A Visit To The Beach

0 16
Avatar for EhmDee
Written by
1 year ago

290522

The day I would never forget was on the 20th April,2011. My parents took us out to lekki Beach and it was my first time on a picnic. My dad had been promising to take us out on a picnic but could not keep his promise until that day

The day was bright even as early as 7am. My mum did some preparations on Friday evening and continued on Saturday morning . She got our clothes ready , cooked our delicious fried rice and prepared our mouth watering chicken in Saturday morning.

We left the house at exactly 11am. My dad drove us all in his car. My brother and sister, aged eight and six respectively and I were very excited. My brother and I wore our latest baggy trousers and polo shirt my dad bought for us during the previous Christmas season, while my sister wore a simple gown. It took us about one hour from our house in Bariga to the beach which is on the outskirt of Lagos Island.

We finally got to lekki Beach after what seemed like ages . The environment was serene . There were many picnicker already there even though we were early. The beach was a colourful with different colours of tents and beach were worn by picnicker. Dad chose a good quiet spot for us , far away from distraction from other picnicker where I found out that my friend was also on the beach. We had a great time together playing around the beach before my mum called us to eat. We sat down comfortably and cooled down with mum's home-made juice. We later ate delicious well garnished fried rice while watching the roaring, frightening ocean . My friend persuaded me to accompany him to the ocean and swim but I refused reminding him that dangerous sea creatures roamed the ocean but he refused telling me that I was a weakling and scared and then he left.

I wated him swim in the ocean when I saw something like that of a sharks fin moving towards him, I tried to warn him but it was too late the shark attacked him ferociously the ocean water was stained with blood, the other people swimming scampered to safety . Later the news was heard that a young boy was killed by a shark and no traces of his body. This event left me traumatized, I have been living with the guilt that if only I had reported him to his parent they would have stopped him but I didn't. Now I have left his parent childless with pain and agony in their heart and for this reason I have vowed not to ever set my feet in any beach because the ocean remind me of the tragedy that occured eleven years ago.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of EhmDee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EhmDee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments