Making Life a Masterpiece

0 11

For five years, Jacy showered me, the publication and the university with numerous awards. I hope that as he sets foot to another journey, may I be able to help in at least giving him a shot to what he has worked for, all his life.

I can never talk of Jacy’s academic background. He was never in my class. I never handled any of his subjects, but his grades are enough to talk of his diligence as a student.

In lieu to that, allow me to speak of how a young boy relentlessly reached for his dreams. I knew Jacy since his junior year in high school. For one, I have witnessed how great he is a leader, from being his high school’s president, to becoming his Civic Welfare Training Services batch’s president and eventually leading the entire school’s studentry. As a leader, he always makes sure that he has well planned everything. None were delayed, everything accomplished. His ideas were unconventional. He started the gawad parangal in our campus, recognizing outstanding leaders, allowing them to become examples to their subordinates. He has fostered camaraderie towards the university by initiating an annual SASCOlympics event which brings together every organization in the university for a week of learning, fun and growth. He is a prolific leader, earning him praises throughout the university.

But as much as I hope to say that he is a perfect student, I bear witnessed to his emotional battles and how he triumphed over it. Jacy’s dream does not involve most of what he has attained. It has always been about setting the example for his younger siblings and making his parents proud. It was in his first term as my editor-in-chief when I first saw how heavy his burden is and how despite being so firm and reputable, he is highly susceptible to failure. He was sick then, been out of school for about two weeks. His dad is having a hard time at work, her sister is a cause of dismay in school and her mother is beyond worried. Further, the projects are piling up, the deadlines are near and the pressure is soaring. For someone, who have been on top since the beginning, being at the brick of becoming a disappointment is such an unfamiliar field. Those were trying days, Jacy was so vulnerable, we had arguments about how the publication was faring, and I was so ready to give up on him. I already felt that he has reached his downfall, and unfortunately, he is to bring down the publication with him. I was perturbed and I made sure he felt it.

I thought back then, he would surely succumb to the pressure of for the first time not being in control. That for once in his student life, things were in chaos. I guess, I misjudged him. To my surprise, Jacy stood his ground. He took things one at a time. Once cleared by his doctor to attend school again, he went to each of his sister’s professors apologizing and seeking for understanding. He then helped her to comply with her requirements constantly reminding her how their parents worked hard to provide for them. At barely 5 ft, he has definitely aced his job as a BIG brother.

After barley quartering his family’s dilemma, he went head on with his school’s projects. Being a consistent dean’s lister would mean that his professors would expect him to deliver his best. I could only image how many sleepless nights it took him to finally submit all of it in flying colors.

To top his epic comeback, that year, with Jacy on the helm, we were able to amass regional awards. Also, that very same Tabloid created on gave us one of the biggest national awards we would only have dreamt of. Jacy, with his every inch of resiliency, his dedication brought forth the rock of my dreams, the Best Student Organ recognition from the Catholic Mass Media Awards.

Further, on his last year, he has given up a chance to become our university’s student regent to come back one more time as my editor-in-chief. I knew he has always prepared himself to represent the entire studentry in the academic council. He was trained to do so, all he needed to do was to relinquish his post in the publication to run again in the Central Student Government. Had he run, he would surely secure, the Model Student Award given by the university. But he chose to let go of a dream, to make sure, that for one last time, we come into the regional writing tilt as one team. We won big time in the regionals, eventually landing top eight in the entire region. It was not as feat, as it required a humungous amount of time and effort. It took a toll on him, as he settled for being a finalist in the Model Student Awards. I was in the day of the recognition. I saw how heartbroken, he was. But the moment, he saw us, he saw his professors, not even a little amount of disappointment was seen his face. Instead, he thanked all of us for considering him. He also apologized for not being able to bring home the award.

I have been part of most of Jacy’s recognitions. I have attended to most of his awarding ceremonies. But that was the day, I am most proud of him, for his undisputed pliancy. In this world, where winning has always been the goal of everyone to remain modest in defeat is not something everyone is gifted of.

All in all, I could talk all day long on how great Jacy is, on how proud I am of what he has reached and on how much I am pained of eventually seeing him off the school’s grounds. He was a gift to us, a very surprising gift, a jewel.

With all being said, from the bottom of my heart, I hope that your organization would help me, us, in one way or another, to acknowledge a man, who has always been a vessel of inspiration to others, who has always went out of his way to be a good son, a loving brother and a loyal friend.

Sincerely,

YVANA JARDINE R. NOCON

1
$ 0.00

Comments

As much as I hope to say that he is a perfect student, I bear witnessed to his emotional battles and how he triumphed over it

$ 0.00
3 years ago