Mt. Pulag (Philippines): My Birthday Hike Album

23 60
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

I was browsing through my photo gallery and I found the album of my Mt. Pulag Birthday hike last December 2019.

A Little Trivia:

Mount Pulag is Luzon’s highest peak at 2,926 meters above sea level. It is also a dormant volcano. The borders between the provinces of Benguet, Ifugao, and Nueva Vizcaya meet at the mountain's peak. It is the third highest mountain in the Philippines, next to Mount Apo and Mount Dulang-dulang.

The Plaque of Recognition!

It was my first major hike and a very memorable one as I celebrated my birthday at the peak of Mt. Pulag.

I wasn't able to bring a chocolate cake to actually celebrate my birthday up there, but atleast, I was able to bring water and a jelly ace. Aha!

My Summit at the Summit!
I ate a lot of jelly ace on our way. Haha!

I have always loved hiking, and my first experience was when I went to Sagada. But hiking to Mt. Pulag is different and very challenging.

This is how the trail looks like. Look at the beautiful view.

"I see my path, but I don't know where it leads. Not knowing where I'm going is what inspires me to travel it." -Rosalia De Castro

I was in Grade 12 when I dreamed of Hiking this Mountain. And on my 20th year on Earth, I made that dream into reality.

This is the way to the summit.

I planned this trip for a month. I had to book a Travel Agency because I was alone when I did this ultimate hike.

Don't you just love the blue sky?

To be honest, I was a bit scared to travel alone. But the feeling of excitement was bigger than my fear. And everything just feels so surreal right now, while I reminisce that moment.

The view at top.

Everything was all worth it when me and the group I was with finally reached the top. We managed the freezing weather, and the 11-hour traverse. Yes, it was tiring. But no regrets, because we got to experience watching the sunrise at the top.

Sunrise at the 6th peak of Mt. Pulag.

"The sunrise, of course, doesn't care if we watch it or not. It will keep on being beautiful, even if no one bothers to look at it." -Gene Amole

Isn't the sun so magical?
Yes, it is indeed magical.
The sun wanted to say goodbye as we were on our way to go back to the ranger station.

If there is one thing that I learned on this hike, it is that no matter how high the mountain looks like, if we continue hiking, if we keep going, if we keep on walking, we will always be able to get to the summit.

Just like in life, no matter how hard the challenges we encounter everyday, we will always be able to overcome these hardships. As long as we keep going, we will keep winning in life.

"Hiking is a bit like life: The journey only requires you to put one foot in front of the other ... again and again and again. And if you allow yourself opportunity to be present throughout the entirety of the trek, you will witness beauty every step of the way, not just at the summit." -Anonymous

P.S. All photos are mine.

17
$ 0.00
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

Comments

Wow sis, you reached the summit... πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ I didn't have the chance to visit the place because of my baby.. Maybe few years from now i can hike in that mount also. 😊 It's one of my goal to climb mounts to have feel like i conquered something. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was my first major hike and I'm glad I chose Mt. Pulag to be my first. I hope you will be able to hike the mountain too. I just wish you good luck because it took us 10-11 hours traversing it. Haha with a chilling weather.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will prepare for that... 😁 Congrats you did it. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. I did it with the help of 2 jackets. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀭 I know right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

woow.. it's nice seeing places near, I mean from around the cordillera. I have never been there but people from my village who got to hike that summit says its worth rewarding and an unforgettable one.. After this crisis, you might also like to visit our place.. try the mossy forests of mount kalawitan and mount siniblawan talaw.. I also wrote about it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd love to. I was supposed to hike at Mt. Ulap this July but I failed to do so because of the travel restrictions and Covid as well. I love the Mt. Province because it has a very cool weather. Tho sometimes, it is scary to take a bath. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sana matapos na ang pandemyang to so that we will go back to normal na din.. bkit nman scary? 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana nga po. The best thing we do is to pray to God that this virus will be gone in just a snap. Scary kasi sobrang lamig po ng tubig. Lol Though I managed to take a bath without a heater or warm water when I went to Mt. Pulag. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

beautiful shots! I am from Mt Province and Mt Pulag is not that far from our place.Haven't thought of visiting the place but because you've shown us those nice sceneries maybe someday I'll go and try to experience to reach the summit also :) thank you for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. You have a beautiful province po, and my dream is actually to live there but I just couldn't handle your cold weather. Lol and it is indeed a must visit place not just for tourists but for locals as well. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow,and to think you were alone while taking that journey rather adventure. Just really wow,and that over view is quite breath catching even in photos what more in actual.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Haha It was actually a solo adventure for me. But I was able to meet new people during my traverse to Mt. Pulag. And yes, it is breathtaking to be up there. So beautiful, I wish I could live there. But I won't be able to take the freezing weather there. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Galing2x you naman. Your so brave to take that kind of adventure all by yourself. You must be really an adventurous person. I also experience hiking/mountain climbing way back college but together with my friends I cant imagine taking it alone..hehe..your really awesome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I chose to do adventures all by myself kasi, but it would also be more fun if I go with my friends. Sadly, my friends were not available to join me that time because they had no money to join me on my trip. Unless I treat them on an all expense paid. Haha So I went alone. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really nice picture you have taken..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate your good compliment. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

really awesome picture

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, a wonderful report. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yayy. I'm glad you liked it. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago