How Do I Keep Myself Busy While Living Alone?

22 53
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

It's been more than two months when the construction of my own house is finished. Right after it was built, I decided to move out of my parent's house, and live independently.

Ever since I was in High School, Grade 10 to be exact, I dreamt of living alone in a house where I call my own. I was too confident that I can live my own life without depending on anyone, especially my parents.

That is why starting that day, I saved a lot of money from my school allowances. I even applied for scholarships to have other sources of money. I kept my E-loading business running until I got into college. I had some online jobs where I can get free money through cryptocurrencies. Luckily, I got a huge amount of cash with the airdrops that I participated in.

But that's just the background of how I was able to save money to build my own house at the age of 20.

Just a disclaimer, the house I built is not that huge. It only has an area of 16 square meters, with a dimension of 5 meters by 3 meters. This is just enough space for myself.

Living independently may sound so powerful, but it is not how I imagined being. It is not how I expected it to be.

Living alone made me realize that:

no man is really an island.

But the real deal is, how does it feel like to live alone? How do I keep myself busy while living alone?

1. WATCHING MOVIES

  • Watching my favorite movies has helped me to overcome this feeling of being alone, especially at night. Even though I have watched these movies so many times already, it still gives me the feeling like I am watching them for the first time.

This is the list of my favorite movies:

  • The Pursuit of Happyness- I watch this movie whenever I feel so sad and lonely that I don't know if I still have a purpose in life. I watch this movie whenever I feel like I can't overcome all of the challenges that life throws at me. I watch this movie when I feel like I won't be able to reach my other goals and dreams in life.

  • Miracles From Heaven- I watch this movie whenever I feel like there is no point in living anymore. This is my "go-to" movie whenever I feel like I am losing my faith and hope. This is a great reminder for me that miracles do happen every day.

  • The Notebook- This is one of my favorite classic romantic films of Nicolas Sparks. The story is just too beautiful that makes me believe that true love exists, and true love is everlasting.

  • The Hows Of Us- I am a KathNiel fangirl ever since I was in Grade 7. I became a fan of Kathryn Bernardo during the Mara Clara days, and that is around the year 2011. During the Princess and I, I wasn't a fan of Daniel Padilla, because I liked the character of Enrique Gil in that teleserye. However, I became a KathNiel Fan when the two characters in the series ended up together. And since then, I became a solid, avid fan of them.

  • So I watch this movie whenever it is raining or at night because the story is just too good to watch in the daytime. Also, the Hows of Us movie is the best movie of KathNiel so far. I also watch Barcelona: A Love Untold, another movie by KathNiel where I can relate so much with the character of Kathryn.

2. CALLING/CHATTING MY FRIEND

  • Having a "one call/chat away" friend is the best gift that I have in this lifetime. Having a friend whom I can always talk to whenever I feel like no one is there for me, has helped me a lot.

  • She has been my friend for almost 8 years now since we became friends when we were still in Grade 6. I consider her my best friend because she is the only person to whom I can be real. She is like my sister from another mother.

The topics we usually talk about:

  • Boredom- both of us are so bored with our lives, that we are only talking about how bored we are.

  • Planning for a beach getaway- we love the beach so much, especially me, so when we get to call or chat with each other, the first thing we talk about is going on a ride to the beach.

  • Old friends- yes, we talk about our old friends that aren't our friends anymore because we have grown so much that we chose different paths.

3. BROWSING MY SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS

  • Facebook and Instagram are the only social media sites that I use. When I am bored and I have nothing to do, I just scroll up and down on my news feed. Sometimes, I also watch my friends' Facebook My days and Instagram stories.

  • But I have to admit, being on these apps is not helping sometimes, especially when I see something irritating or toxic behavior of the netizens.

4. DOING MY SCHOOL WORKS

  • My online classes are scheduled every Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, so I have 2 free days where I can do my assignments and other school activities.

  • It is nice to have this schedule, but it gets boring sometimes as it doesn't feel like studying anymore. Online classes are only about submitting projects before the deadline. I feel like there is no more fun in learning.

5. MAKING PLANS TO REACH MY GOALS

  • I have a lot of goals and dreams that I want to achieve in the future. Like what I always say in my other articles, I have a timeline to follow. I list all of it in my notebook, so when I got nothing to do, I write systematic plans to achieve them.

6. Applying For Online Jobs

  • I have been applying for online jobs for almost two weeks now, and I can say, it is hard to apply for a job especially if you don't have any experience yet. Employers would always ask if I already have any related experience for the job I am applying for, and I always end up taking back my application because I don't have experience yet.

  • I created an OnlineJobs account where I am a freelance writer and creative content writer. So far, I have applied for more than 10 jobs already. 1 job declined my proposal as the employer already found the one. I also took back my application to another job I applied to because they are requiring for 1 year of experience in scriptwriting. I also wrote a sample article for a prospected client, and I am still waiting for the response. At the moment, I am writing for another prospected client that is related to business. If I get the job, he will be my first client on my freelance writing journey.

That's it. After more than two months of living alone, these are the activities that I do every day. I hope I am making my days productive as ever.

11
$ 5.31
$ 5.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

Comments

Being productive is not easy but did. You might be feel proud now!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, procrastination still sinks in. Haha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No man is really an island. A strong concept of article which includes the fact that we have all the ability to keep ourselves near to others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana pala naging active din ako sa crypto dati..una kasi mababa pa btc price kaya madaling makaipon sa mga faucet malaki bigyan nila dati isang claim 0.0001 btc .. Sayang yung mga naipon ko nascam lang sa mga telegram bot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sayang naman. Active ako nung High School sa mga ganyan eh, pero nung nagcollege na ako, naubos oras ko sa pag-aaral. Hahaha! Well, atleast now, meron ka ng knowledge about crypto. Pwede pang humabol kay BCH. Malay natin maggrow like BTC. Haha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga.. Sayang talaga..wala kasi gaano mga nagbigay ng mga info at tips dati sa Bitcoin at saka busy din sa school. Yung pag claim ko tuwing computer class lang ginagawa.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala din naman kasi nakakaalam kung tataas ba o hindi ang BTC noon. Haha! Kaya okay lang yan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup,,swerte nung mga bumili ng 1BTC+, I think wala pa Php500 yung price value ng 1btc dati pero ngayon abot half million pesos na..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Un ay kung kineep nila ung BTC na binili nila noon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dami siguro nanghihinayang kapag nakikita nalang tumataas price value ng btc..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lalo na siguro ung unang gumamit ng bitcoin na pinambili lang niya ng pizza ung btc niya. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga laking lugi niya,,di ba mahigit 100+btc ba yung ginamit na pambili?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are one strong independent woman, i think. In What airdrop have you earned from?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The last airdrop I got was way back in 2018, from the Hydro Project airdrop. It was worth 100K at that time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are very lucky 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Pero noon un. Wala na ngayon. Lol 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako di parin sumusuko. Malay mo dito tayo yayaman 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana nga. Kahit 1% lang ng total fund ung makuha natin dito. Hahaha! Pero hirap na mahagilap nung robot eh. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yaan nalang hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are definitely being so productive! Your parents must be proud of you. You're very independent. Nakakatuwa! Your achievements sarap palakpakan! 🙌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I try to be productive everyday, although I feel like I'm not anymore. 😂 Thank you po.

$ 0.00
3 years ago