You Gotta Do It Alone

1 5
Avatar for EhmDee
Written by
2 years ago

180322

You have to do it alone when life seems to play you a bad coin, yet family and friends turn their backs on you. Alot of times, this happens when you are at your most vulnerable state. I went through this and I'm still going through it. I'm reaching out to my closest friends and families to lend me a helping hand. It's hard, but I'm trying to get through it alone. I need a helping hand now. Sometimes we find ourselves going through things that make us question the love from our family and friends. You feel like no one really cares about you or understands your situation. It hurts, but you have to keep pushing for yourself, because at the end of the day, no one will be there for you but yourself.

To start from scratch is indeed not easy, but to fall from top to bottom, it's worse.

I lost everything three years ago and I had never been in such situation before in my life. You will ask me how did it happen?

Well, that's a long story to tell.BI lost everything including my close ones, good health and happiness. The worst of all was losing myself and finding out that the person I have become is not who I wanted to be.

In good times, we all make mistakes but when they come with a price tag; they become our greatest lessons. I was there, I saw happiness slipping away from me but all I could think of was just trying to catch it before it was too late.

And when I tried to make things right, things went even worse. Life is strange, it can seem to be the greatest thing at one minute, yet the biggest blow to your back the next.

Life taught me some tough lessons in my journey of life, i was always the person that had to learn by it.

But i could not let it get me down, i continued putting smiles on faces, no matter the situation. I have learnt that if all you have is yourself and life keep turning it's back to you.

Though the journey seems unbearable at a time, you have to try and find a way. A way where you can be happy again and continue to do things that make you happy, in spite of what life throws at you.

This poem is a dedication to all of those people who have faced similar situations, who continue to smile and put smiles on others faces while they try and find a way to get through their difficult journey.

So if your life seems to be a never ending downhill road, you’ve come to the right place. Remember, you’re not alone! I know how it feels when life pushes you against a wall and then dims the lights in your life. All is not lost though. You have to learn how to pick yourself up and be the one who is going to create the difference.

The only one who can change your life is you. Create time for yourself, close that door and bask in some music, or your favourite movie. If you can afford it, buy yourself that dress that you have been looking into or that new piece of furniture that will bring some colour into your home. Open a bottle of your favourite beverage, I bet money you forgot that it’s still in the wine rack.

At times like these, you have to learn how to be self-sufficient and accepting, of who you are and what has happened in your life.

I have been there, I have done it. Alone."

Guest post by EhmDee.

Yes! This is what my heart says when I look back at my childhood. Family was not always there for me when I needed them the most. My father left me when I was 10 years old and from then onwards, I was faced with the challenges of growing up the hard way. Growing up in a broken home, I had no choice but to use all my might to beat the odds at every corner. I was never asked how it was all going since there was no communication between us and my mother and I rarely talked about it. No human is an island, but you have to do it alone when life seems to play you a bad coin, yet family and friends turn their backs on you. You scream for help, but the silence gets louder. The question is: are you strong enough to stand alone and take the path that no one else dares to tread? Or will you just lay down and let the path be made by others who have walked on it before you.

You reach out your hand so many times, thinking they will be there to hold it. You cry out so many times and always thinking that they will hear your cries and come running. But when you are alone it is your inner voice that becomes stronger than ever before. You had no choice than to trust it in order to survive, because they were not there whenever you needed them most.

2
$ 0.91
$ 0.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.01 from @The.Ada
Sponsors of EhmDee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EhmDee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I used to think that I could do this life thing on my own but I've come to realise that no man is an island and asking for help from relatives and loved ones isn't a sign of weakness but of strength. See eh, in this life... going it alone isn't an option. I hope we have people who are always willing to help us when we ask for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago