Life of the lowly

0 18
Avatar for Ehiz
Written by
2 years ago

There is a gap to every two opposite sides,the good and the bad,the rich and the poor,highranked and lowly and much more. For centuries the balance of life has been highly debate. The rich can’t survive without the poor,and the poor without the rich.

A cycle which till today remains quite complicated. Different people have had their different feel of life in their own different ways. It wasn’t as easy for some as it was for others. We all don’t get a fair share in life,but it offer a fair share of opportunity to rewrite our story.

My childhood wasn’t something I could boast of but it was an experience that would live on forever. My Dad lost His Job few months after my birth,this weren’t all rosy after then. The struggle began,they trying to keep up with two kids as a happened to be the second child. We lived from hand to mouth as we keep on struggling. Nothing seemed forthcoming.

A lot of turned down application, rejection and empty promises. I grew up to the harsh side of life,adapted and had to flow with the rhythm of it. Lived in a large compound popularly called( face me I face you). We struggled to have 2 meals a day. Schooling was the number one priority of my parents as they made sure we got basic education at the very least. The school was quite far from the house as we would walk for more than 30 minutes. I started this 'great' walk when I got into the primary school. My elder sis would hold my hand as we both walk our way down to school. It was only a few years before I started fetching water,we would have to walk down the street to get water,wash my uniform and all. There was no room for laziness.

Mum layer opened a beer parlour which brought in some money. Grew up having no allergies,hard to fall sick,and really strong. Played football then with so much strength and aggression. Grew quite fond of tree climbing, walking and running on four legs,sprints and alot more. Was typically from the ghetto. Played football with all my trousers and tore them each and every single one each time. There got to a point where I had just on trouser and two tops. Quite bad at maintaining things, I found it had to keep my clothes. I would sometimes go to church with a torn trouser and wrap a sweater around waist just to cover it up. Got a number of scares from entering bushes, playing football, climbing trees, running and all.

I was quite known for trouble making as I would beat up my mates if annoyed. I was quick to angry,my hands were always quick to respond, no chill, no second thoughts,male or female. I once slapped a girl and my five finger showed on her cheek like a stamp and her mother came ranting and yelling and threatening arrest me. Alot more went in but I’ll stop it here

If there was something good that I learn through the struggles,it was the fact that life isn't all rosy. We are in a warfare,and in every passing moment,we are fighting a battle to leave behind the life of the lowly and build a more stable life. The experience was a building blocking toward a setting goals and priority,the aim being'my descendants won't suffer what I suffered'. My parents achieved that. The struggles is always a form of motivation,give you something to fight for.

Fight through the years of hardships, starvation, frustration,pain,shame because this is only a process and only the strong and relentless can scale through. Experience is knowledge. Knowledge is power.

Sponsors of Ehiz
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.08
$ 0.05 from @Jumper-01
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
Sponsors of Ehiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ehiz
Written by
2 years ago

Comments