We always seek perfection in the wrong places

0 23
Avatar for Dr_Shreds
3 years ago

Perfection in the wrong place

I had this Samsung tab once that never stopped misbehaving, hanging, it usually just trips off on its own but since I had so many personal files in it, I endured till one day I was talking with a potential client and the phone tripped off... I didn't know when I removed my sim card, smashed the phone, and went ahead to buy a new one... I will mourn my files later.

When it comes to gadgets, machines, toys, and so on, their complexity is all to perform a certain fixed function and it's our right to seek perfection in them... let us not confuse machines and gadgets with humans...

Humans are not perfect

Humans cannot be perfect

Humans should not be asked to be perfect

But encouraged to strive towards perfection

One day I summoned the courage to ask mum why she got a divorce

I mean dad always came around

He was nice, loved us, and they seemed cool

Mum why? Why strip us of the chance to have a father figure

She burst out in tears

My son, she said... it is a long story

But I was adamant to know why

Mum... why?

Dad was the best guy I ever came across, she said, "He loved every single thing about me. He gave me all I could ever ask for but somehow he always wanted more...

I thought I could always improve for him

"I hate the way you walk", he says

"I hate the way you smile", he says

"I hate the way you eat", he says

Nothing ever was okay for him. But I tried son, I tried. For him, I cut my hair. For him, I hit the gym every day. For him, I let go of all my friends. For him, I let go of my dreams, Not until he brought his craziness to you, my kids.

I couldn't take it anymore, He is always is like, "That your son laughs too much, That your daughter walks like a goat, Do something about it...".

I could not take it anymore

The day he asked for corrective surgery to change your eye color

I had to do the hardest thing in the world

Strip his damaging father figure from you...

I was already in tears

But I didn't understand what she said

That was 10 years ago

Now I do...

I had this girlfriend who always made me feel inferior

And never for once encouraged me

You cant even smile like a man she says

How does a man even smile... damn it!!!

Your house no the ever pay?

Yet no advice after the statement

She used every chanced to demean me

I just dumped her a few minutes ago in a car park

And decided to write this

Don't let anyone tell you how you should do this

Don't let anyone turn you into a perfect freak

Do good and be yourself...

Know you can't be perfect for everyone

Dad likes the way you walk but uncle hates it

Chike likes the way you talk but Tunde hates it

Someone somewhere must hate what you do...

So be yourself

Do your thing

Be confident

And always strive for perfection

... Jesus himself said only the father is perfect in his ways... there is a benchmark, a foundation we work towards, we may never get there, but we make efforts every day... just like a girl who broke her legs and day in day outputs those broken legs to working until they begin to function again... she may not walk as good as she uses to, but she walks anyways... appreciate peoples effort... seeking perfection in a relation kills it even before it starts... you may decide to change for someone but let it be to your best interest... or you may just wake up one day and realize your whole existence was a lie...

Nobody is perfect.... yet we all have that perfect zone... live within that zone

#shreds

2
$ 0.69
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Dr_Shreds
3 years ago

Comments