Forgiveness, yes or no?

0 25
Avatar for Ebizz
Written by
2 years ago

What you are about to read is based on a true life's story based on an experience I had in high school which almost led to me to commit suicide

I lived in a rented apartment somewhere in Lagos, Nigeria.

One hot afternoon, I came back from school and decided to go and take a shower. Since we shared a single toilet in this compound, i had no idea someone was in - one of the neighbour's who was also taking her bath, we were good friend, just friends which was why It surprised me when she asked if she could join me for a shower which i declined. Just then her mother came I saw us in together and immediately started to scream calling me out as a rapist. "He raped my daughter" she shouted, this wasn't true, I tried speaking up for myself but no one believed me and the girl didn't try to prove otherwise.

The neighbours heard the news and believed what the woman was saying. The news spread like wildfire and room.the whole neighborhood was aware. The police came and took me away for questioning and I gave them my statement. They brought me back home pending investigation but I was instructed not to leave the compound for any reason. The landlady called me out, "Go there and say you are sorry and it won't happen again ", she instructed but I refused because I knew I wasn't guilty. All these while the girl who was acclaimed to be raped was nowhere to be found in any of the argument.

The next day I couldn't go to school as a result of the beating my uncle gave me (I lived with my uncle) , it wasn't the first time he had punished me but this time i was full on naked at the center table in the living room. He was so determined to teach me a lesson that he went as far as making me bleed. I couldn't seat with my buttocks neither did I feel comfortable in any dress I wore. My body was a mess over a crime I didn't commit.

The girls aunt took her for check up, there was no sign of forced entry but she wasn't a Virgin either, she was only 15 years at the time. I wasn't aware of the news report until later in the future, it was kept a secret. I had no idea what the end game was but I was bearer the brunt of it all.

A few months later, she came one afternoon to tell me she was sorry for what happened and that she didn't have a say and she didn't know what to say and her mother won't let her talk. That day I shed a tear but said nothing as I walked away.

After about a week, her mother was the one apologizing saying "let's forget what has happened, it in the past now".

As a Christian, I know of forgiveness and letting things go but deep down is that humiliated boy and the painful experience I faces. That is something I'm not ready to forgive and forget. This is my first time telling this story and I still haven't been able to forgive them for they wrong they have done. If you were in my shoes, what would do?

Lead image source

Hello friends, I'm a new writer here and I'm sure I have a lot to learn. I was recently introduced to this community and Intend to make the most of this opportunity.

2
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
Sponsors of Ebizz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ebizz
Written by
2 years ago

Comments