I came to know about crypto by necessity

0 12
Avatar for Elisabet
1 year ago

Six months ago I left my blogging career on Medium after facing what seemed to be an awful reality: I wouldn’t be able to monetize my writing work. The problem is not that small like not living in a country where Stripe (the way in which Medium do the payments) is available but is so much more serious. I live in Cuba, where not only Stripe but Paypal, Payoneer, or other payment gateways just don’t exist. We Cubans don’t buy on Amazon anything, not only because we don’t have enough money, but also because we don’t have the technical possibility to do it.

The reason?

Cuban faces U.S. sanctions that even if are made against the government of our country, end up damaging people like me. About these sanctions, their specific effects, and whether I believe that is a good political choice I’m not going to argue in this story. I’m only pointing out how they prevent me from earning money online.

In addition to that, we face other situations inside our country that for me are more damaging. For example, the low rate of the salary in every sector, being our government the first employer for the Cuban people. What I mean by this is we have remained without options to change our personal economical situation.

But for me, everything changed when I came to know cryptocurrencies. The first time I heard that word, I understood that it was about making easy money, speculating on the value that they had in the market, which is known as trading. This idea did not appeal to me for the simple reason that I did not have any money to invest or the knowledge to get into something like that. However, I later found out that many people were using cryptocurrencies as a payment method all over the world, and that was a totally different thing for me.

My amazement was greater when I discovered that there were platforms like read.cash and publishOx.com where bloggers can earn for their work in cryptocurrencies. So I started here on this platform to see how it goes and published some posts.

The results?

In three days of being on the platform, I have already earned 8.20 dollars in Bitcoin Cash. This may seem like very little, but to me, it is quite significant. That amount is the equivalent of 902 Cuban pesos, which is almost half the minimum wage in my country and a quarter of the average wage. All this in just three days!

Regarding Medium, my old blogging place, it does not exist yet, and I think that for a long time won’t, the possibility of receiving payments in crypto. However, I have realized the wonderful opportunities that I was missing by not keeping in touch with the small community that I have created there. That’s worth more than all the gold in the world. Also, who knows if one day I’ll have a way to monetize what I write on that platform as well.

Hope you enjoy reading. If so not forget to subscribe, like and tip me.

2
$ 0.41
$ 0.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Elisabet
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Elisabet
1 year ago

Comments