensed something deeper with TK's problematic behavior.

Their 'competition' follows. It showed succeeding scenes of them bragging to each other what they got, and obviously, Nanno, the mysterious student, always has the upper hand. For example, TK gets an empty wallet; Nanno gets one with lots of money inside.

This game of them is what made them happy throughout the school days.

They also stole together, an instance where TK bragged about his skills in running aways fast. One night, after they ran away from a store where they got 'free' drinks, they laughed and had a short, fun time together. I can clearly see how they enjoyed each other's company.

And as someone who has watched the previous episodes, it's a first time to me seeing Nanno genuinely enjoying the time of her life. Her eyes shined bright with real happiness, not with the sinister one because her plans succeeded.

TK is not even trying to hide it; he's got enchanted by Nanno's charms.

One day, in an ordinary class, they are listening to the teacher discussing about something, while exchanging notes through a notebook. Their conversation is just them teasing each other, and ended with something to look forward to, Nanno's new challenge: Let's do something harder.

Yes, they are now leveling up their game.

TK is thrilled about Nanno's tempting offer.

What they did was stealing the expensive painting placed in one of the school's faculty rooms, or whatever it's called. With Nanno's skillful tactics, and TK's assistance, they succeeded, and managed to not get caught in their teacher's bag inspection.

They displayed the flower painting in the rooftop, their 'hide-out' place. TK remarked that it is a beautiful flower. He was met with Nanno's sharp response, "I hate flowers. They are not beautiful."

This made TK ask her what she steals. Nanno gave her a silly smile and held his hand to go somewhere.

And yes, Nanno showed him her "Steals Warehouse". Nanno has got all remarkable items I could think of: from Audrey Hepburn's glasses, a limited edition fashion statement jacket, a saxophone from Europe, to the infamous 'hat of Charlie Chaplin', as what TK interpreted it as.

Of course, Nanno wanted to see TK's warehouse, too. So he did. In his place, TK talked about how his father would not even care whatever he does. I personally felt, by this time, that Nanno sensed that 'something' in TK's eyes.

Deep inside, TK is not a selfish, evil person like the previous ones she dealt with. All along, TK is just a guy with absolute loneliness, someone who feels abandoned and unloved.

Eventually, their conversation lead to TK expressing his gratitude to Nanno. The latter, being obviously not ready to hear such a remark, asked why. TK's response melted my heart:

"Actually, I never had a friend before. So, thank you for being my friend."

Everything that's happening is a first to Nanno, too. No one has ever appreciated her presence sincerely, until she met TK.

"Can I ask you something?" TK starts.

"What?"

"Can you not disappear on me?"

Nanno was obviously caught off guard. My heart hurt, knowing how this might end.

"What made you think that?" the girl asks back.

"I feel that you'll just leave one day, if you are satisfied, or something. I enjoy being with you. Please promise me that you'll stay."

At this point, I honestly wanted her to just respond a 'Yes'. But of course, it's not possible. It is not how the story should go—Nanno has an ultimate purpose in this series; it ain't a highschool love story.

Nanno, being a smart one, replies:

"We don't have to make promises. Look, I am here right now. I am not going anywhere."

Okay. I accept it. It hurts, but I know what those words mean: She will just disappear soon. Next scene please. I don't want to dwell here.

But, alas! Look what TK has done.

He got Nanno's hand and did the pinky promise thing with the unwilling girl, along with this words that struck directly into my heart:

"Promises are not made to be kept. Promises are here to make us feel better."

You might say I am over dramatic or what. But these words made me quite emotional somehow. Maybe it's the desperation in TK's eyes, or Nanno's regretful gaze that can't look straight at TK's face, or maybe the whole build up of the scene. I don't know..

Well, guess what? In the latter part of the episode, Nanno eventually leaves anyway. The reason she did not promised is because something else has to be done. She has a different mission, and she should really go.

And that, is the very first time I saw Nanno shed real tears, everyone. Genuine sadness.

The last time they had looked at each other. :(

TK, though hurt, accepted this and let Nanno go. The episode ends like that.

Bye, Nanno. Bye TK..

There are really instances where we have to say goodbye even if we don't want to.

There are things that are meant to be just temporary in our lives, just with the purpose of making us learn new things, and appreciate all that we have enjoyed, even for just a brief moment.

The title suits this episode so much. Like how TK was once lost, and finally found in the end. It was not a bad ending after all. However, their encounter will remain in my heart.

Please consider getting yourself a binge-watch session with this amazing show.

Source: embedded in the photo :)


Now, why did I give a spoiler of almost the whole episode with the title I used? It's because I want to ask you this question randomly. What does promises mean to you?

Is it the cliché, "Promises are made to be broken." one?

Or is it something really important to you? Or are you perhaps like Nanno, who isn't fond of making promises?

Because personally, my heart goes out to TK. The way he nailed it: Promises are here to make people feel better.

When a sick person doesn't want to see her loved ones suffer, he or she makes a remark, "I promise, I will get better, so don't cry."

Even the people who heard this know that his/her life is just hanging my the thread, they will still hold onto this. This promise, even it gives them a very little to no assurance, becomes their drive to keep believing in a miracle.

A woman who knows that her husband's cheating will still find hope whenever he tells her "I promise to love you, only. Forever," every night when he comes home.

What do you think? Aren't promises cruel in reality?


Because you've come to this part, let me recommend you some read-worthy articles, from talented writers I know! Follow them, too, for a daily dose of various quality articles.

Shinrin-Yoku | Forest Bathing by @Peter-Molnar

Work Work Work!!! by @meitanteikudo

The Best Time to Write by @Bjorn

Guilty! by @FrieLincs


Thank you for visiting here, you made me happy today. Come start writing here if you haven't yet!

All pictures, (except the poster) I used are my own screenshots and edits from the episode I watched. :)) Some lines I cited may or may not be paraphrased, but the thoughts are the same.

Until next time, folks!

To God be the Glory.

6
$ 1.29
$ 1.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 2
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

WHAHAHAHAH! Favorite ko tong series na to kasi di api-apihan yung bida at sama cool. Honestly, I watched it on Facebook and I like the ending of that episode. You will see in her eyes that she will miss him and there has a kindness on every evil. She gave him the love that she wants and she also give him a chance to talk with his father. Grabe talaga yung episode na to, the most unique ever and personally, I like her evilness lols. Oo, excited na ako sa season 2 KASI 6 DAYS NA LANG!!!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

YES! sorry ngayon ko lang nabasa huhu. Anyway, among all episodes kasi, dito ko lang talaga nakita yung genuine na pagsisisi, di katilad sa uba, ma deserve talaga magsuffer. Kahit si Nanno, talagang alam nyang nagsisi si TK sa mga ginawa nya, and he is even understanding of Nanno's actions.

Sadly, wala daw si TK sa season 2 huhuhu. Paano na yan? :((

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha ngayon ko lang napansin na mahaba pala to. Wala tayong magagawa, at least she gave TK a friend that he needs the most but it's just a memory haha. Pero medyo nakakatakot yung season two, three days na lang

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga. Masmadugo tsaka masbrutal, tapos mas daring hahaha. I need to brace myself for that . XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Weird ng first episode lalake mabubuntis

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What???!! Hahaha, kakaibang parusa naman yun! Anyway, hintayin ko talaga hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha okay lang

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is nice reading your articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks a lot. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I liked it. Promise that is a big commitment. If you promise something keep it if you know you can do it or else do not promise anything. Sounds interesting might look into it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Among all the episodes, I learned a lot too. But ths particular one got me invested a bit hahaha. Thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are diligent in writing your article. Thank you for the mention. I don't watch series at the moment but I'd surely watch your recommendation. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much! I really set it as a goal to recommend latest articles of my sponsors as my way of thanking them Right now, I am still not that consistent, but I will do my best. Again, thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You will be. You have a lot of potential.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am so humbled with your words. I appreciate it. <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome! Thanks again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago