Friday The 14th

4 17
Avatar for Ellehcim
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Experiences, Writing, Story, Blog, ...

I woke up like ten minutes earlier than my alarm today. In fact, I even stared at my phone for a while until it turned on and rang for only three seconds.

"You are not singing today, not today." I thought, along with a silly smile forming on my seventy percent awake morning face.

Mother re-heated the roasted chicken leftover from yesterday's dinner. She just added a scrambled egg fried with minced onion. I had a delicious breakfast.

After drinking my Vitamin C, and a few more minutes of scrolling through my phone, I prepared myself to bathe. I am a person who rarely "prepare clothes for tomorrow's work". Like today, I just wore what my hands could reach from my kinda messy cabinet. (I think I should re-organize it this weekend).

You see, Friday is a wash day for us. Meaning, we are not mandated to wear our work uniform, but some casual, semi-formal clothes instead. It's the day we brag our so called Fashion Styles. Lol. (If I even have a talent in this field).

Do you mix some heated water to you bath water before you wash yourself? My family does that, because they don't want to bathe with the raw coldness and shock their systems. Well, I don't. I prefer to take a bath using a somehow cold water direct from the faucet so I can be assure I am awake fully for the day.

I tied my shoes as a finale before I went out of the house. Bade mom goodbye and walked my way out of our residential compound.

For some strange reason, my head involuntarily moved up, causing my eyes to witness the blue sky. It's just like those scenes I saw from music videos, where the character stares up the sky and attempts to block the sunlight using the back of her hand. The sight honestly made me smile.

I know it ain't visible since I was wearing a face mask and a face shield. Ugh, COVID. I wonder, when will that time come where I can freely go outside without any something bothering my face?

I enjoyed sightseeing before the tricycle arrived. Once again, I saw the green trees surrounding the streets, giving shades to where it should. I saw some stray dogs that seem to indulge themselves in Vitamin D, and it amused me.

"It has been so long since I was able to get a closer look in my residential place. It is still beautiful, and fresh here." I would not exchange this to living in a city where pollution and hustle are more prevalent.

Okay, so like my usual routine, I mouthed my morning prayer silently while riding the tricycle. I always finish before I get to my first stop. Travel ain't done yet. I walked unto the waiting area in front of a convenience store, and luckily, a jeepney is already there.

The driver waited for roughly four to five more passengers before he started driving for real. Usually, in situations like these, I would have been annoyed as heck. We know waiting for new passengers consume time and I might be late for my work.

However, today, I just seem to not care at all. I am feeling myself as of the moment. Opened my Spotify, played some BTS tracks and my mood just got even better. Thankfully, it's not too hot unlike the previous mornings.

BTS music = Therapy

This girl's such a sleepyhead when traveling. Up to less than a few kilometers to my destination, I just took a power nap. I haven't noticed my hair got a lil bit messy due to wind when I got off and walked into the company.

Again, I let my eyes feast on the beauty of the sky. As much as I love the color blue, I also adore those cotton-like clouds that spread through the atmosphere, adding comfort and beauty to whatever is already beautiful.

When I arrived at the office, I got my temperature taken and also signed a health declaration form, as part of our company's COVID-19 protocols. After this, I changed my shoes to office slippers and proceeded to my table.

Only a few minutes passed until we all started working. I got some extra energy, thanks to my power nap earlier. Moreover, I am not sure if it was a coincidence or not, but the songs played on the radio are great! I remember singing along the singer's tiny voice with the track "Love Me Like You Do." Or humming along the addictive melody of "At My Worst". Various kinds of hit tracks sounded softly throughout the four corners of the office, as our weapon against feeling sleepy or bored while working.

One more! I have said it before, but, finally, I feel the presence of our replaced and cleaned aircons now. My jacket will surely be happy about this! He is yet to fulfill his duty after a long wait!

Well, kidding aside, came eleven o' clock in the morning, my energy has reached its limit. No not energy, particularly, my state of being awake.

I went to the comfort room a couple of times to do some jumping jacks, in an attempt to wake up my sleepy system. This is common to me. Doing the same thing over and over again is not really my thing. It bores the wholeness of me, and my system just shuts down and screams "I want to sleep!" "When will this end?!"

Good thing, 12 p.m. eventually came. I immediately had my lunch and took a twenty minute nap.

Anyway, only five hours more—actually, four? One to Five in the afternoon, so four hours, right? Goodness, my math is not working now haha.

Mom messaged me that the baking set we ordered in Lazada finally arrived. It is my additional Mothers' Day gift for her. She loves baking, and she is good in it, too. Like how she is in planting. I am proud to say that the amount I spent for that is from my earnings. By the way, it only did cost Php 1,479, or approximately $29 to $30. Take a look at the products and its freebies below.

It's almost complete. I know my mom's so happy. :) Featuring her adorable cat sleeping at the back. LOL

Something just mildly annoying happened today, if I may add. I forgot to bring the burger father has brought me yesterday night. I announced it in our family group chat, but, unfortunately, my siblings have eaten them. Alas. I love burgers. Or bread and pastries in general. I prefer them to rice, just a fun fact about me. (Nobody asked, Elle. Keep it to yourself, LOL).

Forget my random, nonsensical share, let me finish this quick.

Mom cooked us another yummy dinner. In our country, it is popularly known as Sinigang na Bangus (Milkfish in Tamarind Soup). I will put some link to some information about it here, just in case you are curious what this delicious food looks like.

Here is a sample photo. Looks enticing, right? ;P

This day is better than my previous ones, where I was still in some personal issues. I am so thankful I have overcome once again. Like the other typical days at work, I also received some mild complaints about some expenses reimbursements today, as my work is relating to accounting stuff. But it didn't affect my mood that much. It happens, and that person has the right to question about financial stuff, anyway. My thoughts.

Has this been too long? I guess so, I just missed writing again as I became so busy that I have written here once every two days. I always feel the longing to write, but I couldn't. Now, I can, and I am just as happy as ever.

Tomorrow is a weekend, and I plan to make every hour count. I am motivating myself as early s now, and I am even making my To-Do list at the moment!

There you go. Another sharing of how my ordinary day went. How about you? Would you mind sharing me your own "Thank God it's Friday" moments? I miss talking to all of you, so don't be shy and comment below.

I hope you enjoyed this read. :)


Oops! As a gift for coming up to here, once again, I am giving you some good reads from talented authors here! Don't hesitate and read these works and consider following them, too. I assure you, they are worth it.

@Pantera - Bitcoin Cash Volumes in USD terms are Increasing

@Bjorn - The First Ever Humiliation I Have Experienced in Writing

@meitanteikudo - There's Something About Mommy

@Princessbusayo - Take life easy.

@Fexonice1 - Money is the root of all evil. True or false?

@FrieLincs - May I Slow Down Just for a BIT?

@Peter-Molnar - Improve Your Creativity By Reading More

Okay, I think I have put so much here, let me continue this on my next article.

Until next time!

  • Click photos for sources. :)

6
$ 1.73
$ 1.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Experiences, Writing, Story, Blog, ...

Comments

Wow! I was enjoying how your day went and those surprises as mother's day for her. Then I kept scrolling, and I saw my article being recommended to read. Thanks a lot. I enjoyed the article and I would definitely write about mine and post tomorrow. I really had a long and beautiful day today during my journey back to school.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am looking forward to your next article! Thanks for coming by, ypu deserve the mention. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for mentioning me again. It really seems you are very busy. I worked in an office before in the night. From 11pm to 7am. I fell asleep very often. Night shift never again.

Today it was fun. We wanted to go to the playground with my daughter at around half way she found a muddy puddle. She loves them. Finally got to the park though. Day went so fast.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I didn't expect to suddenly be bombarded with some unfinished business from my past negligence haha. I will finish very soon and I will be active here again. Thanks for reading! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago