My 5 Months Journey of Raising Piglets

14 36
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

It's been a while since I last wrote an update about my piggery business and since I have just updated my notebook about my new expenses for my piggies, I have decided to give an update about it as well on this platform. It's not that I'm required or obligated to do so, but because it has been a witness to how my business started, I just feel the need to share about it. Plus, I haven't been writing for a while now so I guess, this one makes a good topic to write on.

Anyway, as some of you probably know, I started putting up my Hog-raising business last April 12, 2022, which means it's been almost 5 months since I bought the first set of piglets intended for fattening. And from just starting with 1 piglet to raise, I have lost count of how many piglets were we able to raise already in just less than half a year.

So in this article, I'm going to share how much of my current capital and expenses for my piggery business, as well as if I was able to make a good profit out of it. This is just to give you an idea of how starting a piggery business works, how it's going, and if it's really profitable. So without further ado, let's begin.

The number of my piglets now: 19

As of this writing, I already have 5 pigs that I bought last June 30, which are ready for disposal or to be sold, and 14 piglets that I acquired last August 11 and August 29. So in total, I already have 19 pigs and piglets that we are raising.

My goal is to have a total of 25 piglets on our piggery farm before my 23rd birthday this December and I'm confident that I'll be able to reach that goal once we have already harvested the disposable ones.

My current Expenses: P114,000.00

19 piglets- 94,000 pesos

Hog pellets- 20,000 pesos

The price of piglets here in Ilocos Norte, particularly here in Pagudpud, is really expensive where some of the piglets I bought cost me around 5,500 pesos per piglet. Some are only around 4,500 pesos each. However, it's a good thing that the price of pork meat is also expensive, which somehow offsets my expenses in buying those piglets.

Hog pellets are also getting more expensive and 1 sack of feeds is almost 2,000 pesos already. I'm just so glad that my mother does magic that it doesn't cost me so much on the hog pellets because they don't easily run out even if she's feeding them well.

As of this moment, those 2 are just my expenses since the payment for their vaccines comes from my personal money sometimes, which is only around 20 pesos per piglet. I didn't count them into the expenses since I'm getting the change whenever I buy feeds too. So I'm stealing money from my business sometimes. Lols! 😂

My Capital Fund: P129,500.00

Travel Fund- 75,000 pesos

Cebu Trip- 22,500 pesos

Daily Savings- 32,000 pesos

I have shared before that instead of just letting my travel fund, and daily savings sit in my bank account accumulating a small amount of profit for their interest, I should just invest it in my piggery business so I could have bigger profits and also provide an additional source of income for both of my parents since they are my partners for this business. And I'm just so glad that I did.

My 5-month profit: P30,500.00

After almost 5 months of raising piglets, I have already made a clean 30,500 pesos ($535) profit from pure hard work and patience in raising them. It's probably not that much according to others' preferences of how much profit I should have made but to me, that's already good enough profit. That amount is equivalent to more than 23.5% interest compared to the 4% interest if I just let my money sit in my digital savings account.

Is Hog-raising Business Profitable?

Well, obviously, the hog-raising business is profitable, especially if you have a bigger capital to invest in it.

It's probably even more profitable if you have your own mother pig so that you won't have to buy piglets from other hog raisers anymore. It's actually my plan, but I haven't acted on that plan yet. I'm still trying to accumulate as much profit as I can with fattening so that I will have enough funds for them soon.

Well, this is just a short update about it. So if you got this far, thanks for reading.

Cheers to more profits for our goals! 💫

6
$ 2.33
$ 2.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @PVMihalache
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

Comments

Baka lagpas pa po sa 25 pigs yung meron kayo bago ka po mag birthday. Tsaka tama po mas maganda kung may sarili po kayong inahing baboy. Anyway congrats po! 5 months pa lang po business nyo pero medyo malaki napo agad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga. Kaso wala ng space sa farm eh. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayun lang po baka kailangan na talaga ng malaking space.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! All i can say is wow amazing. I would also like to have piglets, however I don't have the money to use as an income, but I am really amaze with your work. More more more piglets to you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can start with a small capital tho. Try with 1 piglet and let it grow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sincerely admire you and I am glad your business keeps adding money into ... the piggy bank!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha! Thank you, PVM. 🙌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are going good being a business degree holder I am shameful that till now I haven't started any business

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope I am. Lols! That's fine. It's risky tho so take your time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe langga nakakabilib sa ganyang edad may sariling business kana. Praying for your business langga. You will succeed with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga po. Thank you. 😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Walang anuman langga. Yes langga basta positive lang palagi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow this is really good business. I know someday you will gonna achieve whats next coming like having a mother pig maganda dn un.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga po. Medyo matagal lang kasi hihintayin kapag mother pig eh, pero worth it din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago