When I was still small..

2 25
Avatar for Dreyman11
2 years ago

For many years when I was still young, I have the belief that adulthood is a very wonderful phase to pass through, infact I prefer adulthood then to childhood because of many reasons. Firstly I believed then that as an adult, you have the freedom of doing what you want, the freedom and liberty associated with adulthood enticed me so much that I always wondered what adulthood is really is. During the childhood period, there's some kind of constraints and things that naturally you can't do or act on your own as a child. Depending on your age, you can't just get out of the house and go anywhere you like especially if you have a disciplinarian parents like minešŸ¤¤. When I was still small, I remembered how I do envy adults so much as a result of the privileges they enjoy. I know how my mother give more meats to my older brother then who is an adult. Then I decided that I must grow quickly so that I can start receiving more meats from mum, lol. I also knew then that being an adult means that I can eat more food, travel to many places around the world. I always see adulthood as a phase of fulfilment, career fulfilment, marital fulfilment and financial fulfilment.

But as times goes on and adulthood start creeping in, I began to understand like a mystery being unravel gradually what adulthood really means. I learnt that while you are free as an adults, it also comes with its own price. Initially I thought living as an adult entails comforting lifestyle more than that of childhood, maybe this is wrong or not, I can't really decide, but I noticed that adulthood period is a period of great responsibilities and duties. I learnt that when you are still young you don't have to worry as a child on what to eat, wear or do. During childhood, everything is simple and no stress to go through. My needs as a child depends solely on my parents and not for once did I ever thought of how my needs will be met since I have got my parents to depend on.

As an adult, there are many things to think on, if you still have parents, they will still have certain expectations they expect you to meet. Adulthood is a busy phase and not as rosy as the childhood stage. Adulthood hinges on independence and it's all round. You are not depending on anyone to cater for your needs. You are solely responsible for whatever happens to you. You have many people who depends on you. If you are a parent yourself you have to make sure you make the right decisions for your family, for your kids. Whatever decision you make as an adult affect people close to you either positively or negatively. You have to live up to your own expectations too as an adult. Because you certainly have dreams and aspirations.

Some may prefer childhood to adulthood or vice versa, either way both has their own advantages and also disadvantages. I say you enjoy each phase of your life and live the best out of them. Life is sweet when you are a kid, Life is also sweet when you grow up, it's just a matter of perception.

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for Dreyman11
2 years ago

Comments

Childhood is a lovely stage. I enjoyed many things from my parents when I was little.

$ 0.00
2 years ago